We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save Saved
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% SPECIAL FALL OFFER
Ranked #4 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Keeping a group of 12 ladies happy, there for a 50th birthday can't be easy but Lisa, Michael and the especially the staff were amazing. The rooms were comfortable and individually decorated. The breakfast service perfect and tea when ever I wanted. Not a single complaint. I would recommend staying at this riad to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
149
553
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our stay at this Riad cannot be described in any other way but I can honestly and simply say that our time spent at Dar Charkia will remain with us forever. From the moment we set foot in the Riad, we were welcomed by the owners Lisa and Michael and taken care of. The service was excellent - the staff were very friendly and ready and willing to assist you with your every need. We were a group of 13 girlfriends celebrating our friend's 50th. Everything was so well organized by Lisa who explained every detail of our stay and where to go and what to do etc... The rooms at the Riad were exquisite and very comfortable. As I always read reviews before traveling to a country I've never been before, I thought I'd take the time to share my experience. It is located in the center where you can get the real feel of Marrakech.The Dar Charkia is a definitely 10/10 stay! I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in Marrakech!! Personally, I would never stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: We had booked all the rooms in the Riad as we were a group of 13 friends. Each and every room had it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

the best riad in Marrakech - simply because I've not stayed anywhere else.... but it has to be on your shortlist and I will explain why.

Many have commented how Lisa and Michael are the perfect hosts. Marrakech is at the same time mad, frenetic, vibrant, fast moving, challenging, ugly, beautiful, real (as in very real), noisy, tranquil, perhaps frightening. Once we had booked Lisa arranged transfers to the Riad and was helpful in making suggestions about trips out and places to eat. All of this and a welcome talk at breakfast was a perfect introduction so that we could make the most of the city.

For returning visitors it is worth mentioning the Riad has a great location in Dar el Bacha, a minute walk from the road and only 5 minutes from the souk.

The riad itself is beautiful, the rooms are a good size and attractively furnished. The "lounge" area has little nooks - perfect for sitting down with a glass of wine. There is a small plunge pool too - though no one used it while we were there.

There is very little to criticise - I perhaps would have dispensed with the piped music in the lounge, and the goose down quilt felt a bit heavy (for me) but that hardly counts as a problem does it! Being a courtyard it can sound a bit echoey around breakfast - but this will be a feature of all riads.

We ate in the Riad on the first night and the food was delicious. We also took lunch there on our last day - and that was even better (in particular the Moroccan tapas).

I hope to put other reviews up about things we did - but Michael and Lisas personal recommendations could not be faulted - and nor could their Riad. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I arranged my 50th Birthday for 13 women, and Dar Charkia was reccomended to us. The instant response by Lisa, her attention to detail and organisational skills were second to none. The Riad became home from home for us all, we had the best food in town in the amazing court yard and terrace. The fact that we booked the whole Riad for 4 nights made it even more special
Their staff, were very very helpful and always available. The boys during the evenings looked after us beyond our expectations, and they even became our personnal DJs
Lisa made all our reservations, arranged all the drivers and even provided us with an Itinerary, with daily reminders of pick up points, times etc. We couldn't fault any of it.
The location is meters away from the Sukes, next to the Palace so shopping for us was easy. Lisa provided us all with maps, clearly outlined with landmarks, suggestions and shopping hot spots.... what else can a woman ask for!!!!
Without a doubt, we fell in love with the Riad, and without a doubt we will be going back. The most beautiful of Riads without a doubt

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I booked Dar Charkia for my husband's 50th birthday. From the moment I contacted Lisa and Michael they were so helpful and I was so impressed by the amount of information they gave us in advance of our visit. Lots of suggestions for day trips and restaurant recommendations.

The riad is absolutely stunning and an oasis of calm amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is fabulous: fruit, yoghurt, crepes, preserves and much more and there is no set time - good if you want a good lie in!

Lisa and Michael are such a fountain of knowledge about Marrakech, from which souks are best to visit for jewellery, rugs etc, how much to pay for taxis, bars and restaurants with clean loos (the list is endless).

We decided to book a half day tour with a guide which was interesting and meant we got our bearings quickly. We did a day at Faim d'Epices cookery school - this is run by a French guy called Michel, we were collected in the morning and driven to the school. This is a fabulous day and I would heartily recommend it - very hands on and good fun. After all our cooking our group all sat down and ate lunch together washed down with some wine.

We also had a Hammam spa day at El Miria Palais. This was a beautiful place - the treatments lasted about an hour and a half. Lunch was a little disappointing - pasta then some dried chicken nugget thing with French fries - maybe less is more would have been better - I think Lisa is going to feedback re the lunch. But all in all it was excellent value and the staff were lovely and we used the beautiful swimming pool in the afternoon.

Do go to some of the Restaurants recommended by Lisa and Michael. We had a lovely meal at Al Fassia - a woman's cooperative (this needs to be booked in advance). PepeNero is an Italian and Moroccan place it is wonderful and my husband had some fantastic guineau fowl ravioli. It is quite difficult to find this place but Otto (neighbour of Lisa & Michael) walked us down to the restaurant.

The nicest meal we had was at Brasserie Flore, this is at Marrakech Plaza. Superb French food, reasonably priced and gorgeous ambience. Do try this place!

For a drink at lunch time Kosy Bar - fabulous roof top terrace where you can chill looking at the Storks and their nests!

If you are going to Marrakech and you want to feel special do stay at Dar Charkia .. the reviews on trip advisor are fantastic and bob on about this place. Lisa and Michael have set the bar very high and I doubt you will come across better hosts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a few absolutely fantastic days at the Dar Charkia!! The location was perfect, and Lisa + Michael made us feel very welcome, and gave us the grand tour of information before we ventured out in the souks. We also had dinner here the day we arrived, which was wonderful. The staff was helpful and friendly, and it all felt like paradise!! We would go back any day!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we felt we could not go wrong booking a stay at the Dar Charkia and were not disappointed. Lisa & Michael were welcoming and helpful and the accommodation excellent. It seemed a better location in the Medina to some other places we have stayed - very safe and easy access to some of our favorite haunts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.