We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Masterclass in hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
Dar Charkia
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Masterclass in hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I booked Dar Charkia for my husband's 50th birthday. From the moment I contacted Lisa and Michael they were so helpful and I was so impressed by the amount of information they gave us in advance of our visit. Lots of suggestions for day trips and restaurant recommendations.

The riad is absolutely stunning and an oasis of calm amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is fabulous: fruit, yoghurt, crepes, preserves and much more and there is no set time - good if you want a good lie in!

Lisa and Michael are such a fountain of knowledge about Marrakech, from which souks are best to visit for jewellery, rugs etc, how much to pay for taxis, bars and restaurants with clean loos (the list is endless).

We decided to book a half day tour with a guide which was interesting and meant we got our bearings quickly. We did a day at Faim d'Epices cookery school - this is run by a French guy called Michel, we were collected in the morning and driven to the school. This is a fabulous day and I would heartily recommend it - very hands on and good fun. After all our cooking our group all sat down and ate lunch together washed down with some wine.

We also had a Hammam spa day at El Miria Palais. This was a beautiful place - the treatments lasted about an hour and a half. Lunch was a little disappointing - pasta then some dried chicken nugget thing with French fries - maybe less is more would have been better - I think Lisa is going to feedback re the lunch. But all in all it was excellent value and the staff were lovely and we used the beautiful swimming pool in the afternoon.

Do go to some of the Restaurants recommended by Lisa and Michael. We had a lovely meal at Al Fassia - a woman's cooperative (this needs to be booked in advance). PepeNero is an Italian and Moroccan place it is wonderful and my husband had some fantastic guineau fowl ravioli. It is quite difficult to find this place but Otto (neighbour of Lisa & Michael) walked us down to the restaurant.

The nicest meal we had was at Brasserie Flore, this is at Marrakech Plaza. Superb French food, reasonably priced and gorgeous ambience. Do try this place!

For a drink at lunch time Kosy Bar - fabulous roof top terrace where you can chill looking at the Storks and their nests!

If you are going to Marrakech and you want to feel special do stay at Dar Charkia .. the reviews on trip advisor are fantastic and bob on about this place. Lisa and Michael have set the bar very high and I doubt you will come across better hosts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
159
568
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a few absolutely fantastic days at the Dar Charkia!! The location was perfect, and Lisa + Michael made us feel very welcome, and gave us the grand tour of information before we ventured out in the souks. We also had dinner here the day we arrived, which was wonderful. The staff was helpful and friendly, and it all felt like paradise!! We would go back any day!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we felt we could not go wrong booking a stay at the Dar Charkia and were not disappointed. Lisa & Michael were welcoming and helpful and the accommodation excellent. It seemed a better location in the Medina to some other places we have stayed - very safe and easy access to some of our favorite haunts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent three wonderful days at Dar Charkia in December upon our arrival in Morrocco for a month long trip. It is a wonderful riad, quiet but close to everything. We got a very helpful introduction to Marrakech complete with restaurant, sightseeing and shopping advice. Very much appreciated. They even arranged for a very nice neighbourhood kid to escort us to and from a restaurant on our first evening as we would have gotten hopelessly lost otherwise. Beautiful room and common areas. Like I said believe what you read this place and the staff are outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Although a bit hesitant at first to travel to this part of the world based on other blogs I've read, Lisa and Michael's Riad made this trip one of the most memorable and enjoyable experiences we ever had. Lisa guided us to all the right restaurants (each one-PERFECT),taking just the right tours, and basically learning how to navigate the streets and Souks of Marrakesh. At the end of our 6 night stay, we practically felt like "natives," dodging the traffic and bargaining with the locals just for the fun of it! ( By the way, that is something we never do! I am not much of a shopper, but found so many good deals, I couldn't pass them up!) The staff members were very helpful, the rooms clean, and all the people Lisa introduced us to were fabulous. We learned so much! Thanks to this experience, I recommend Dar Charkia and Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights here and what a good choice it was. It is a beautiful oasis in the midst of mad Marrakech. It is spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished. We stayed in the Sahara room which was very comfortable. The staff are excellent and take good care off you. They are always at hand to give you advice or book things for you, and when you return welcome you back. We would not hesitate to recommend Dar Charkia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had not been to Marraketch before and, although the initial approach to Dar Chakia was a little off-putting, I really was most impressed with with the hotel and was continually impressed over the three days we stayed there. The staff are efficient and attentive, the facilities are attractive and spotless. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The initial impression was erroneous because, as I found out, everywhere in the Medina is like that and although It seems overwhelming at first you become used to it. We were not hasselled in the local area (the people are actually very friendly).
The Souk and the main square are only a few minutes walk away and the are good restaurants and cafes with walking distance. My Wife and I thoroughly reccomend Da Chakia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.