We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we felt we could not go wrong booking a stay at the Dar Charkia and were not disappointed. Lisa & Michael were welcoming and helpful and the accommodation excellent. It seemed a better location in the Medina to some other places we have stayed - very safe and easy access to some of our favorite haunts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,015
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
140
538
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent three wonderful days at Dar Charkia in December upon our arrival in Morrocco for a month long trip. It is a wonderful riad, quiet but close to everything. We got a very helpful introduction to Marrakech complete with restaurant, sightseeing and shopping advice. Very much appreciated. They even arranged for a very nice neighbourhood kid to escort us to and from a restaurant on our first evening as we would have gotten hopelessly lost otherwise. Beautiful room and common areas. Like I said believe what you read this place and the staff are outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Although a bit hesitant at first to travel to this part of the world based on other blogs I've read, Lisa and Michael's Riad made this trip one of the most memorable and enjoyable experiences we ever had. Lisa guided us to all the right restaurants (each one-PERFECT),taking just the right tours, and basically learning how to navigate the streets and Souks of Marrakesh. At the end of our 6 night stay, we practically felt like "natives," dodging the traffic and bargaining with the locals just for the fun of it! ( By the way, that is something we never do! I am not much of a shopper, but found so many good deals, I couldn't pass them up!) The staff members were very helpful, the rooms clean, and all the people Lisa introduced us to were fabulous. We learned so much! Thanks to this experience, I recommend Dar Charkia and Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights here and what a good choice it was. It is a beautiful oasis in the midst of mad Marrakech. It is spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished. We stayed in the Sahara room which was very comfortable. The staff are excellent and take good care off you. They are always at hand to give you advice or book things for you, and when you return welcome you back. We would not hesitate to recommend Dar Charkia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had not been to Marraketch before and, although the initial approach to Dar Chakia was a little off-putting, I really was most impressed with with the hotel and was continually impressed over the three days we stayed there. The staff are efficient and attentive, the facilities are attractive and spotless. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The initial impression was erroneous because, as I found out, everywhere in the Medina is like that and although It seems overwhelming at first you become used to it. We were not hasselled in the local area (the people are actually very friendly).
The Souk and the main square are only a few minutes walk away and the are good restaurants and cafes with walking distance. My Wife and I thoroughly reccomend Da Chakia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Dar Charkia is a place everyone should stay !!!! , from the moment you enter through the huge wooden door you feel like you have entered into another world , the Riad is decorated elegantly with so much style , with beautiful touches everywhere its hard to say what part of it you love . The staff are outstanding with Samira heading up the staff and makes your stay with Dar Charkia the most relaxing , wonderful experience . I booked my stay 6 months in advance to avoid disappointment , my decision was purely based on all reviews on here and it measures up to what everyone says . The breakfasts were different everyday and with so much choice and available any time in the morning when you are ready , do have an evening meal here as it was some of the best food we had . Lisa and Michaels introduction meeting gives you excellent advice and everywhere they suggested was perfect , even booking 2 of our evening meals , they arrange everything from transfers to and from the airports , to the brilliant maps they provide and so much much enthusiasm on places to visit . Lisa had arranged a birthday cake and Fizz on my meal at Dar Charkia and even told the restaurants we visited ( Pepe Nero is a must !! ) so I ended up having 3 birthday cakes throughout my stay and many many renditions of "Happy Birthday " from so many staff .
I stayed in the Douriau suite which is just stunning but all of the bedrooms are yet again decorated so beautifully , next time I come I think i will try the Sahara room . Please do not look anywhere else !!!!! STAY HERE !!!
Thank you Dar Charkia for the best birthday ever ,!!

Room Tip: Douriau suite is great for 3 girly holiday of required but a beautiful romantic suite for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Conveniently located riad so that all significant places of interest within walking distance. The riad is attractively decorated showcasing all the local handicrafts. Comfortable beds and excellent bathrooms and showers. Lisa and Michael were very attentive hosts enabling us to make the most of our time in Marrakech. All of the staff were charming and helpful. The in-house meal was delicious and a first-rate example of Morroccan cuisine and the Gris wine recommended by Lisa was very good. To summarise - beautifully appointed riad, welcoming and attentive staff, great location, very quiet, excellent choice for a visit to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Hotel
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list