We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful riad with such a warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL SUMMER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful riad with such a warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I chose this riad simply because of the excellent reviews I had read on Trip Advisor and I am thrilled to say I was not disappointed.
I planned a four night break as a surprise for my husband's fortieth birthday and with the help of Lisa and Michael it came to fruition without a glitch.
On our arrival at the riad, Michael and Lisa greeted us and introduced us to a few of the staff, all were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
In our lovely room there was a 'happy birthday' banner on the fireplace mantle and some twinkling confetti sprinkled around. The decor in our bedroom was tastfully done and the bathroom had luxury finishing touches such as really fluffy white towels and dressing gowns, scented filled hanging hearts, delicious smelling soaps, shower gel and body lotion. There were even some pink rose petals scattered in the shower.... all very romantic.
On our first evening we had a log fire made for us in our bedroom with was really cosy and added oodles to the atmosphere.
The bed was wonderful, a decent king size with a very comfortable mattress which meant we both slept brilliantly for four nights.
On the morning of my husband's birthday we got up at the crack of dawn to take a flight in a hot air balloon which was all organised for me by Lisa and Michael - they really do take the stress out of the little mundane jobs that need doing when you're planning a trip.
On our return to the riad later in the morning we sat down to eat a late breakfast. We were touched to see that the staff had decorated our table with another birthday banner, sparkles sprinkled on the table and balloons hanging from the wall!
The food is delicious at Dar Charkia and we ate a lot during our stay there! We had umpteen cups of tea and coffee made for us throughout the day upon request.....nothing was ever too much trouble for anyone.
After long days exploring Marrakech we often came back to the riad and enjoyed a beer on the roof terrace. On our last eveing, Lisa and Michael spoilt us with a bottle of delicious Moroccon Rose 'on the house', which was a kind gesture.
The restaurants we ate at were all those which had been recommended by our hosts and I could not fault any of them, we thoroughly enjoyed eating out and we know we wouldn't have been able to find such good eateries without their advice.
I would highly recommend this riad to anyone looking for somewhere beautiful, clean and charming to stay in this bustling and mysterious city. Huge thanks to Lisa, Michael and all of the staff for making my husband's birthday surprise so wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,035
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
147
548
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kinross
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I got back a week ago from a wonderful six day trip to Marrakech to celebrate 20 years together. Lisa and Michael could not have done more to help us arrange our trip in advance, or to make the most of it whilst we were there. You will be greeted with an orientation meeting, and a highly annotated map! It lists clean toilets too, because, you know, these things are important!

You can see from the pictures on Tripadvisor that the riad is stunning. It's very tranquil - and we expected Marrakesh to be manic - but inside the riad, you can hear very little. Even the early prayer calls are pretty muffled, and I only heard them on mornings I was already awake.

Breakfast was a tasty, leisurely affair every morning, and always different, always fresh. My husband really enjoyed the roasted veg terrine, and the cheese and tomato salad. That left the pastries free for me! But there's an abundance of food - juice, coffee, fresh baguette, pastries, yoghurt with fruit, something savoury... And, although there aren't tea and coffee making facilities in the room, you can stick your head in the kitchen any time, and fresh tea and coffee will be supplied free of charge. Or, if you happen to have a stinking cold like I did, fresh lemon and ginger tea.

That brings me nicely on to the staff. Lisa and Michael are fortunate to have a really great team working for them, and Samira especially deserves particular praise. Not only does she speak flawless English, but nothing is too much trouble. The rest of the staff are also lovely, though a bit of French comes in handy sometimes! In fact, a bit of French comes in handy (and goes down well) everywhere, so you might want to brush up on a few basics. If you are nervous about finding your way anywhere, especially on the first night, ask for Otman to take you! He got us to Pepe Nero, then even came back for us, all for a few quid.

The location of Dar Charkia is perfect- two or three minutes into the souk in one direction, or, if you are still getting your bearings, 10-15 minutes round the palace wall to the main square, and you can walk to the new town in the other direction in about half an hour. It is really safe - we had *no* trouble whatsoever when there. A smile and a 'non merci' is quite sufficient.

Lisa arranged a lot for us in advance, and we are so glad we took her advice - it was great getting picked up and dropped off without having to arrange anything. The hammam at Palais El Miria was pretty empty, but a very *ahem* thorough experience! Leave your inhibitions at the door... Faim d'Epices cookery school was brilliant - learned so much, but be warned - it runs at a very French pace... And Najib, our local guide on day one was so knowledgeable and interesting, it was the perfect beginning to the trip. Make sure he takes you to Bahia Palace! In terms of food, we can particularly recommend Pepe Nero for a special dinner, and also Salama, just on the other side of Djemaa el Fna main square, and Terrasse des Epices in the souk.

All in all, we came back refreshed and revived, and I can't wait to go back. There may be more sumptuous riads, but where I think Dar Charkia excels is in the level of quality you get for the very reasonable price. Do go, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Douiria Suite, which is lovely, but I'd probably choose the poolside room if we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Dar Charkia is a truly beautiful and peaceful Riad that absolutely deserves its status at the very top end of the TripAdvisor hotel recommendations for Marrakech. A really great location, just a minute from a main drop off point and very close to the palace. The riad is only 5 minutes from the souks and about 15 minutes from Jemma el Fna and easy walking distance to Gueliz and Hivernage as well, yet once you are inside the hussle and bustle fades quickly and the peace and tranquility of the courtyard or the roof terrace is a great place to re-charge with a mint tea or glass of wine. Lisa and Michael (the owners) and their staff go above and beyond to ensure that every guest feels special and has an amazing visit to Marrakech. Lisa and Michael's love of Marrakech is infectious and is clear in the beautiful riad and the time and attention they spend making sure you have all the information you could need. The personalised map that they prepared for us, restaurant and shop recommendations and tips which they customise to the interests of each guest goes beyond any high end concierge service. The service starts from the moment you contact Lisa and Michael to book your trip, ensuring that by the time you arrive special trips and restaurants are booked to ensure the perfect visit. Each room is individually decorated and very comfortable, feeling both like an exclusive boutique hotel but also like staying with friends. Marrakech is a crazy, chaotic city and having Lisa, Michael and their staff on hand to guide, answer questions and where necessary chaperone us was invaluable. Breakfast is included in the room rate and was always extremely generous with fresh french bread and pastries every day plus fruit, yoghurt and a variety of other delicacies to tempt us each day. The "any time, any place" attitude of the staff was lovely - no need to worry about missing breakfast if you sleep in. We ate dinner at the Riad on our first night and it was one of the best meals we had in Marrakech - delicious food and very generous portions so the only "problem" was that we could not possibly finish! We had a wonderful time at Dar Charkia and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent four wonderful days in this excellent Riad. The courtyard and facilities are of an excellent standard tastefully decorated and well maintained and the staff cannot do enough to make your stay as comfortable as possible. On arrival we were met by one of the owners Michael sat us down and provided us with 2 maps of the local area and some invaluable information and helpful tips about Marrakesh. One of the best places I have stayed anywhere in the world and would thoroughly recommend ! Indeed, I loved it so much that I proposed to my girlfriend (now fiancée) on the roof terrace under the stars!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Dar Charkia is a beautiful Riad. The courtyard and bedrooms are tranquil. The roof terrace is very comfortable. A lot of effort has gone into the tasteful and comfy decoration, which is a blend of modern convenience and simple tradition. As past reviews say, its been done to a high standard. The beds are quite hard, but also massive. There are effectively two duvets on the bed so we just slept on top of one.

The owners and staff of the Riad are incredibly friendly and helpful. There was always someone on hand when we had a question and nothing was too much bother. Almost all of the staff other than the owners speak good English. Every question was answered quickly and solutions found. We were given fantastic advice by the owners, Lisa and Michael, (tailored to us) on where to go and what to do. We were treated like friends not customers. In a chaotic and hard-to-follow city this was reassuring and invaluable in not being overwhelmed.

The food and drink in the Riad is excellent. The breakfast isn't to order, but there was lots of it and all of it fresh and beautifully prepared. We had dinner in the Riad one night, which was superb. And we enjoyed numerous drinks on the roof terrace. Mint tea and coffee are complementry. Alcohol isn't cheap, but is of a good quality.

We can't recommend Dar Charkia highly enough. Its fairly priced - the boutique service is the best we've expeirenced and well worth every penny. We would be happy to go back time and time again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Dar Charkia is a beautiful Dar located on the edge of the Marrakesh medina. The owners, Michael and Lisa, developed a spectacular property and were exceptionally helpful in getting us oriented in Marrakesh - great tour guide for half a day, excellent restaurant recommendations, shopping recommendations. We had the largest room (suite with a small living room, large bathroom) in the Dar and it was very comfortable. Staff are friendly and very helpful and responsive.

Room Tip: We were given a tour of all the rooms before we left. Each was tastefully furnished and each had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Believe the hype!

This place is truly magical and staying here is a delight. The riad itself is beautiful and has been furnished to an incredibly high standard . It provides a sense of total relaxation and utter luxury and the Moroccan staff treat you as friends rather than guests. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. You can have breakfast when and where you like and the riad also serves alcohol. It's a base for not only exploring Marrakech but for falling in love with Marrakech. It is also a very romantic place and the roof terrace provides a great view of the Atlas mountains.

We had a talk with Michael on arrival and he answered all our questions, even the silly ones, and provided invaluable information on what to pay for gifts, taxis and how to haggle etc . He also provided a map showing shops and restaurants etc. All their recommendations were fantastic! The food at Chez Mado was incredible and around £70 for two with wine.

We had some truly memorable meals and also a day trip into the Atlas Mountains which is well worth the drive. Our guide Mustafa was fun, friendly and gave us lots of information.

The location of Dar Charkia is very safe and is two minutes walk from a taxi drop off point. You don't have to go through the middle of the souks to get to the riad but they are a few minutes walk away if you want to explore. The main square is also an easy 5 minute walk away and with the taxi rank being so close you can get to any of the restaurants in the new town with ease.

I cannot find any fault with Dar Charkia. It is a perfect place to explore Marrakech but also provides a haven away from the centre to relax and enjoy your surroundings, It is evident that Lisa and Michael love Marrakech and it shows in all that they do. We will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#5 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list