We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further, absolutely superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL WINTER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Look no further, absolutely superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

All the excellent reviews are true , Dar Charkia is a very special place. We have just returned from a weeks stay and feel so grateful that thanks to the reviews on tripadvisor we were staying in such a perfect place for our first visit to Morocco. The surroundings are peaceful and beautiful. Our room ( sahara) was excellent, lovely furnishings and huge bathroom. Lisa and Michael the owners could not be more charming or helpful. All of the staff are friendly and gracious, nothing is too much trouble. We had dinner at Dar Charkia on our first night and it was so delicious and the surroundings so relaxing that we decided to do the same on our last night. Being able to have breakfast at any time you like is fantastic. The location is unbeatable , near great places to eat, near the souks, only a few minutes walk from the square and an easy spot to get taxis from and to. Lisa and Michael made life so easy for us, arranged all our trips, booked restaurants and gave us great tips and advice. Its like a deluxe concierge service but with inside knowledge that you normally only get if you stay with friends . We went on a balloon trip with ciel afrique and it was unforgettable, totally worth the money. Can also heartily recommend a tour with Najib who is a first class guide, interesting, humorous and gracious. We did this on our first day and it was great as it helped us to get orientated. If you have time try to get to the Atlas mountains, the scenery is breathtaking. Marrakech is a
great city and we would love to return. If we do we would not stay anywhere else but Dar Charkia.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
151
559
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I chose Dar Charkia based on the high ratings on Trip Advisor, and the kind of comments that people were leaving, and I have to say they were all absolutely accurate. I was our first time in Morocco, we stayed for 10 days over Christmas and are still basking in the golden memories of that holiday.
From the moment of booking, the owners, Lisa and Michael, took a personal interest in making sure that we would have a wonderful time, tailored to our preferences. They made excellent suggestions and booked everything from guides, spas and restaurants that we requested, so that all would be seamless when we arrived, at one of the busiest times of the year.
The team of Morrocan Riad staff were without exception fabulous, looking after us beautifully and making us feel throughout that we were staying at the home of a dear friend rather than a hotel. The location is excellent, and a short walk from Dar El Bacha, which felt safe to walk at any time.
Lisa and Michael had to return to England for a couple of days over Christmas itself, but made sure that we were lavished with small kindnesses during their absence, which was very capably managed by the excellent 'Little' Samira and her colleagues. We were left small gifts and cards, invited to champagne and canapes with the other guests, and found that we were offered an aperitif of spiced mulled wine at our restaurant courtesy of Lisa and Michael. This was just the perfect level of sociability and celebration for those escaping to Marrakech over the Christmas period.

The roof terrace has a lovely view of the Atlas mountains in the distance, and as the weather was a perfect 70 degrees each day we sat up there reading and enjoying a delicious breakfast each morning with home cooked pastries, or a mint tea in the afternoon, and getting thoroughly relaxed.

For Guides, I would thoroughly recommend Najib, who was great at getting us orientated and answering all sorts of questions we had, and Abdu, who drove us all over the Atlas mountains on one magical journey through so many different and spectacular landscapes.

We went to quite a few hammams and restaurants (see my other reviews) but the outstanding experience was the El Miria, and the very experienced masseur Khamesa, a bargain with delicious lunch and jacuzzi included. Dar Charkia doesn't have a spa itself, but it was fun to visit other Riads and hotels to try these out and see more extraordinary interiors. ( Riad Idra and HotelJardins de Koutoubia). We visited several restaurants, Pepe Nero, Le Fondouk, Jardins de Bala, Lotus Privilege, Brasserie Flore, Cafe Arabe and Al Fassia, but I have to say some of the most delicious food was cooked up at Dar Charkia itself.

Normally I can find something that I could suggest to improve, but in this case it's really a case of just 'please keep on doing what you're doing!' and 'when can I come back?"

Room Tip: We stayed in a the only ground floor room by the pool which was very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I just joined Tripadvisor so I could write this review! This was probably the best winter holiday I've ever had. We stayed over Christmas, to get some winter warmth, and we certainly did. Lisa and Michael are an ideal bridge for European travellers into a city which is truly great, but can require a bit of guidance. They are well-connected with the town, and they made very good recommendations for us. We were looking for a pampering kind of break, but with good food, too. We had several superb Hamman and massage experiences in nearby hotels suggested by them, and wonderful food at restaurants in the city, and from the superb kitchen of Dar Charkia itself. I'd go back tomorrow, if I could.

Their staff are absolutely excellent, helpful and genuinely friendly, without the obsequious, and often insincere "have a nice day" style of the chain hotels. I believe they are happy working there, and it really helps to create the "home from home" experience everyone is writing about in the reviews. So big thanks to Little Samira, who ran things so perfectly when Lisa and Michael were away, and to Zahira, Nedya, Fati and Big Samira for preparing and serving great food, for helping to look for the phone we lost ( and found in our room), thanks too, to Rashid, who looks after the night duties, for lighting candles in the room, when we asked, and for being a cheerful presence when we decided to stay in, and enjoy the comfortable courtyard, or the roof.

Some highlights for me were: breakfast (which can be ordered anytime) on the roof, with the Atlas Mountains in the distance. Evening meals in the riad I've already mentioned. They don't brag about their own food as much as they could. It's a really good, simple menu, the quality of which challenges some much posher places we visited. Also good: guided walk through the Medina from Najib, who told us stories of the '60s in Marrakech, and took us to a good place for buying teas and spices. An outstanding drive into the mountains to the village followed, with driver/guide Abdu, a really nice bloke who seemed to enjoy showing us the absolutely STUNNING scenery around the High Atlas. Highly recommended. Conversations with Abdu, who is of Berber descent, and the sights of this trip, made the Berber museum in the Majorelle Gardens make more sense too. (Also recommended).

We also had some great spa/Hamman treatments, notably at Jardins de Koutoubia, Emira Hotel, and Riad Idra which I'll review elsewhere on Tripadvisor, as well as the places where we dined out.

Morocco has a big gap between rich and poor, which is a shock for affluent Europeans, unless you have a heart of stone. Marrakech needs tourism, and people like Lisa and Michael are bringing business into the city, and reliably employing good local people, who reward them by generously and warmly helping their guests to have a comfortable and relaxed holiday.

Room Tip: I think the website is very clear about the rooms. We were delighted with ours, which was next to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying in this riad and wanted to write a review before we left to return to the UK. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels and resorts around the world and this riad definetly comes upto the mark. Service and hospitality is amazing and the tranquil setting is intoxicating. What distinguishes the very best riads? Consistency, attention to details and a commitment to ensuring each guest feels unique and is 100% satisfied....Dar Chakria do this and then some!! Special thanks to Samira and Rashid for their warm hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

What a beautiful place, an oasis in the middle of the hussel and bussel of marrakech. Stunning rooms and bathrooms. A place to make you think of romantic adventures. Had lovely food and were well looked after by Lisa, Michael and of course all the staff. had a wonderful stay and would happily use Dar Charkia again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My friend and I spent four delightful days and nights at Dar Charkia. The space and rooms are lovely and comfortable and the people could not have been nicer. The owner's wife sat down with us and gave us a simply wonderful explanation of what there is to see and do in Marrakech, including a terrific annotated map of the city. She is English and all of the staff seemed to be reasonably fluent. Breakfasts were yummy. Really just a perfect home base for seeing Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Dar Charkia in May 2012 and it was the most delightful experience. The owners were very welcoming and gave us amazing tips on restaurants and shopping. The weather was very hot but the lovely little plunge pool and lychee lemonade gave us a great respite from the heat in the afternoons.

I would highly recommend staying here if you travel to Marrakech!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.