We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL WINTER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My friend and I spent four delightful days and nights at Dar Charkia. The space and rooms are lovely and comfortable and the people could not have been nicer. The owner's wife sat down with us and gave us a simply wonderful explanation of what there is to see and do in Marrakech, including a terrific annotated map of the city. She is English and all of the staff seemed to be reasonably fluent. Breakfasts were yummy. Really just a perfect home base for seeing Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
151
559
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Dar Charkia in May 2012 and it was the most delightful experience. The owners were very welcoming and gave us amazing tips on restaurants and shopping. The weather was very hot but the lovely little plunge pool and lychee lemonade gave us a great respite from the heat in the afternoons.

I would highly recommend staying here if you travel to Marrakech!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I decided to spend this Christmas with my family in Marrakesh. We chose the Dar Charkai because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Dar Charkia is located in the west part of the Medina and is a great location for a base in Marrakesh as everything is within walking distance. The owners Lisa and Michael along with all their staff go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home. Pickup was arranged from the airport and you are dropped in the Medina near the hotel. You need to go the last 100 Meters on foot through the traditional Medina alleyways which can be unnerving at first ( especially if you are arriving at night ) but you later realize that the beauty of the Medina area is it's Tardus effect. The whole town is made of alleys with small doors behind which you will be amazed to find incredibly beautiful places. Dar Charkia is no exception. When you arrive Dar Charkia you enter an Oasis of clam and Hospitality. The Riad is beautifully renovated and decorated with a wonderful traditional Arabian feel. There Riad has six beautiful ensuite bedrooms rooms and has a home from home feeling where you can also get to know the other guests. We particularly like to have a late breakfast on the roof Terrace overlooking Marrakesh before setting out to explore the the Medina and New town. Service was excellent with attention paid to the smallest details. Overall a very enjoyable stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Lovely Riad with nice spacious rooms. A map is provided on arrival with explanations of good places to go and what you should expect to pay - great for avoiding faux guides and getting ripped-off. Riad provides a good breakfast and you can have drinks including alcohol at any time. Staff are great and will help sorting pretty much anything out, they booked restaurants and day trips for me. Would highly recommend, particularly for first timers in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Dar Charkia is quite simply incredible. Everything from the atmosphere and decor to the staff and service is impeccable. This trip was my first time in Marrakech and everyone at Dar Charkia went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure I had the best possible stay. Lisa and Micheal will provide you with the most detailed and insightful information on Marrakech, helping you navigate the souks so finding the best restaurants, shops or a clean WC becomes simple! I stayed with my family (so we took up a lot of the rooms, all were beautiful) and everyone in the riad went out of there way to make us all feel welcome, 'Big' Samira even did henna on mine and my sisters hand while my brother had the opportunity to play football with some local boys all thanks to the amazing staff at Dar Charkia. Our stay was truely unforgetable and I will be back...next time though with a group of my girlfriends!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed at Dar Charkia the beginning of December and what an incredible experience! Recommended by friends and our expectations were met and then exceeded. Lisa and Michael are the most hospitable, generous, gregarious and lovely people. They give an excellent introduction to the city replete with directions to navigate the souks, new city and the main sights, as well as helpful tips, restaurant, cafe and shopping recommendations. Not to be overlooked are the staff, especially Rashid and Samira(s) - thank you! There was a delicious breakfast every morning, incredible service, modern facilities, beautiful rooms and roof. I hope to visit again with friends and family! Many thanks for such a wonderful time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells Somerset England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Another stay in this beautiful dar - my favourite place to relax in Marrakech. I have returned many times and every time there is a warm home-from-home welcome, impeccable service, gorgeous rooms - and I love the mirrors in the bathrooms - and we had an excellent dinner on arrival.
Lisa and Michael make you feel so at home and give you all the information and recommendations you can possibly need to help you find the best places to eat and visit and extremely helpful tips on how to shop and negotiate in Marrakech! Little Samira and big Samira are so helpful and lovely and all the staff deserve a big round of applause. It is also the best breakfast you could wish for and no set time of the morning so you can lie-in! Thank you to everyone there for such a wonderful time. I will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.