We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little oasis in the medina.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Philadelphia PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect little oasis in the medina.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Visiting Marrakesh is such an experience with all the hustle it was a nice surprise to walk into the quiet oasis of Dar Charikia. Immediately you are welcomed by everyone working there, offered something to drink and put at ease in the beautifully decorated riad. Lisa, the owner has incredible taste in decor. Every single person working in the riad not only welcomes you but helps you plan your stay, navigate the city, make reservation and/or provide you with suggestions. Michael and Lisa go above and beyond making your stay enjoyable. Michael was incredibly kind to help us figure out how to mail all of our shopping treasures from the souk home. This was no easy task and took quite a bit of his time. We can not thank Lisa, Michael and all that work there for making our trip so memorable. Anyone interested in a place that is tranquil and makes you feel at home should stay here!! Thank you, MIssy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,011
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
139
537
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was on a work visit in Marrakech to attend a conference and rather than choose one of those character less large hotels in the newer side of the city, decided to stay within the Medina in a Riad...the best decision I made. Not only did I get to experience exotic Marrakech from it's most charming inner city, I stayed at this absolutely delightful Riad with great personalised service.

firstly the location - getting around the Medina can be quite confusing at first for the uninitiated, so it was great that this Riad was just off Dar El Bacha which is one of the easiest found main location right next to the Palace Walls and a 5 minute walk away from the souks which was great for the evenings when I had some free time. I never had to wait for more than 2 minutes to get a taxi from here, so it was very convenient.

The boutique experience is complete in Dar Charkia. A beautiful inner courtyard with a charmingly decorated tree right in the centre and easy lounge seating all around is the first striking impression as you enter. Its just perfect for an evening drink or simply spending all your spare time! The courtyard also has a plunge pool to soak in which is a welcome inclusion. The room was equally well appointed with a comfortable bed, ample cupboard space for clothes, a sofa and foutons. The bathroom was elegant and the day I got in, had been decorated with rose petals, a great touch ! The Riad does not have too many rooms so it offers a very private feel even when fully occupied. The terrace is also a great place to relax as it had several lounge seats. The best part of the Riad are the warm, gentle people who run it. Samira and Rashid were just fantastic and the entire team really works as one. Each day heading to work and returning, it was like staying at home, which was a really surreal feeling considering how far I really was from my real home.

Thanks to Lisa and Michael for a great stay

Room Tip: The Mali suite where I stayed was on the first floor perfect and overlooked the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Would highly recommend this riad if this is your first time in Marrakech. Lisa, Michael and their staff were all so warm and helpful and although our stay was short, it was a wonderful 3-day stay for my friend and I. Just 2 girls alone, we were a little apprehensive when we first arrived. We've heard so many stories prior our visit and were unsure of what to expect. Lisa and Michael spent almost an hour advising us - telling us what to do and what not to do. They also provided v good recommendations on the places to visit and where to eat. It made our stay a whole lot easier! The riad is beautiful. It has an intimate and cosy feel with very personalized service. We were the only 2 Asians staying there but throughout our stay, we felt very much at home and were well taken care of. Kudos to the team working in the riad! Most pleasant, helpful and very trustworthy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our first visit to Marrakech and we had an amazing time. Dar Charkia was decorated beautifully and was a relaxing getaway, the riad is spotless. Lisa & Michael advised us of the best places to eat and visit and their recommendations were spot on! Upon arrival we were given a map of the city with places to visit, eat shop etc this was ideal. Prior to our arrival Lisa provided great communication and Pre booked a driver to pick us up from the airport. The staff were so friendly and accommodated to our every needs. I would definely recommend this place and cannot wait to get back there, I loved this place.......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lovely riad in great location close to everything. Lisa Michael and the staff are so helpful with maps, tips etc that we found extremly helpful as our first time in Marrakech. Lisa arranged all our trips and restaurant bookings for us which was so helpful. The rooms are beautiful and the riad has a lovely feel. The drinks list is very reasonable priced and the breakfasts great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Another visit and another fantastic time. The welcome, the decor, the staff, the invaluable guidance on where to go and what to do (specifically eat!) always make for an exceptionally laid back and comfortable time away. The only thing better than a visit to Dar Charkia is a return visit to Dar Charkia!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Marrakech with three other couples in early November. We had an absolute ball and would go back again to stay at Dar Charkia in a heartbeat.
Lisa and Michael have created a wonderful oasis in the Medina. They are very helpful with navigating your way around the city and offer loads of tips for shopping, dining, sightseeing, etc. They also arranged some sightseeing tours for us which made it much easier to organise the group. We enjoyed a lovely dinner at the riad during our first evening. The staff are lovely and kind and really added to the pleasure of the stay. Although the pool was not as large as we envisioned nor heated, swimming was not the purpose of our visit to Marrakech so it was of little consequence. It was very refreshing, however, after a day of sightseeing and walking around the city. I think our collective favourite spot in the riad is the rooftop. We had every breakfast up there and enjoyed many bottles of wine and laughter up there as well. Cheers Lisa and Michael for creating a wonderful place to relax with friends!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Hotel
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list