We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
Dar Charkia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Arriving in Marrakesh is an overwhelming experience, and the Dar Charkia was a perfect home base. Lisa, Michael and the whole staff are very welcoming and pleasant, and Lisa knows all the ins and outs of the area and gives great recommendations on everything from restaurants to buying a rug. The rooms are simple yet gorgeous, and the whole hotel is clean, cool, calm and soothing, exactly what you want after a day in the souks, and the plunge pool is a godsend. The whole Dar Charkia crew went way above and beyond for us after we had some travel trouble, and I can't say enough positive things about them.

I traveled with my 12 year old son, who had a blast, (the title is my son's succinct review) and I have to give substantial credit to Lisa, Michael and the staff of the Dar Charkia for helping to make the trip a success.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raoul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The only thing better than discovering Dar Charkia is being welcomed back as old friends. The riad is still the same: beautifully decorated, lovingly cared for and perfectly located in the medina just a minute from the souk. Having been to Marrakech once before, we spent more time hanging around the riad this time. The rooftop terrace is ideal for catching the sun and the plunge pool in the courtyard the perfect refreshing break from the June heat. As always, Michael and Lisa are always ready with the right recommendation for restaurants, spas, cooking classes, and of course shopping. (Bartering in the souk can be daunting for the uninitiated, but fortunately Lisa has a full list of recommended merchants who instantly break into a knowing grin when you tell them 'Madame Lisa' sent you.) Our second visit surely won't be our last!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambi2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverloch, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our family of 5 (2 adult children and a 9-year old) stayed in Dar Charkia for 3 nights in July. Dar Charkia was the perfect place to base ourselves for our first ever Moroccan experience. From the moment two local boys led us down the narrow twisty lane to the front door of Dar Charkia when we arrived at 1:00am, everything was perfect. My older girls loved the beautifully decorated rooms and how close we were to the excitment of the medina and Djemaa el Fna. Our 9-year old loved cooling off in the plunge pool as well as the scumptious breakfasts. But best of all my wife and I really appreciated the personal attention and guidance given by the owner Michael. The annotated map was really useful and Michael was happy to give us advice on the best shopping, restaurants and sights. Of course we still got lost in the souks and paid too much for some beautiful souvenirs we didn't really need.... but that is Marrakech! This was our first trip to Morocco so we can't compare it to other Riads, however I would certainly recommend Dar Charkia as a perfect place to stay. Great location, excellent rooms and friendly hosts... don't hesitate to book this excellent riad!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I chose to return to this riad because I loved it so much when I visited Marrakesh last year. The rooms are all lovely, have air conditioning and are beautifully clean. The staff are very helpful and Lisa and Michael, the owners, give a great overview of Marrakesh with a useful map. I had dinner in the riad the first evening and the food was excellent. The area around the riad is very safe and it is only a few minutes walk to the souks and the square. I would definitely recommend it and plan to return on my next visit to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenPatricia45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This Riad is beautiful! The courtyard is delightful and the room we had overlooking the fountain and waiting pool was tastfully furnished. The staff was very warm and the service excellent. This riad is well located in the Medina. Very enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in the Sahara Suite for 3 nights in mid-July. It was a quiet period and we were the only guests for the final night experiencing fantastic and poor service during that time.

The good
- room was very clean and comfortable
- staff generally friendly and helpful
- excellent recommendations from the owners of places to visit/eat
- good warnings about street scammers in the information in the room

The not so good
- pool was very dirty on one evening (to the point my wife didn't want to go in)
- some rooms were being decorated and there was a really strong smell of paint for most of our stay
- we were a little late arriving (due to flight delays) and were greeted by a staff member desperate to leave for a wedding, resulting in a truncated and disjointed welcome
- some of the information in the room is out of date

The largest issue we had was when returning from our excursion to the mountains. We were shown to the door of the Riad and then told that someone would be along shortly. We found ourselves alone with the exception of the painters, who left after 30 minutes. It took another 30 minutes for any of the other staff members to arrive, but he then proved difficult to find when we wanted assistance. Given the locked front door we were unable to venture out during this time and as we were not given our room key had we not found it ourselves we would not have been able to access our room.

When the owners contacted us to say thanks for our stay we explained what had happened and they offered us a refund, which was unexpected and generous of them.

Given the reviews and comments on this site we were left disappointed by our experience and would have rated it a 3.5 if that was an option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zathras777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

First impressions of Dar Charkia did not disappoint. After trawling through Trip advisor and scouring the internet for a good but affordable Riad, Dar Charkia was our number one choice. The property itself was beautiful and ideally located, with well furnished and spotlessly clean rooms.

The owners (Lisa and Michael) were brilliant, extremely helpful - full of information and ideas to make our first trip to Morocco a success. The staff were also lovely, and were always willing to get what you needed. The only quibble I'd have is that the beds were hard - but that is simply a personal preference and no reflection on Dar Charkia itself.

We would definitely return, and I'll happily highly recommend the Riad to all.

Room Tip: The room on the lower floor was a little more comfortable as the air con worked better, though the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#6 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing