We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first time experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save Saved
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% SPECIAL FALL OFFER
Ranked #4 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great first time experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

First impressions of Dar Charkia did not disappoint. After trawling through Trip advisor and scouring the internet for a good but affordable Riad, Dar Charkia was our number one choice. The property itself was beautiful and ideally located, with well furnished and spotlessly clean rooms.

The owners (Lisa and Michael) were brilliant, extremely helpful - full of information and ideas to make our first trip to Morocco a success. The staff were also lovely, and were always willing to get what you needed. The only quibble I'd have is that the beds were hard - but that is simply a personal preference and no reflection on Dar Charkia itself.

We would definitely return, and I'll happily highly recommend the Riad to all.

Room Tip: The room on the lower floor was a little more comfortable as the air con worked better, though the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
148
552
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

It is not often that I want to return to same accommodation twice, not because of poor standards of service, but because my sense of adventure and discovery keep me intrigued enough to want to discover all things new.

Dar Charkia however is the exception. From the moment we arrived the service was incredibly warm, friendly and completely tailored to our interests and needs. The owners, Lisa and Michael, proudly conducted their comprehensively accurate welcome brief, which included a carefully choreographed map of Lisa’s hand-written tips that illustrated the best of Marrakech. This proved to be essential when trying to resiliently navigate the busy Moroccan streets, embrace the hard-sell and pin point one of Lisa’s references towards a ‘decent loo’.

Until now, I had underestimated the true meaning of the word Riad. But returning to the tranquillity and serenity of the Dar Charkia, with its gentle courtyard of soothing water features and perfectly presented décor, seemed irresistible. Especially when, the cool waters of the plunge pool and a fresh mint tea await your return. For those that need to keep connected, complimentary WIFI is available in the main areas of the Riad.

The effortless walk from the central courtyard to one of the accommodation’s six bedrooms takes you past some impressive works of local art and perfectly acquired artefacts. Our guest room boasted boutique-style design and comfort with an incredible attention to detail and palatial looking bathrooms. The comfortable beds, air conditioning and no in-room TV, created the ideal setting for relaxation and rejuvenation, before a hard days sightseeing and haggling.

By night our accommodation offered a wonderful vantage point to peer from the roof terrace and cabana, across the assortment of sand coloured rooftops. The indiscriminate sounds of call-to-prayer from distant Mosques echoed beautifully under the star-lit sky, as Marrakech by night awaits.

Breakfast was always a beautifully presented selection of Moroccan and French treats, available at any time throughout the morning and a perfect start to the day. The fact that our hosts and their staff went to great lengths to accommodate even the fussiest of palates, dietary requirements and requests, meant that we felt even more special.

By far, the Dar Charkia is on my wish list to return to and with the announcement of daily direct flight with British Airways to Marrakech from Gatwick winter 2012, there has never been a better time to head to the Souks and choose the Dar Charkia as your little ‘Oasis’. The only question is, who will you invite to share the accommodation with?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We have just stayed in the Dar Charkia, what a fabulous place. You can take breakfast at whatever time suits you so no problems with a lay in.
We booked dinner on arrival and it was delicious.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked Dar Charkia based on the excellent reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. The riad is somewhere between a hotel and an incredibly stylish home. The rooms and courtyard areas are beautifully furnished, with lots of artistic flair (lots of muted lilac/purple/silver tones-nothing is garish or overdone). We met Michael on our first day in Marrakech. He is one of the most charming men we have met. He gave us a detailed map and overview of the sights to see and things to do (as well as tips about the souks, taxis etc). The team were helpful, polite and always smiling throughout our stay. I would say, if you are on a budget, check the approximate prices of the recommended restaurants before booking, to plan how much you want to spend on lunch/supper and most importantly the souks!

We spend 2 days in the atlas mountains, which was a cool peaceful retreat before the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Dar Charkia is indeed the peaceful retreat in this dynamic city! Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I can't help but want to repeat everything already said about this place. The Riad itself is beautiful and peaceful. The rooms are decorated wonderfully and best of all everyone is so welcoming. Everyone working there seems to really, sincerely want you to get the most and best out of your stay, and are so helpful and welcoming every step of the way. We had the chance to have breakfast every morning here and I regret we didn't get to reserve a spot for lunch or dinner at least once, the food looked amazing. Thanks to Lisa, Michael and the rest of the staff we really felt like we were able to get the most out of the city. Would absolutely stay again, it's without a doubt one of the best places I've had the pleasure of staying at.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Such a beautiful riad with fantastic staff and the loveliest of owners. Lisa and Michael the owners, were so helpful and recommended places for coffee, lunch dinner whether you wanted cheap, romantic, French, Italian. You name it, they know where to go. The location is fantastic, 2 minutes from everything! Up on the terrace we had great views, a lovely lychee and lemonade pitcher whilst listening to the call to prayer. Just fantastic!! Cant wait go again. We'll be back Dar Charkia!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

What an amazing Riad! It really is the best place to stay in Marrakech. Lisa and Michael were extremely helpful and their staff was incredible. The Riad looked like it could of been pulled out of Elle Decor magazine. It was a great place to stay for our last night in Morocco. Don't look any further - this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.