We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
Dar Charkia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our Honeymoon in Dar Charkia was all my partner and I could have wanted. Lisa and Michael are excellent hosts and booked several meals and activities for us before we arrived. The suite we were in was lovely and the rest of the facilities in the Riad are excellent. The staff are wonderful and ensure your stay is enjoyable.

A must for all visitors to Marrakech!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Words cannot describe how wonderful our mini break at Dar Charkia over the past few days was. Like previous reviews the service and hospitality from the entire team was exceptional. Booking was effortless - via email. They collected us from the airport and Lisa took an hour to orientate us to Marrakech with the best restaurants, best stalls, cleanest WCs around town and all over some delicious mint tea.

Nothing was too much for the team; they would organise trips, book restaurants and always make us feel at home.

The Riad itself was beautiful, tranquil and an area of calm from the busy Souks. Breakfast was delicious and served at any time during the day (which was best summed up by Michael - "you are on holiday after all").

The rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated and romantic.

Overall, a fantastic place to stay. I am going to recommend the Riad to all my close family and friends. And most importantly look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was made even more special with its own fireplace - Saada Double
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

As many of the other reviewers attest, the service at this riad is unmatched. My girlfriend and I worked with Lisa to book all of our restaurant reservations prior to arrival and Michael took an hour to map out our itinerary with us when we arrived. All of the other staff are incredibly friendly and helpful as well. Breakfast was delicious and we looked forward to afternoon mint tea served with even more snacks from the kitchen. Wifi is free and fast – we even got reception in our room. Marrakech is a fun place to visit but it can be overwhelming at times. Having a peaceful, beautiful place to “come home to” improves the tourist experience greatly. Overall, this is one of the best hotel experiences we’ve ever had.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikenap15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The location was fantastic, the rooms truly superior and the riad was exceptional! Just wish we had spent more time there, it became our second home!
Special thanks to Michael, the owner, who made us feel especially welcome and the staff who made our honeymoon that extra special.
Elmir (London)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmir N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Definetely, the best choice in Marrakech. But beware: after Michael's warm reception, you'll probably find any other hotel you'll stay too cold/unfriendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charllys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at the riyad for 5 days in January and found everything about the experience wonderful. From the moment we arrived Mike & Lisa welcomed us and explained with the help of a map everything we needed to know and much more besides. The guides they booked were excellent and the accommodation and the setting made for a perfect winter break.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were in Marrakech in October and stayed at the Dar Charkia for 3 nights. What a great stay! Lisa, Michael, the 2 Samiras and all the staff were so nice and welcoming. For our first stay in the city, we could not have stayed in a better riad! Lisa sat down with us upon arrival for over 30 minutes to review a map of Marrakech where she had wrote many very useful comments and information. The riad was a real oasis, after coming back from a tour of the souks! The breakfast were delicious and served at any time we wanted. We were in the Douiria Suite which was very spacious, with a sitting area, large bathroom - very comfortable!
I would recommend Dar Charkia to anyone, without any doubt. It is a great introduction to Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing