We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL WINTER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our Honeymoon in Dar Charkia was all my partner and I could have wanted. Lisa and Michael are excellent hosts and booked several meals and activities for us before we arrived. The suite we were in was lovely and the rest of the facilities in the Riad are excellent. The staff are wonderful and ensure your stay is enjoyable.

A must for all visitors to Marrakech!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
151
559
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Words cannot describe how wonderful our mini break at Dar Charkia over the past few days was. Like previous reviews the service and hospitality from the entire team was exceptional. Booking was effortless - via email. They collected us from the airport and Lisa took an hour to orientate us to Marrakech with the best restaurants, best stalls, cleanest WCs around town and all over some delicious mint tea.

Nothing was too much for the team; they would organise trips, book restaurants and always make us feel at home.

The Riad itself was beautiful, tranquil and an area of calm from the busy Souks. Breakfast was delicious and served at any time during the day (which was best summed up by Michael - "you are on holiday after all").

The rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated and romantic.

Overall, a fantastic place to stay. I am going to recommend the Riad to all my close family and friends. And most importantly look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was made even more special with its own fireplace - Saada Double
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

As many of the other reviewers attest, the service at this riad is unmatched. My girlfriend and I worked with Lisa to book all of our restaurant reservations prior to arrival and Michael took an hour to map out our itinerary with us when we arrived. All of the other staff are incredibly friendly and helpful as well. Breakfast was delicious and we looked forward to afternoon mint tea served with even more snacks from the kitchen. Wifi is free and fast – we even got reception in our room. Marrakech is a fun place to visit but it can be overwhelming at times. Having a peaceful, beautiful place to “come home to” improves the tourist experience greatly. Overall, this is one of the best hotel experiences we’ve ever had.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The location was fantastic, the rooms truly superior and the riad was exceptional! Just wish we had spent more time there, it became our second home!
Special thanks to Michael, the owner, who made us feel especially welcome and the staff who made our honeymoon that extra special.
Elmir (London)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Definetely, the best choice in Marrakech. But beware: after Michael's warm reception, you'll probably find any other hotel you'll stay too cold/unfriendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at the riyad for 5 days in January and found everything about the experience wonderful. From the moment we arrived Mike & Lisa welcomed us and explained with the help of a map everything we needed to know and much more besides. The guides they booked were excellent and the accommodation and the setting made for a perfect winter break.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were in Marrakech in October and stayed at the Dar Charkia for 3 nights. What a great stay! Lisa, Michael, the 2 Samiras and all the staff were so nice and welcoming. For our first stay in the city, we could not have stayed in a better riad! Lisa sat down with us upon arrival for over 30 minutes to review a map of Marrakech where she had wrote many very useful comments and information. The riad was a real oasis, after coming back from a tour of the souks! The breakfast were delicious and served at any time we wanted. We were in the Douiria Suite which was very spacious, with a sitting area, large bathroom - very comfortable!
I would recommend Dar Charkia to anyone, without any doubt. It is a great introduction to Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.