We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad, Amazing owners and Fabulous staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL WINTER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Beautiful Riad, Amazing owners and Fabulous staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

My husband and I are seasoned travelers are usually stay at design oriented boutique hotels. I was having a hard time sorting through the sea of Riads in Marrakech and my cousin recommended Dar Charkia. The pics and reviews looked good and I totally trust my cousins taste so we booked it. It was much better than I imagined. The owners have taken much care to design a very special place that feels better than home. The attention to detail is amazing. The style is fashionably Moroccan and 'up to date' without it being overly modern, which is not what we were looking for in such a beautiful old city as Marrakech. The Handira covered breakfast nook and the roof top tent were spot on. The rooms are Moroccan inspired without being too stuffy or traditional. Lisa has done an amazing job on the interiors. I didn't want to leave! The location was perfect. Could walk to the souks and to great restaurants easily. Our room was on the main floor and we were so surprised how peaceful and quiet the property was considering how noisy Marrakech is! It is such a lovely place to come back to after a busy day. Lisa and Michael were the best hosts we encountered on our trip. So helpful, cheery and fun to talk to. Lisa makes a hand annotated map of Marrakech that walks you through the must do's, best shopping and dining the city has to offer. I have filed mine away to use for next time! It is a must have! The staff was super welcoming and always available to help or answer a quick question. I fell in love with Marrakech and Dar Charkia. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
151
559
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This Riad is located in the heart of Marrakech and is a truly wonderful oasis amongst the bustle of the surrounding medina and it was like walking into a different world once we opened the front door. The decor is splendid throughout and showed great attention to detail and was spotless from top to bottom. All the staff were extremely friendly and attentive and offered a 5 star service throughout our stay and we met the owners Lisa and Michael who had extensive invaluable local knowledge and were able to provide us with a wealth of recommendations from restaurants to shops and places to visit. Throughout our stay nothing was to much trouble for the staff or owners and we felt like we were treated like old friends from the minute we arrived to the time we left. This was our first visit to Marrakech and I would highly recommended this Riad to anyone thinking of visiting as it could not be faulted in any way and made our trip extra special - I certainly would not contemplate staying any where else if I'm lucky enough to return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We recently travelled to Morocco for 6 nights, spending the first 2 in another Marrakech riad, before heading to the mountains for a night.
On our return we stayed at Dar Charkia. With the help of the directions given on the website the place was easy to find, off a main street. The welcome was lovely, with tea and biscuits, as well as very welcoming staff (who spoke English, which was a welcome change having spent the previous 3 nights resurrecting GCSE French). We were given the best map of Marrakech I've seen (far better than in any guidebooks for Morocco I've read), fully annotated by the owners with recommendations, right down to where's best to change money.
The place itself is beautiful. It is immaculately kept and the room (Sahara) was simply wonderful. There was a coded safe, which was welcome having experienced some theft from our room at the previous riad at which we stayed (not that it ever felt at Dar Charkia that the safe would be necessary), and the details down to the rose petals around the shower were lovely.
Unfortunately, due to the timing of our arrival, we did not see Lisa and Michael until the third day (we went on a tour the next day, with the very friendly, English speaking driver the riad uses). They were apologetic for their absence and offered advice wherever they could.
We had breakfast each day and lunch on our final day (with complementary drink). The food was wonderful, the only slight comment being - and this is so slight that it indicates how great the place was otherwise - would be that we would have liked more local bread, rather than a French loaf and plentiful.
Overall this is possibly the best "hotel" I've stayed in, and certainly the first that has prompted me to review it on Tripadvisor, and the place really made our holiday. We will certainly be looking to return, possibly just for a long weekend to return to Dar Charkia!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This was our first stop on our honeymoon and it was a wonderful way to start our trip. Upon arriving we were greeted by staff and then Lisa and Michael, the owners themselves, for mint tea and an overview of the city. They both took a good deal of time to review a hand annotated map and suggest "must-see" stops for our trip. Lisa and Michael take a good amount of pride in this beautiful riad and this shows in everything from the beautiful decor to the helpful and knowledgeable staff. Everything Lisa recommended was superb! If you like to eat or shop Lisa can point you in the right direction for anything your heart desires. We are so glad we chose this wonderful, relaxing riad in what can be an overwhelming city. It was the perfect combination of adventure and relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011 via mobile

I would thoroughly recommend this Riad in the heart of Marrakech. It was relaxing and well appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the owner Michael was very knowledgable about Marrakech and sent a lot of useful information in advance.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

This place is so special, should be keeping it a secret.
An oasis of calm within the hussle of the old Medina. Fantastic location, beautiful clean rooms and wonderful staff.
Lisa & Mikes (the ownders) local knowledge is invaluable, they will recommend the best restuarants, book them and tell you how to find them!
They organised for us a day out into the Atlas Mountins with driver & guide and luch at an amzing Kasbar with views of the snow capped mountains.
This is our third visit to Dar Charkia and having tried other riads in Marrakech would not consider staying anywhere else. In fact we love it so much we have twice taken friends with us who now love it as much as we do. Already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed here in 2006. It was wonderful...clean, beautifully decorated, great location, friendly, efficient staff, absolutely faultless. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.