We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
Dar Charkia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Wrexham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

This place is so special, should be keeping it a secret.
An oasis of calm within the hussle of the old Medina. Fantastic location, beautiful clean rooms and wonderful staff.
Lisa & Mikes (the ownders) local knowledge is invaluable, they will recommend the best restuarants, book them and tell you how to find them!
They organised for us a day out into the Atlas Mountins with driver & guide and luch at an amzing Kasbar with views of the snow capped mountains.
This is our third visit to Dar Charkia and having tried other riads in Marrakech would not consider staying anywhere else. In fact we love it so much we have twice taken friends with us who now love it as much as we do. Already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
161
568
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed here in 2006. It was wonderful...clean, beautifully decorated, great location, friendly, efficient staff, absolutely faultless. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Last month, I travelled to Marrekech with my family, for a much needed break from school and london. Lisa and Michael, (owners) made our stay. Other than the amazing location, night near souks, the riad was small and intimate, with a plunge pool and lovely trinkets all over. The staff were so caring and understanding. I had a really enjoyable stay and i thoroughly recommend this riad!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

A gem hidden amongst the treasures of magical Marrakech. Nestled down a quiet back street, the heart and soul of this exquisite riad throbs with the love and passion of its owner hosts - Lisa & Michael - whilst retaining the authentic flavours of this ancient city. Dar Charkia reflects the passion of its owners and alongwith their small number of BIG hearted and welcoming staff, they unfailingly went the 'extra mile' to make our 3 day stay a really special and memorable experience. We all loved the vibrant colour palette of the riad and the inner courtyard is a true oasis of calm - where twinkling tea lights and hanging mirrored pendants bewitched and sedated us as the heat of the day abated heralding the inky blue coolness of dusk; a place to reflect and relax over mint tea or with fresh home made orange juice after a day in the souks! Extra brownie points too for the gorgeous tattooes that Samia gave our teenage daughters. Thank you thank you thank you - we can't wait to come back and look forward to our friends coming to stay in the knowledge that they too will have an amazing time. Inshallah!!!! xxxxxxx

Room Tip: go online and take a good luck at the style of each - if you are a light sleeper then the rooms abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

From arrival to departure Michael, Lisa and the staff made you feel as if you were staying in one of the worlds best hotels. Nothing is too much effort for the staff, and their attention to detail is second to none, this Riad is a pure oasis of calm right in the heart of old Marrakech. The hotel is located only a few hundred yards from the centre of the souke, which makes it a perfect location for a stay in the old town. Lisa and Michael have a great knowledge of the many restaurants and places of interest in town, and will point you in the right direction if you ask. We asked the staff to arrange a day trip to the Atlas mountains, and a guided walking tour of the bazaar, both of these were worth doing especially the mountain tour, with our great driver Abdu. We will definitely be back for another visit, may thanks to you all for making our trip so special.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were very happy with our choice of riad: Lisa, Michael and their staff were very welcoming, we had booked dinner in the riad for our first night and the tajines were delicious, as were the treats at breakfast. Lisa's tips were very helpful in making sure that we had a wonderful, hassle-free stay in Marrakech. We loved the hamman that Lisa recommended - it hadn't made its way into the guide books yet so was wonderfully tranquil. We have very fond memories of our stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Dar Charkia is a beautiful Riad in a perfect location to go exploring the sites of Marrakech. Run by Lisa and Michael, a really engaging, very warm couple, the Riad is a great place to base yourself for a weeks rest. Lisa has done an amazing job with the decor which is gorgeous. We saw other Riads that were amazing but none at tasteful and warm as theirs. They have a small team of people who are on point at any time to serve drinks and tea. Breakfast is delicious with a slight variation each morning which keeps in interesting. We met some really nice people staying at the Riad, the beauty being that whilst you could have privacy, whenever you liked, you could also catch up on where others had been to see. The roof terrace is a welcome place to rest when the sun shines

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#2 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#3 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.