We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, location and hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL SUMMER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Marlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service, location and hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Great service from start to finish!

We were greeted with a annotated map of the Medina which really helped us navigate around and find the clean toilets, good souks and restaurants! Lisa and Michael were very helpful and great hosts.

The Riad is in a great location, close to the souks, 10 minute walk to the square and near some very good restaurants. Its easy to find when you are coming back from a night out.

Breakfast was great and slightly different from day to day. The rooms were well decorated and comfortable.The roof terrace was well laid out and had plenty of chairs, loungers, cushions and towels. The plunge pool looked inviting but the thermometer showed it at 18 degrees!

I would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the central courtyard can pick up the noise from downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,034
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
147
547
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ibiza, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Booked the Dar Charkia for my mothers 60th birthday for 5 nights and had made a very good choice.

It is an oasis of calm amid the bustling medina. The riad was stunningly decorated and everything you could possibly need had been thought of. Breakfast was lovely and could be eaten on the roof terrace or in the tranquil courtyard a very nice experience in charmingly decorated surroundings.

The service was outstanding, both lisa and michael spend alot of time giving great tips on places to eat, see and shop every day we were there. Nothing is ever any hassle for any of the staff who went out of their way to ensure we had a great trip and made the most of Marrakech. I have stayed in many hotels all over the world and never had such a great personal service as i did here.

The rooms are superbly decorated with local pieces, and we had lisa to point us in the right direction to purchase alot of them ourselves.

Great location within walking distance of all the souks and the main sqaure and also the new town Gueliz.

Just wish they could open more stunning properties with the great service in other citys as i would never stop visiting!

Really excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have just returned home to Winnipeg, Canada from a wonderful week long visit to Morocco. Our stay at Dar Charkia far exceeded our expectations. From the minute we stepped through the door we felt totally at home in this beautiful riad. Michael is the consummate host (Lisa was out of town and we unfortunately did not meet her) and a great source of local information. Enchanting is the only word to describe our room! Breakfast was amazing. All of the staff are very very friendly and accommodating. The location is also a plus as it is very close to all the main attractions in the medina.
Michael arranged a three day trip for us to the desert with Abdu as our guide. It was definitely worth the long drive and Abdu was great!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Dar Charkia Riad was found through Tripadvisor and the reports were bang on. The riad was extremely well positioned, of a very high quality and the service was extremely friendly and excellant. It was no trouble for Rashid to provide us with another 'nightcap' at 2.30am after a lively night out at Jad Mahal restuarant and club!! Lisa goes to great lengths to provide loads of information on shops, Souks, restuarants, trips and anything else you could possibly want. We followed her advice for shopping and got some great bargins and never had a poor meal in her restuarant selections. For splendour Lotus Privilege is a must, not cheap but well worth it. We would definately go back to Marrekech again for a long weeekend in a year or so, and we would certainly want to stay again at Dar Charkia. Thank you for a wonderful experience Lisa and Michael. Andrew & Debbie - October 2011.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Well here we are again!! we just cannot keep away from Marrakech mainly due to the great service and the very warm welcome we recieve at Dar Charkia, Lisa and Michael are so friendly and helpful and their staff are delightful. The riad is so well located being only a 5 or 6 minute walk from the souk and a little bit of heaven when returning for a bit of sunbathing on the roof terrace. The girls in the kitchen can,t do enough for you,I just love the mint tea they make and the little cakes and biscuits and if you have an evening meal at the riad you really are getting authentic morrocan cuisine. It really is an oasis of calm and comfort after the hustle and bustle of the souk. The bedrooms are amazingly decorated and every room differs, It is easy to see that lisa and michael have put a lot of effort into making the riad a very special place to stay at and this was definately not our last visit to Dar Charkia as we are already planning our next trip there

Room Tip: you cant go wrong with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

There are now so many riads from which to choose when visiting Marrakech but having visited Dar Charkia last year we couldn't wait to go back there. Lisa and Michael are superb hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. We were greeted like old friends and immediately felt at home. Their staff are charming and always smiling, their loyalty says much about their employers. We stayed in the same suite as before (Khmissa). The rooms are spotless and the water is HOT! The riad is perfectly placed for entrance to the souks and the area feels very safe. We would not hesitate to recommend this riad and look forward to returning in the spring.

Room Tip: Khmissa has its own staircase so other guests do not walk past your room on the way to their own
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent a week at Dar Charkia and it was the absolute highlight of our vacation! While we regularly review Trip Advisor for recommendations we have never been more positively compelled to add our experiences. As a jaded frequent flier that commutes weekly for business travel I was completely blown away by Michael and Lisa and their efforts to make sure your trip was nothing less than perfect.

From spending time with us pouring over a map of Marrekech helping us plan our next adventure to the delightful breakfast that kept us guessing whether the jam or butter was better to the romantic candlelit dinners to the best Pimm's I've had outside of London this place truly is the real deal that you see in all the other reviews.

And the best part is while Marrekech and the medina can be a full on, non-stop experience two quick turns and you’re back in the absolute tranquility of Dar Charkia. Next thing you know you’re relaxing by the dip pool or watching the sun set over the city from the roof top terrace sipping mint tea while reminiscing about the bargain that got away.

Though I really doubt there is a bad room at Dar Charkia we absolutely fell in love with the Khmissa Suite. From the morning sun to the light and airy feel of the room, my girlfriend only wishes she could have brought all of Lisa's decorations in the room home with her!

Trust me, you want to stay in the medina and you want to stay at Dar Charkia.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list