We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL WINTER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed at Dar Charkia for three nights less than a week ago, and we were more than satisfied with the beauty of the riad and the helpfulness of the staff. I knew it was a good place as soon as we walked in, as we were promptly offered an ice cold Casablanca and a comfortable seat in the court yard.

When we were shown to our room, we were extremely impressed by the detail of the decor, and relieved that the room possessed all the mod-cons that make us feel comfortable when on vacation (i.e. safe in the room, fully functioning air conditioning, large and clean bathroom).

Our three nights in Marrakech would not have been the same without the hints and tips offered by Lisa and Michael. Their restaurant recommendations were fantastic, their directions were suberb, and their advice on negotiating taxi fares was invaluable.

This place is a great place if you are looking for a real Marrakchi experience without having to figure it out all on your own. Let the owners and staff of Dar Charkia be your guide and you will enjoy yourself for sure!

P.S. Eat at the night market. Even if you are a bit intimidated, you will surely enjoy it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
151
559
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I have just returned from a long weekend in Marrakech and I have to say that Dar Charkia shaped my experience in such a valuable way. The owners, Lisa and Michael, were the most perfect hosts and their wonderfully friendly and curteous staff helped ensure an unforgettable trip.

The riad is a tranquil retreat amidst the hustle and bustle of life in the souks and around the medina, with its refreshing ambience and beautifully designed decor, you don't feel as though you have escaped Marrakech, merely immersed yourself further into it, whilst gaining the opportunity to relax and unwind and truly feel at home.

In terms of location, you coudn't ask for better, as two girls travelling we felt safe at all hours of the day and night and most tourist spots are just a short walk away.

Lisa and Michael took the time to show us around virtually, by pointing some out all key attractions and some local hotspots out on a map, they imparted their Marrakech wisdom and helped make reservations, arranged transfers and tended to our every need whilst under their roof. Their insights were invaluable and their guidance informed every decision we made, allowing us to make the most out of our short stay.

I wholeheartedly recommend this beautiful riad to anyone travelling to Marrakech, whatever your age or walk of life, it has a varied appeal and Lisa and Michael will ensure that you get everything you wish for during your stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful, just look at the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

My daughter took me to Marrakech to stay at Dar Charkia for 4 nights to help celebrate this great coming of age! What a wonderful experience it was for us both to have time away together,staying at this creatively inspired riad. The attention to comfort and detail has to be seen to be experienced and the staff were an absolute credit to our hosts Lisa and Michael. The riad is perfectly situated to enable easy access to the different areas of the town and close to local taxis if so required (though we walked most of the time).My daughter together with some of Lisa's suggestions, had worked out a 'programme' of things to do over the 4 days. I was not disappointed with any aspect of our holiday. This included engaging a guide on one day,(4hrs) which we both thought excellent value, to be guided through the town with a commentary about the Marrakechy way of living ,a visit the fornoy to see where many local people take their bread to be baked, a visit to the herbalist to have the many different herbs and spices explained to us- amazing smells and stories here. At the beginning of our visit Lisa gave us a very helpful annotated map of the town identifying key localities including good 'watering holes' for us not to mention venues for shopping opportunities and places of significant historical interest.The weather was hot and we both relished the opportunity to come home to the riad each day and plunge into the refreshing pool in the courtyard together with whatever the particular drink of our choosing was that day! Lisa has ensured that the list is comprehensive. I can't wait to re visit Marakech and Dar Charkia will be my chosen place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were recommended to stay at Dar Charkia and it turned out to be the best suggestion! We stayed in Marrakech for 3 nights and our stay at the Riad was everything we could have wanted and so much more. Lisa and Michael and all the staff at the Riad were so accomodating to us, nothing was too much trouble and it really helped us to get the most out of our stay. Lisa spent time going over an already annotated map which was so useful. The Riad is beautifully decorated, the authenticity and charm was present in all areas of the Riad and the calmness and serentity helped us to relax. The foods was lovely, always being given a different dish at breakfast to try. The location was really central too and we felt really safe. If you are going to Marrakech this Riad will not disapoint.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011 via mobile

We spent three days in Marrakech and stayed at DarCharkia. We were extremely impressed with every aspect of the Riad. The rooms are beautiful, the staff are friendly & helpful and the whole place is extremely clean and well maintained. There is so much attention to detail with beautiful artifacts and fabrics that have been carefully chosen, which really adds to the uniqueness of the place.

On arrival you are greeted by Lisa and Michael who spend some time with you explaining a bit about the city, giving useful advice on shopping, eating etc. It is well worth taking up their recommendations. I'd also recommend booking the tour guide through the Riad, who wreacted interesting and well worth the money.

We had a couple of meals at the Riad, and the food was superb and well presented. The courtyard and roof terrace provide a tranquil environment in which to relax, and the plunge pool is lovely too. The Riad is in a great location as its near most places you'd want to visit, in most instances within walking fistance.

There is nothing to fault about the place and if we ever return to Marrakech I wouldn't even consider staying amywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is a beautiful riad in a central, safe location near all the sights, the souks and the square. Lisa and Michael could not have been more helpful. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much bother for them. The rooms are well furnished and decorated. Breakfast is included and excellent. Meals are optional and are typically Moroccan and lovely. There is a lovely sun terrace to sit in. There is a small dip pool

Room Tip: Rooms are on the ground floor and upper floor - all seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We rented the entire riad for 4 days for 3 families. Even though we had children from ages 2 to 17 with us, everyone had a good time at Dar Charkia. The riad is well located, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and quite peaceful. I agree with other reviewers that the pictures do not do justice to Dar Charkia. It is much prettier than the photos, especially in the evenings when all the artwork is highlighted by a well designed network of lights. From Dar Charkia you can walk right into the old souks or you can easily get a taxi to go into the newer parts of Marrakech. We liked the ease with which some members of our group could return to the riad while others continued to explore the maze of markets, crafsmen and shops. The staff at Dar Charkia is pleasant and helpful, and, importantly, there is always someone onsite. The owners of the riad, Lisa and Michael, stopped by daily to check on everything. They recommended activities, restaurants, drivers, and guides to us. All were excellent. Without restaurant recommendations, I don't think we would have found a single place to eat in the old city. There are delightful roof top restaurants where you can enjoy delicious meals under canopies that are misted to keep them cool, but it would be impossible to find them on your own. I highly recommend Dar Charkia, and if you have a group of friends, I recommend taking the entire riad as it was quite relaxing to have the place to ourselves. With just six bedrooms, it is not hard to fill.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.