We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Charkia
Save
You added Dar Charkia to your Saves list
50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% SPECIAL WINTER OFFER
Ranked #4 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Dunoon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is a beautiful riad in a central, safe location near all the sights, the souks and the square. Lisa and Michael could not have been more helpful. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much bother for them. The rooms are well furnished and decorated. Breakfast is included and excellent. Meals are optional and are typically Moroccan and lovely. There is a lovely sun terrace to sit in. There is a small dip pool

Room Tip: Rooms are on the ground floor and upper floor - all seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    42
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
151
561
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We rented the entire riad for 4 days for 3 families. Even though we had children from ages 2 to 17 with us, everyone had a good time at Dar Charkia. The riad is well located, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and quite peaceful. I agree with other reviewers that the pictures do not do justice to Dar Charkia. It is much prettier than the photos, especially in the evenings when all the artwork is highlighted by a well designed network of lights. From Dar Charkia you can walk right into the old souks or you can easily get a taxi to go into the newer parts of Marrakech. We liked the ease with which some members of our group could return to the riad while others continued to explore the maze of markets, crafsmen and shops. The staff at Dar Charkia is pleasant and helpful, and, importantly, there is always someone onsite. The owners of the riad, Lisa and Michael, stopped by daily to check on everything. They recommended activities, restaurants, drivers, and guides to us. All were excellent. Without restaurant recommendations, I don't think we would have found a single place to eat in the old city. There are delightful roof top restaurants where you can enjoy delicious meals under canopies that are misted to keep them cool, but it would be impossible to find them on your own. I highly recommend Dar Charkia, and if you have a group of friends, I recommend taking the entire riad as it was quite relaxing to have the place to ourselves. With just six bedrooms, it is not hard to fill.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We've just returned from a 4 night stay at Dar Charkia and it was everything we could have wished for. It really is an oasis of calm and tranquillity amid the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

Dar Charkia is a beautifully decorated riad situated to the northwest of the Souks and Jemaa El Fna (main square) and both are around a 10 minute leisurely walk away. We were upgraded to the suite on the first floor of the riad which is tastefully decorated with all things Morocco - beautiful carpets, artwork, ornaments and furniture. Lisa and Michael have done a superb job in blending Moroccan tradition with modern convenience. The room was spotlessly clean and very quiet which was welcome after the non stop action of Marrakech.

We arranged a transfer to and from the airport which was totally hassle free and costs 150dh each way. The driver was waiting for us in the airport when we arrived and took us straight to the district where the riad is situated and from there it's a 2 minute walk. Rashid, one of the staff, was waiting for us and took our bags for us. Rashid was particularly helpful in grabbing some food for us as we arrived quite late. All the staff for that matter were superb.

On the first morning Michael gave us an annotated map of the best places to see during our brief visit. He recommended some truly superb restaurants and bars for lunch and dinner, the standout venue for us being Lotus Privelege which is another riad some 5 minutes walk from Dar Charkia. Dinner here is an absolute must. It's amazing.

We also had a 3 course dinner at Dar Charkia and again this was excellent. There is a very tranquil ambience about the place and the service was spot on. Very romantic.

So we have no reservations in giving Dar Charkia yet another 5 star review. You can't go wrong with this place and we will be recommending it to everyone who asks where we think is the best place to stay for an authentic slice of Morroccan life.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Thank you LISA and MICHAEL for being such wonderful hosts to us... !
The advices given upon our arrival turn out to be extremely helpful with regards to what to do and where to go. Marrakech is a busy city with lots of hidden gems, and Dar Charkia is one of them. Homy and unpretentious, the riad is beautifully decorated with an eye for every single detail. We would love to come back again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My daughter and I are just back from a 3 day stay at this lovely riad. The staff were wonderful, friendly and very helpful, as was Lisa (one of the owners) who provided us with a map of the Medina, marked very usefully with various recommended cafes, restaurants and shops. One night we ate at the riad and the food was superb, another night at a restaurant which was booked for us. The rooms are comfortable and charming as is the whole riad - a tranquil oasis in the midst of the Medina!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is the perfect place to stay in Marrekesh. The location is so easy you can walk to everything. The owner and their staff are some of the most accomodating I have ever seen. Upon our depart they were worried my luggage was over weight so they brought out a hand held scale and helped me balance the weight between my suitcases so I wouldn't have to pay extra or pull all my belongings out at the airport. They had wonderful recommendations for everything especial dining. They have a beautiful roof top patio that was perfect to relax at the end of the day or in the morning to have breakfast. The accomodations were perfect my 3 kids could have their own room right next to ours. Hard to find places willing to put 3 in a room. Thank you for the best time in Marrekesh we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hambleden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Dar Charkia is conveniently situated on the edge of the Medina, it is a tranquil haven from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. The owners and staff could not have been more hospitable, helpful and kind, making us feel very welcome indeed. Wether it was organising dinner in or out or taking us on some great shopping trips, we had a terrific holiday and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40 030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Charkia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.