We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to give a balanced review!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amalay Hotel Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Amalay Hotel Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Bd Mohamed V, Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #417 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Trying to give a balanced review!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel is located in a fairly good location in the city, directly opposite stop one of the City Tour bus route (which itself is a great way to get round). I have to be honest and say that we had a very good deal on coming to the city, which included the hotel and the flights; so I suppose I do not want to seem to be complaining as we only paid £175 for the package. However, the service in the hotel was nothing short of abysmal most days. In other hotels where we've paid similar prices (we love a bargain!) nothing has been too much trouble. This one, on several occasions, left us feeling like we were an irritation or an inconvenience.

The room was dated, the cockroaches made my travelling companions skin crawl (I named them, and, generally, we just let each other go around our business without paying each other much attention). There was no pool, although we knew that beforehand .....

As other reviews, you had to ask to have the air conditioning turned on; although I understand why, it would be great to control this yourself, particularly as the temperature reached 47C during our visit.

The Bar/Restaurant seemed to open on the whim of the person running the place on the day. We didn't try the food on principle because of all of the above, but the beer was fairly reasonably priced, and, if you haven't visited Morocco before, it's not necessarily that widely sold; although the bar/restaurant appeared to close no later than 10PM (dependent on the mood of the waiter on the day!)

Would I visit Marrakesh again? Yes, one day. Would I visit this hotel again ..... no!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    23
    11
    13
See reviews for
10
28
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

arrived late at hotel given the key to our room distinct smell all the time ,patio door opened onto a brick wall too close to the next building could not operate the air conditioning had to phone reception to turn on /can`t be regulated/ very noisy every night and day with doors being banged guests not told to keep noise down. outside hotel stunk of sewers all the time. drains etc never been cleaned all in all a rotten holiday... beware of thieves two days into hols had a snatch and grab / would never ever go there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

paris
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

a bit far from jemaa el fna but near majorelle garden.
its a good location with supermarket around
the room is ok
you get what you expect for your money
was there with my mum an my sister, is good hotel for family staying.
the breakfast is good, but a bit boring when you get the same think every day

Room Tip: call them before for any extra and ask how much is it, as they changes the prices when you get there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here in MARCH 2013. Hotel located in the new town close to the airport and a 30 minute walk from the main square and souks.
Bad Points - Hotel is dated and in need of an update. It's clean but traffic noise is a serious problem if you are located onto the main road. Staff mostly friendly but it would help if you speak French. Breakfast OK but by the end of our stay we were sick of the French roll, pan o chocolate and apricot jam; the coffee is terrible, very bitter. Hot water a plenty but there was times when you had to ration toilet paper.......On day of departure we went for breakfast only to discover the maid had removed our towels and we checked out without showering!!
Good points - The restaurant serves beer and wine :-) The restaurant food was ok and reasonable priced.
Would I stay there again - NO. All the people we spoke to recommended staying in a Riad within the Medina.

Room Tip: Stay in the Medina in a Riad to experience Morrocco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A friend and I stayed in this hotel in Feb 2013. The hotel was close to the airport and we were greeted by very friendly staff upon our arrival.

The hotel was clean, warm and full of very cheerful staff throughout our stay, each happy to help. The room was a twin; it was a good size with a large bathroom equipped with a clean 4 piece bathroom suite and a power shower. Clean towels and bed linen were provided everyday - although the domestic staff sometimes forgot to knock!

We stayed bed and breakfast, which was a simple continental breakfast with fruit juice and coffee. We ate in the restaurant twice during our stay; the food was hot, very reasonably priced and tasty.

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to the medina and just opposite a bus stop for the tour busses which circulate the city. It was a great place to come back to after a hard days haggling! For the very reasonable price we paid it suited our needs perfectly.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good, budget night’s sleep in Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

On arrival, we were immediately assailed with excursion offers presented to us in a dog eared shabby folder. A ride in a rickety lift which could barely hold two people delivered us to our room. The door opened onto a drab, run down, dark room whose only redeeming feature was clean sheets. The rugs were threadbare and dirty. The bathroom had cracked tiles, mould and limescale on the plumbing. There were no toiletries. The front door had to be locked to make it stay closed.

There was no safe and, given that the presentation of the remote control to us gave an indication of a lack of security, we would have thought this was an essential. There was actually a safe there but it had been sealed!

And then there was the breakfast! This took place on the first floor and was dispensed by a woman whose manner would have curdled the milk. We were summarily served with a pain-au-chocolat and a roll with butter and marmalade placed in front of us with all the finesse of an elephant. and one small glass of orange juice. One each. No more! As we chomped our way through this distinctly dry and unpalatable fayre, another couple arrived. They were served with the same tempting items but then - they were both awarded a soft boiled egg each!! Obviously we requested whether we would also be allowed eggs and we were told in the tersest possible way "Non"

At our arrival on the first evening we were told in no uncertain terms that breakfast was served from 6.30 to 11. Having booked an excursion (from elsewhere at 10% less) for a 7 am departure we delivered ourselves to the breakfast room at 6.30 to find it locked and in darkness. We went to reception where the gentleman advised us that breakfast was at 7 and always had been. It is worth noting that he was actually present when the clerk informed us it was 6.30. As appears to be typical in Morocco, our driver was not punctual so we bore witness to the fact that there was no evidence of breakfast being ready before 7:20. We were given the obligatory pain-au-chocolat and dry roll to take with us but that is not exactly the sustenance you need for a trek into the desert!

On our final morning as we were having a lie in before checking out, the air conditioning went off at around 8 am. Although there was a phone in the room, there was no indication as to how to contact reception so we had to get up and report it - at which point the clerk reached into the electrical box and flicked a switch. Presumably in the belief that we would be checking out in due course, they figured they would save some electricity.

The Amalay is cheap - we realise that. It is a Budget Hotel. But there are standards which we would expect from any hotel and the Amalay fell well short of those.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very good cheap hotel, well located, clean enough and with friendly staff. When you visit somewhere like Marrakech there's far too much to do all day and night to spend any time in your hotel other than to sleep, so we just wanted somewhere with a decent bed and shower and to store our stuff, nothing fancy. The Amalay did this job to the letter.

The staff were friendly and competent and spoke decent english as well as fluent french. The reception seemed to opperate 24 hours a day from what I could gather. Our room was basic but clean, and you can pay a very small fee (approx 10 dirham per night I think) to use an in-room safe for your vauables, which is well worth the modest expense. The bathroom was fairly clean with a decent quality toilet and shower, always a must for any hotel!

Having read some of the reviews on here before our stay we opted to go room only as the general consensus was that the hotel breakfast was poor. There are three decent little cafes within a two minute stroll of the hotel where you can get a pretty good breakfast for around £4 or £5 a head so I would deffinitely recommend this option.

We checked out of the Amalay around 11am on our departure date and our flight wasn't until 8pm, so the hotel very kindly allowed us to leave our excess baggage with them for the day and return to collect it on our way to the airport, at no charge. This was a nice touch.

The only negative comment I have is about the air conditioning in the room, which was only switched on for our first night (the buttoms have been removed and there's no remote, so I expect these are controlled at reception). We assumed that there would be a fee to carry on using the air-con so we chose not to, as it was pretty noisy anyway and made it difficult to sleep on the first night. We visited in July and it was boiling hot but even so we didn't struggle to sleep without air-con, so it wasn't really a problem for us.

Overall, for the price we paid I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Amalay. If I'm ever lucky enough to return to Marrakech and I want a cheap, safe and clean base, I'll use the Amalay again without a doubt. It never fails to amaze me how many people on these kind of forums give cheap hotels bad reviews for not being 5 star quality - you know what, if you want a 5 star hotel, pay for one! Don't expect a cheap hotel to be of that standard, you get what you pay for. For the price we paid, the Amalay was great. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amalay Hotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalay Hotel Marrakech

Address: 87 Bd Mohamed V, Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #417 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalay Hotel Marrakech 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amalay hotel is an attractive 3-star hotel in the heart of Gueliz in the city of Marrakech, a few minutes of the Medina, highly comfortable accommodation facility as well as excellent services and amenities are available at this three-star property along with warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Amalay Hotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalay Hotel Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.