We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lapis-Lazuli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Lapis-Lazuli to your Saves list
Riad Lapis-Lazuli
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   90, Zaouia Al Abbassia | Sidi Ghanem Toualt - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A true hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday, it was one of those experiences that you never forget because it was so perfect. Lovely Riad, we didn't have a problem finding our way back after being out exploring the souks. The hospitality of the hosts was exceptional, we had a tagine here one night and found it to be the best we had the whole trip. If I ever return to
Morocco I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    43
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
108
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for three nights and were very impressed by the personal service. It is a bit further out and we did get lost several times but I think that's all part of it. The riad itself is very peaceful and quiet, which is welcome after a day in the souks! It has a lovely terrace with sun loungers and tables as well as a small indoor pool. The hosts are very helpful and will try and do everything they can to make sure your stay is what you want it to be. Taxis to the main square are around 20 dirhams so if you don't want to risk getting lost it wont break the bank. Definitely reccomend this is you're looking for a quieter option.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are more private as the gorund floor rooms open directly onto the main publ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A wonderful place to stay and recover from trekking in the mountains, the rooms were comfy and the decor throughout was lovely, the pool was great to cool off in after a session in the souks. The food was good as well. Thoroughly recommended and I will certainly be looking to stay there again if / when I visit Marrakech.
The only downside is that it was a little hard to find but if you arrange your transfer via the owner then you can be sure the taxi will get you there, after that navigating the streets of Marrakech is part of the fun and it was rather nice to be away from the touristy area of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I can not fault the accomodation and the staff. We were well looked after and the staff were very helpful. During the day it was not too bad to find your way back to the Riad but at nights it can be very difficult as the landmarks disappear. I would recommend you find your way to Marrakech Musuem and remember the route so at night you always go to the musuem first. If you ask someone for directions they will either take you to their families shop (completely out of the way) or they will take you and want paying (we were asked for 5 euros for taking us round a corner)
The roof terrace is lovely and we spent sometime relaxing in the sun

Room Tip: all the rooms looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The riad is in a nice house, however the location is rather outside the centre of Marrakech. Also, during our stay we were rather unlucky that the electricity was out for a day. Also the location of the hotel is difficult to find. However, the dinners are good and we can recommend the tagines.
The hotel is located inside the Medina hence taking a taxi to it might be easier as it is quite challenging to find in first instance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

From the moment we entered the Riad we were well looked after. Patrice the owner along with the other staff including Abdul were greatly helpful providing us with a lot of information about the local area, where to visit, expected costs and also arranged our transfers to/from the airport/train station.

We stayed initially for 3 days in mid October and returned for 1 night before flying back- it was no problem for Patrice to book us in again, and he even came in early when we arrived at 8am! Upon our arrival we were greeted by Abdul with mint tea (a Moroccan speciality) and then shown to our room (they took our bags up for us which was great as we were exhausted after a long journey). The room we stayed in (Safi) was well equipped with a safe, comfortable bed & decent bathroom (though sometimes water runs a bit cold!). We ate in the Riad on our first night, the lamb tagine was excellent and well worth 18 euros. However we found the price of water at 1 euro 50 for a 1.5 litre bottle to be a bit expensive (you can buy water from the little shops for between 6-10 dirham or under 1 euro).

We found the staff to be friendly, the Riad clean, tidy and well presented. It is in the old part of the city so expect a walk to the main square via the souks (don't get a guide to go through, its more fun to explore!)

If we return to Morocco in the future we will definitely book here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lapis-Lazuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lapis-Lazuli

Address: 90, Zaouia Al Abbassia | Sidi Ghanem Toualt - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lapis-Lazuli 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Lapis-Lazuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lapis-Lazuli Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lapis-Lazuli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.