We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis of peace in a hectic city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lapis-Lazuli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Lapis-Lazuli to your Saves list
Riad Lapis-Lazuli
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   90, Zaouia Al Abbassia | Sidi Ghanem Toualt - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #309 of 1,126 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little oasis of peace in a hectic city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A wonderful place to stay and recover from trekking in the mountains, the rooms were comfy and the decor throughout was lovely, the pool was great to cool off in after a session in the souks. The food was good as well. Thoroughly recommended and I will certainly be looking to stay there again if / when I visit Marrakech.
The only downside is that it was a little hard to find but if you arrange your transfer via the owner then you can be sure the taxi will get you there, after that navigating the streets of Marrakech is part of the fun and it was rather nice to be away from the touristy area of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    45
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
115
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I can not fault the accomodation and the staff. We were well looked after and the staff were very helpful. During the day it was not too bad to find your way back to the Riad but at nights it can be very difficult as the landmarks disappear. I would recommend you find your way to Marrakech Musuem and remember the route so at night you always go to the musuem first. If you ask someone for directions they will either take you to their families shop (completely out of the way) or they will take you and want paying (we were asked for 5 euros for taking us round a corner)
The roof terrace is lovely and we spent sometime relaxing in the sun

Room Tip: all the rooms looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The riad is in a nice house, however the location is rather outside the centre of Marrakech. Also, during our stay we were rather unlucky that the electricity was out for a day. Also the location of the hotel is difficult to find. However, the dinners are good and we can recommend the tagines.
The hotel is located inside the Medina hence taking a taxi to it might be easier as it is quite challenging to find in first instance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

From the moment we entered the Riad we were well looked after. Patrice the owner along with the other staff including Abdul were greatly helpful providing us with a lot of information about the local area, where to visit, expected costs and also arranged our transfers to/from the airport/train station.

We stayed initially for 3 days in mid October and returned for 1 night before flying back- it was no problem for Patrice to book us in again, and he even came in early when we arrived at 8am! Upon our arrival we were greeted by Abdul with mint tea (a Moroccan speciality) and then shown to our room (they took our bags up for us which was great as we were exhausted after a long journey). The room we stayed in (Safi) was well equipped with a safe, comfortable bed & decent bathroom (though sometimes water runs a bit cold!). We ate in the Riad on our first night, the lamb tagine was excellent and well worth 18 euros. However we found the price of water at 1 euro 50 for a 1.5 litre bottle to be a bit expensive (you can buy water from the little shops for between 6-10 dirham or under 1 euro).

We found the staff to be friendly, the Riad clean, tidy and well presented. It is in the old part of the city so expect a walk to the main square via the souks (don't get a guide to go through, its more fun to explore!)

If we return to Morocco in the future we will definitely book here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My sister and I stayed in the Riad Lapis-Lazuli in May for 4 nights, and we both couldnt recommend it enough. I had booked the cheapest room in the Riad however on arrival we ended up being put in one of the more expensive rooms at no extra cost, no one else was staying there when we were there so we recieved excellent service. We arrived late one night after taking the hotel up on the offer of taxi transfer, we were met at the airport by a lovely gentleman who showed us where to get our money changed before leaving for the Riad. The Riad is a good 15-20 minute walk to the main medina square however it is certainly an insightful walk and you do actually get an excellent view into real life in Marrakech and not just the tourist trail. We saw amazing things on the way to and from the Sqaure and the locals do love to chat and throw compliments around! As long as you take them with a pinch of salt and ignore them you will be fine, alot of the locals will try to trick you into getting lost by telling Medina is shut or you cantgo that way anymore - please ignore these, they merely want to get you lost and then sell you things! my advice would be to not look lost when walking to and from. Lawrence from the Riad took us to the main square on our first morning as it is a lot like a maze they also provided us with a little map showing us where we could get a taxi to and from on a night and how much we should pay. The really provided us with an excellent service and helped us with everything we requested. Every morning a lovely breakfast was provided, sometimes fresh pancakes. toasted fresh bread and jams and mint tea and coffee and of course the delicious orange juice.
i would stay here again in an instant! whilst yes it is a bit far out, it is completely worth it to be in peaceful surroundings onthe night. The sun terrace is gorgeous and we spend one day sunbathing up there. on our last night we had our tea at the Riad we chose the chicken with lemon tagine and it was absolutely beautiful! it came with fresh bread and it was so delicious. You could get wine however we did not drink whilst there. I certainly would not say the area was rough I would say it is just the real Marrakech and the locals just want to get on with their lives, the men in the market stalls are hillarious and some can very good fun indeed whilst looking at their items. we chose not to walk back on most nights this was mainly due to us being shattered after sightseeing so much during the day. Please take a chance on this Riad as I promise you wont be dissapointed. It was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable, one night we were actually shown round every room in the Riad which was lovely to be able to have a nosey round!

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a look round the rooms on arrival to see if you can pick where you want to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Marrakech is a beautiful city, I can say an oasis in the middle of the desert. But accomodating in the medina is an catastrophe. The streets are labyrinth type and narrow, most of them have no signs. Lots of iffy guys around of you some of them are offering you something to sell, some of them trying to show your way but asking a couple of Euros. And most important problem is in the night time, there was no light at most the streets, may be not too dangerous place but giving too much discomfort.
If your standarts are not too high, this riad is O.K. to staying for a couple of days. Around 5 or 6 six ensuite rooms are well decorated. Sizes and types are varying. Only I, can not understand what is the difference between ordinary B.Fast and full B.Fast. Because I reserved an full B.Fast; was jam and butter & coffee and O.juice and french baguettes, Thats all. Anyways, I wanted to taste an riad and madina line but unfortunately this is not my favourite acoomodation style.
I will rather prefere the Gueliz area which is more comfortable and modern area. Easy to reach lots of trendy shops, markets, restaurants etc.
Sorry fort that but, I hope I will not be again Madina or any riad.
One reason needs to notice that the owners and the staff are easy to communicate people as I never expect an francophone people. Though try to understand well, their road defines because easy to lose to the narrow streets and not easy to find again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Lapis-Lazuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lapis-Lazuli

Address: 90, Zaouia Al Abbassia | Sidi Ghanem Toualt - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 1,126 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lapis-Lazuli 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Lapis-Lazuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lapis-Lazuli Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lapis-Lazuli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.