We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely accomodation but a bit hard to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lapis-Lazuli

Save Saved
You added Riad Lapis-Lazuli to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Lapis-Lazuli
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   90, Zaouia Al Abbassia | Sidi Ghanem Toualt - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“lovely accomodation but a bit hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I can not fault the accomodation and the staff. We were well looked after and the staff were very helpful. During the day it was not too bad to find your way back to the Riad but at nights it can be very difficult as the landmarks disappear. I would recommend you find your way to Marrakech Musuem and remember the route so at night you always go to the musuem first. If you ask someone for directions they will either take you to their families shop (completely out of the way) or they will take you and want paying (we were asked for 5 euros for taking us round a corner)
The roof terrace is lovely and we spent sometime relaxing in the sun

Room Tip: all the rooms looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    40
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
102
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The riad is in a nice house, however the location is rather outside the centre of Marrakech. Also, during our stay we were rather unlucky that the electricity was out for a day. Also the location of the hotel is difficult to find. However, the dinners are good and we can recommend the tagines.
The hotel is located inside the Medina hence taking a taxi to it might be easier as it is quite challenging to find in first instance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

From the moment we entered the Riad we were well looked after. Patrice the owner along with the other staff including Abdul were greatly helpful providing us with a lot of information about the local area, where to visit, expected costs and also arranged our transfers to/from the airport/train station.

We stayed initially for 3 days in mid October and returned for 1 night before flying back- it was no problem for Patrice to book us in again, and he even came in early when we arrived at 8am! Upon our arrival we were greeted by Abdul with mint tea (a Moroccan speciality) and then shown to our room (they took our bags up for us which was great as we were exhausted after a long journey). The room we stayed in (Safi) was well equipped with a safe, comfortable bed & decent bathroom (though sometimes water runs a bit cold!). We ate in the Riad on our first night, the lamb tagine was excellent and well worth 18 euros. However we found the price of water at 1 euro 50 for a 1.5 litre bottle to be a bit expensive (you can buy water from the little shops for between 6-10 dirham or under 1 euro).

We found the staff to be friendly, the Riad clean, tidy and well presented. It is in the old part of the city so expect a walk to the main square via the souks (don't get a guide to go through, its more fun to explore!)

If we return to Morocco in the future we will definitely book here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My sister and I stayed in the Riad Lapis-Lazuli in May for 4 nights, and we both couldnt recommend it enough. I had booked the cheapest room in the Riad however on arrival we ended up being put in one of the more expensive rooms at no extra cost, no one else was staying there when we were there so we recieved excellent service. We arrived late one night after taking the hotel up on the offer of taxi transfer, we were met at the airport by a lovely gentleman who showed us where to get our money changed before leaving for the Riad. The Riad is a good 15-20 minute walk to the main medina square however it is certainly an insightful walk and you do actually get an excellent view into real life in Marrakech and not just the tourist trail. We saw amazing things on the way to and from the Sqaure and the locals do love to chat and throw compliments around! As long as you take them with a pinch of salt and ignore them you will be fine, alot of the locals will try to trick you into getting lost by telling Medina is shut or you cantgo that way anymore - please ignore these, they merely want to get you lost and then sell you things! my advice would be to not look lost when walking to and from. Lawrence from the Riad took us to the main square on our first morning as it is a lot like a maze they also provided us with a little map showing us where we could get a taxi to and from on a night and how much we should pay. The really provided us with an excellent service and helped us with everything we requested. Every morning a lovely breakfast was provided, sometimes fresh pancakes. toasted fresh bread and jams and mint tea and coffee and of course the delicious orange juice.
i would stay here again in an instant! whilst yes it is a bit far out, it is completely worth it to be in peaceful surroundings onthe night. The sun terrace is gorgeous and we spend one day sunbathing up there. on our last night we had our tea at the Riad we chose the chicken with lemon tagine and it was absolutely beautiful! it came with fresh bread and it was so delicious. You could get wine however we did not drink whilst there. I certainly would not say the area was rough I would say it is just the real Marrakech and the locals just want to get on with their lives, the men in the market stalls are hillarious and some can very good fun indeed whilst looking at their items. we chose not to walk back on most nights this was mainly due to us being shattered after sightseeing so much during the day. Please take a chance on this Riad as I promise you wont be dissapointed. It was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable, one night we were actually shown round every room in the Riad which was lovely to be able to have a nosey round!

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a look round the rooms on arrival to see if you can pick where you want to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Marrakech is a beautiful city, I can say an oasis in the middle of the desert. But accomodating in the medina is an catastrophe. The streets are labyrinth type and narrow, most of them have no signs. Lots of iffy guys around of you some of them are offering you something to sell, some of them trying to show your way but asking a couple of Euros. And most important problem is in the night time, there was no light at most the streets, may be not too dangerous place but giving too much discomfort.
If your standarts are not too high, this riad is O.K. to staying for a couple of days. Around 5 or 6 six ensuite rooms are well decorated. Sizes and types are varying. Only I, can not understand what is the difference between ordinary B.Fast and full B.Fast. Because I reserved an full B.Fast; was jam and butter & coffee and O.juice and french baguettes, Thats all. Anyways, I wanted to taste an riad and madina line but unfortunately this is not my favourite acoomodation style.
I will rather prefere the Gueliz area which is more comfortable and modern area. Easy to reach lots of trendy shops, markets, restaurants etc.
Sorry fort that but, I hope I will not be again Madina or any riad.
One reason needs to notice that the owners and the staff are easy to communicate people as I never expect an francophone people. Though try to understand well, their road defines because easy to lose to the narrow streets and not easy to find again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

On the plus side, the staff is amazing. The breakfast is super. The owner is so communicative and offered help at every turn. The value for the room is great. The rooms are so quiet and the style is so well put together! It was a pleasure to wake up and a definite pleasure to come home each night to this quiet sanctuary!

The decorations are lovely and the bed is perfect. Every detail of the riad is very well done. We stayed in a room on the first floor and the bathroom and room were 99% perfect.

Wifi would be a much appreciated thing...but it's also nice to disconnect. We were able to use the owner's computer to check email once and that was a big help. Also the owner provided us with a taxi to the airport for 16Euro which was well worth it!

1 thing that can't be fixed is the location, which requires a taxi from the main square. We were only there 2 nights, but had been in the medina before. Trying to find the right combination of streets was hard, especially at night and both nights we were hassled by local boys who want to show you the way and then charge you money. It's a little scary. So, if you stay here, take a cab to the local taxi stand and then walk the final 500m. And definitely take the taxi service there on the way into the city.

Also, 1 thing that could be fixed is the plumbing on the first floor room left an odor that sometimes was unpleasant. I understand that it's an old riad, but the smell was often strong enough to wake us...it's the only thing that prevented a 5-star rating.

Still, we would definitely stay there again if we're even in Marrakech...

Room Tip: The ground floor room, we think, was the only room with the odor since it is on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lapis-Lazuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lapis-Lazuli

Address: 90, Zaouia Al Abbassia | Sidi Ghanem Toualt - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lapis-Lazuli 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Riad Lapis-Lazuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lapis-Lazuli Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lapis-Lazuli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;