We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lapis-Lazuli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Lapis-Lazuli to your Saves list
Riad Lapis-Lazuli
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   90, Zaouia Al Abbassia | Sidi Ghanem Toualt - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #301 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My sister and I stayed in the Riad Lapis-Lazuli in May for 4 nights, and we both couldnt recommend it enough. I had booked the cheapest room in the Riad however on arrival we ended up being put in one of the more expensive rooms at no extra cost, no one else was staying there when we were there so we recieved excellent service. We arrived late one night after taking the hotel up on the offer of taxi transfer, we were met at the airport by a lovely gentleman who showed us where to get our money changed before leaving for the Riad. The Riad is a good 15-20 minute walk to the main medina square however it is certainly an insightful walk and you do actually get an excellent view into real life in Marrakech and not just the tourist trail. We saw amazing things on the way to and from the Sqaure and the locals do love to chat and throw compliments around! As long as you take them with a pinch of salt and ignore them you will be fine, alot of the locals will try to trick you into getting lost by telling Medina is shut or you cantgo that way anymore - please ignore these, they merely want to get you lost and then sell you things! my advice would be to not look lost when walking to and from. Lawrence from the Riad took us to the main square on our first morning as it is a lot like a maze they also provided us with a little map showing us where we could get a taxi to and from on a night and how much we should pay. The really provided us with an excellent service and helped us with everything we requested. Every morning a lovely breakfast was provided, sometimes fresh pancakes. toasted fresh bread and jams and mint tea and coffee and of course the delicious orange juice.
i would stay here again in an instant! whilst yes it is a bit far out, it is completely worth it to be in peaceful surroundings onthe night. The sun terrace is gorgeous and we spend one day sunbathing up there. on our last night we had our tea at the Riad we chose the chicken with lemon tagine and it was absolutely beautiful! it came with fresh bread and it was so delicious. You could get wine however we did not drink whilst there. I certainly would not say the area was rough I would say it is just the real Marrakech and the locals just want to get on with their lives, the men in the market stalls are hillarious and some can very good fun indeed whilst looking at their items. we chose not to walk back on most nights this was mainly due to us being shattered after sightseeing so much during the day. Please take a chance on this Riad as I promise you wont be dissapointed. It was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable, one night we were actually shown round every room in the Riad which was lovely to be able to have a nosey round!

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a look round the rooms on arrival to see if you can pick where you want to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    45
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
116
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Marrakech is a beautiful city, I can say an oasis in the middle of the desert. But accomodating in the medina is an catastrophe. The streets are labyrinth type and narrow, most of them have no signs. Lots of iffy guys around of you some of them are offering you something to sell, some of them trying to show your way but asking a couple of Euros. And most important problem is in the night time, there was no light at most the streets, may be not too dangerous place but giving too much discomfort.
If your standarts are not too high, this riad is O.K. to staying for a couple of days. Around 5 or 6 six ensuite rooms are well decorated. Sizes and types are varying. Only I, can not understand what is the difference between ordinary B.Fast and full B.Fast. Because I reserved an full B.Fast; was jam and butter & coffee and O.juice and french baguettes, Thats all. Anyways, I wanted to taste an riad and madina line but unfortunately this is not my favourite acoomodation style.
I will rather prefere the Gueliz area which is more comfortable and modern area. Easy to reach lots of trendy shops, markets, restaurants etc.
Sorry fort that but, I hope I will not be again Madina or any riad.
One reason needs to notice that the owners and the staff are easy to communicate people as I never expect an francophone people. Though try to understand well, their road defines because easy to lose to the narrow streets and not easy to find again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

On the plus side, the staff is amazing. The breakfast is super. The owner is so communicative and offered help at every turn. The value for the room is great. The rooms are so quiet and the style is so well put together! It was a pleasure to wake up and a definite pleasure to come home each night to this quiet sanctuary!

The decorations are lovely and the bed is perfect. Every detail of the riad is very well done. We stayed in a room on the first floor and the bathroom and room were 99% perfect.

Wifi would be a much appreciated thing...but it's also nice to disconnect. We were able to use the owner's computer to check email once and that was a big help. Also the owner provided us with a taxi to the airport for 16Euro which was well worth it!

1 thing that can't be fixed is the location, which requires a taxi from the main square. We were only there 2 nights, but had been in the medina before. Trying to find the right combination of streets was hard, especially at night and both nights we were hassled by local boys who want to show you the way and then charge you money. It's a little scary. So, if you stay here, take a cab to the local taxi stand and then walk the final 500m. And definitely take the taxi service there on the way into the city.

Also, 1 thing that could be fixed is the plumbing on the first floor room left an odor that sometimes was unpleasant. I understand that it's an old riad, but the smell was often strong enough to wake us...it's the only thing that prevented a 5-star rating.

Still, we would definitely stay there again if we're even in Marrakech...

Room Tip: The ground floor room, we think, was the only room with the odor since it is on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I agree with most of the reviews here, it is a gem, it is an oasis of tranquility, it has really nice rooms and a wonderful rooftop terrace included flowers and turtle, welcoming hosts and good food! We spent 2 days of trying and failing of finding our way back to the guesthouse, but then we learned it! The first day however, we felt lost when going to find something to eat after arrival. Tip: take taxi to the big square Jamaa el-Fna, that's where the restaurants are!

Staying with my son, I found it a bit difficult that there was no place to get some quick food for him in the evening, AND it was forbidden to have food in the rooms. This meant that we had to go out again in the evening after we returned from town and perhaps had tired legs and really wanted to stay in. The only other option was to book your dinner (tajine) in the morning at the Riad. The dinner was very tasty but still would've liked other options for Junior.

Apart from that, everything was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Just got back from the Riad Lapis-Lazuli. We stayed 4 nights and have only good things to say about the property and Abdu, Patrick ,Laurent and the lady who cleaned the rooms. Arranged for them to have us picked up and so glad we did. The Riad is in the Medina and we would not have found it. We didn't venture out once dark as it was easy to get lost, in the daylight we could retrace our steps and found we ended up coming in from the top of the Medina rather than through the souks to the Riad. If you pay for a 48hr ticket on the tourist bus you can get off between stop 2 and 3 of the Oasis tour and walk in through Khemis Gate to the Medina.
We ate twice at the Riad Chicken Berbere and Beef with prunes both dishes were beautiful and the Rose wine was good. Breakfast is simple but pancakes and crusty bread suited us fine. The room and the Riad are very tastefully decorated and the roof terrace so relaxing. Our flight back was not until 8.45pm and Parick arranged our transfer back and allowed us to have use of our room until we left to go home.

Room Tip: we stayed in Mekena and it was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

If you are looking for a clean, calm and beautiful base from where to explore Marrakesh, then this is the place. The hosts, Patrick and Laurent, are very welcoming and helpful, as is Abdu, the guy who takes care of the Riad on the night-shift. He will help you with anything you might need! Staying in the medina lets you experience Marrakesh in an authentic way, if that's what you're after. If I had to return I would choose this Riad!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We have just come back last saturday from Riad Lapis-Lazuli and all we can say is that this place is better than it looks, the only hotel we have stayed in that actually looks like its photos.

We had an excellent time and this was bettered by staying at the Riad, the star of the place is Abdul or Abdou as some call him, he is an assett to the Riad and if we were ever to open a hotel he would be the first person we would employ. He went out of his way to help us and when I wanted to buy a Tagine to take home he went and bought one for us at half the price we were being quoted.

This Riad only has 6 rooms which is a good thing as you get to know the other people and is quite cosy, we got to know 2 English lads and a Dutch couple who were really nice.

The orange juice at breakfast is the best in Marrakech and try the Tagine at the Riad, you wont be dissapointed. The place is very clean, in fact it is spotless and credit goes to the cleaning lady as she cleans it inside out.

Do be carefull of the locals as they try to rip you off but if you ignore them then they will go away. if you want a true Morrocan experience then visit this Riad, although it is a little walk away from Jaam el finaa and other tourist hotels it is well worth it.


p.s accept the hotel transfer as taxi drivers will find it difficult to find.

Room Tip: ask to see the other rooms if theyre free and then decide which one you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#199 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
1.2 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#111 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#181 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Shama
Riad Shama
#217 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lapis-Lazuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lapis-Lazuli

Address: 90, Zaouia Al Abbassia | Sidi Ghanem Toualt - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lapis-Lazuli 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Lapis-Lazuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lapis-Lazuli Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lapis-Lazuli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.