We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favourite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lapis-Lazuli

Save Saved
You added Riad Lapis-Lazuli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Lapis-Lazuli
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   90, Zaouia Al Abbassia | Sidi Ghanem Toualt - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Not my favourite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Marrakech is a beautiful city, I can say an oasis in the middle of the desert. But accomodating in the medina is an catastrophe. The streets are labyrinth type and narrow, most of them have no signs. Lots of iffy guys around of you some of them are offering you something to sell, some of them trying to show your way but asking a couple of Euros. And most important problem is in the night time, there was no light at most the streets, may be not too dangerous place but giving too much discomfort.
If your standarts are not too high, this riad is O.K. to staying for a couple of days. Around 5 or 6 six ensuite rooms are well decorated. Sizes and types are varying. Only I, can not understand what is the difference between ordinary B.Fast and full B.Fast. Because I reserved an full B.Fast; was jam and butter & coffee and O.juice and french baguettes, Thats all. Anyways, I wanted to taste an riad and madina line but unfortunately this is not my favourite acoomodation style.
I will rather prefere the Gueliz area which is more comfortable and modern area. Easy to reach lots of trendy shops, markets, restaurants etc.
Sorry fort that but, I hope I will not be again Madina or any riad.
One reason needs to notice that the owners and the staff are easy to communicate people as I never expect an francophone people. Though try to understand well, their road defines because easy to lose to the narrow streets and not easy to find again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    39
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
100
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mysore, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

On the plus side, the staff is amazing. The breakfast is super. The owner is so communicative and offered help at every turn. The value for the room is great. The rooms are so quiet and the style is so well put together! It was a pleasure to wake up and a definite pleasure to come home each night to this quiet sanctuary!

The decorations are lovely and the bed is perfect. Every detail of the riad is very well done. We stayed in a room on the first floor and the bathroom and room were 99% perfect.

Wifi would be a much appreciated thing...but it's also nice to disconnect. We were able to use the owner's computer to check email once and that was a big help. Also the owner provided us with a taxi to the airport for 16Euro which was well worth it!

1 thing that can't be fixed is the location, which requires a taxi from the main square. We were only there 2 nights, but had been in the medina before. Trying to find the right combination of streets was hard, especially at night and both nights we were hassled by local boys who want to show you the way and then charge you money. It's a little scary. So, if you stay here, take a cab to the local taxi stand and then walk the final 500m. And definitely take the taxi service there on the way into the city.

Also, 1 thing that could be fixed is the plumbing on the first floor room left an odor that sometimes was unpleasant. I understand that it's an old riad, but the smell was often strong enough to wake us...it's the only thing that prevented a 5-star rating.

Still, we would definitely stay there again if we're even in Marrakech...

Room Tip: The ground floor room, we think, was the only room with the odor since it is on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I agree with most of the reviews here, it is a gem, it is an oasis of tranquility, it has really nice rooms and a wonderful rooftop terrace included flowers and turtle, welcoming hosts and good food! We spent 2 days of trying and failing of finding our way back to the guesthouse, but then we learned it! The first day however, we felt lost when going to find something to eat after arrival. Tip: take taxi to the big square Jamaa el-Fna, that's where the restaurants are!

Staying with my son, I found it a bit difficult that there was no place to get some quick food for him in the evening, AND it was forbidden to have food in the rooms. This meant that we had to go out again in the evening after we returned from town and perhaps had tired legs and really wanted to stay in. The only other option was to book your dinner (tajine) in the morning at the Riad. The dinner was very tasty but still would've liked other options for Junior.

Apart from that, everything was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Just got back from the Riad Lapis-Lazuli. We stayed 4 nights and have only good things to say about the property and Abdu, Patrick ,Laurent and the lady who cleaned the rooms. Arranged for them to have us picked up and so glad we did. The Riad is in the Medina and we would not have found it. We didn't venture out once dark as it was easy to get lost, in the daylight we could retrace our steps and found we ended up coming in from the top of the Medina rather than through the souks to the Riad. If you pay for a 48hr ticket on the tourist bus you can get off between stop 2 and 3 of the Oasis tour and walk in through Khemis Gate to the Medina.
We ate twice at the Riad Chicken Berbere and Beef with prunes both dishes were beautiful and the Rose wine was good. Breakfast is simple but pancakes and crusty bread suited us fine. The room and the Riad are very tastefully decorated and the roof terrace so relaxing. Our flight back was not until 8.45pm and Parick arranged our transfer back and allowed us to have use of our room until we left to go home.

Room Tip: we stayed in Mekena and it was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

If you are looking for a clean, calm and beautiful base from where to explore Marrakesh, then this is the place. The hosts, Patrick and Laurent, are very welcoming and helpful, as is Abdu, the guy who takes care of the Riad on the night-shift. He will help you with anything you might need! Staying in the medina lets you experience Marrakesh in an authentic way, if that's what you're after. If I had to return I would choose this Riad!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We have just come back last saturday from Riad Lapis-Lazuli and all we can say is that this place is better than it looks, the only hotel we have stayed in that actually looks like its photos.

We had an excellent time and this was bettered by staying at the Riad, the star of the place is Abdul or Abdou as some call him, he is an assett to the Riad and if we were ever to open a hotel he would be the first person we would employ. He went out of his way to help us and when I wanted to buy a Tagine to take home he went and bought one for us at half the price we were being quoted.

This Riad only has 6 rooms which is a good thing as you get to know the other people and is quite cosy, we got to know 2 English lads and a Dutch couple who were really nice.

The orange juice at breakfast is the best in Marrakech and try the Tagine at the Riad, you wont be dissapointed. The place is very clean, in fact it is spotless and credit goes to the cleaning lady as she cleans it inside out.

Do be carefull of the locals as they try to rip you off but if you ignore them then they will go away. if you want a true Morrocan experience then visit this Riad, although it is a little walk away from Jaam el finaa and other tourist hotels it is well worth it.


p.s accept the hotel transfer as taxi drivers will find it difficult to find.

Room Tip: ask to see the other rooms if theyre free and then decide which one you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This a beautiful riad, and is only a few minutes walk away from the heart of the soukhs and main areas but nestles in the maze of streets that make up old Marrakech. The hosts are so helpful and considerate, the central area and rooftop are beautiful and restful. All our needs were catered for, including my food allergy, and we were made to feel so welcome. The riad can be a little difficult to find at first so suggest that you get them to arrange your taxi from the airport or arrival point but they are extremely considerate organizing transport or for you to be accompanied to/from restaruants - they'll evne come and find you if you get lost - just make it to the taxi ranks. After a busy day shopping in the soukhs this really is an oasis of peace, coolness and tranquility. I will return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Lapis-Lazuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lapis-Lazuli

Address: 90, Zaouia Al Abbassia | Sidi Ghanem Toualt - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lapis-Lazuli 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Riad Lapis-Lazuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lapis-Lazuli Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Lapis-Lazuli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.