We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Mamoune

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Mamoune to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Al Mamoune
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   140 Derb Aarjane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
“My second home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Ok so when we arrived here I was like nope this areas dodgy , it was dark and dingy and overflowing with cats but then you come to the riad door and your left speechless , beautiful original architecture , clean and just amazing. Spacious courtyard on the bottom floor with 2 bedrooms and a chill out room for all guests and a kitchen...then 2nd floor where we stayed in the largest suite with our own balcony and living room we were a family of 4 and even then it was well priced and then theres the massive gorgeous rooftop where you enjoy a simple filling traditional fresh breakfast every mornng. Manu and Hamid become like family , so comfortable to be around and guranteed you'll miss them when you go back home and the guests there are super friendly met a couple from paris and a singleton from switzerland
And another older couple from UK and they are all like your best friends ...miss everyone and want to come back home to riad al mamoune :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
47
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were recommended by friends to go to this delightful riad in the maze behind the souks. It was very interesting finding our way back to this place after dinner - we had memorized our way with landmarks, and it was an adventure to find it - in a good way. Amazingly quiet, this riad is a great experience. Hamu and his wife are lovely people, and made us very welcome. Their employee Hamid is a good guy with an aggressive personality that appeals to young people, and Hamu is a humble person that relates better to mature people. Fresh squeezed orange juice and delicious Moroccan crepes for breakfast with tea and coffee were wonderful on the rooftop terrace. Our room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was so cute, a conical little hive. We left the riad to go sightseeing after breakfast and came back after dinner. We met some of the other guests and made some friends quickly.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor, My husband is a big guy with a love of open spaces, so he felt sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed for a week in this WONDERFUL and relaxing riad. It's beautiful, the people who work there went out of their way to help with everything (even went shopping in the souqes with us to insure reasonable prices).
Breakfast was good, as were the dinner we had one night.
Good rooms, great staff! It has a homely feel in the best possible way. Absolutely recommendable! Will be going back:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Really nice riad perfectly located right in middle of the Medina. The staff is very professional and friendly. The breakfast is really rich and delicious and the rooms are very tidy like all the riad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Hubby and I found some well priced flights and looked for a riad offering reasonably priced accommodation which would allow us to explore Marrakech and also take a few trips out. From the reviews we read, the Riad al Mamoune met our needs.

We arranged to be picked up from the airport as we were arriving around 6pm and weren't sure of where to go etc if we found our way into the city. At 150 dirham (approx €15) it's not cheap but you are driven to the main square (taxis cannot get further into the medina) and met by a member of staff. Ali came to meet us and walked us to the riad, and it's true to say the souks are like rabbit warrens.

Breakfasts are basic but good - fresh juice, bread, jam, honey, pancakes and tea or coffee. You can eat indoors or on the roof if the weather allows. As our stay was in December, eating up there at 8am was chilly but on our last day we took breakfast on the roof at 9am and it was fine.

I think I should say that the main square (Jemaa al Fnaa) is like a noisy party that starts around 9am and carries on till late. The day is full of snake charmers, monkey handlers, water sellers, fortune tellers, henna painters and fruit/juice vendors. In the late afternoon the worlds biggest barbecue starts as the open air stalls set up. I noticed an earlier reviewer suggesting she hadn't eaten on the square because she thought her stomach wouldn't cope - I would suggest that its fairly safe to eat here but safer not to use the plastic plates/cutlery some places offer because you don't know how dirty the washing up water is. A lot of the stalls offer food directly onto bread or paper and the food is cooked as you want it, so it's not standing round or being reheated. We ate there and drank orang juice daily without any problems.

The square is so hectic and noisy, and the souks so packed and busy, that when you get back to the riad it is perfectly quiet by comparison. We lay in bed (room Tam Tam) and apart from a couple of guests talking quietly to Ali, there was no sound at all between about 10pm and 7am.

I had read that some guests felt uncomfortable with walking to the riad and that they had been told someone would lead them back if they felt lost but that this didn't happen. I don't think this is the riads fault, as on our first night, Ali wrote his number on one of the hotels cards so that we could call him if we were struggling to find our way back but we were fortunate and managed to work it out.

We did a trip to the High Atlas with Manu driving, stopping off at Richard Branson's Kasbah and walking to Kasbah Toubkal - which was beautiful - and at €100 for two of us it was cheaper than booking with a tour company. We also did Essauoira by bus which cost €20 return each and made a pleasant trip.

I would certainly recommend Riad al Mamoune to anyone thinking of staying in Marrakech. Ali was courteous, helpful and always available, Manu was a good driver and excellent as a guide, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The riad is next to Spice Square so you're in the souks and ready for actionas soon as you're fed and watered.

For location, cleanliness, service and value for money, Riad al Mamoune rated pretty high on our scale and is ideal if you want to be in the heart of Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from three nights at Riad al Mamoune and would recommend to others who are looking for central, good value for money and welcoming accommodation in Marrakech. The Riad is located just off the main El Fna Square, takes about 5 minutes to walk there from the square. The Riad is not accessible by car, so be prepared to walk the last bit of your journey. The owner, Manu, came to meet us so there was no problem finding the place...... It's quite tucked away! The hotel staff are very attentive and special mention must be given to Ali who works in the Riad doing a great job of welcoming guests, giving local info, arranging trips and excursions, making tea and generally keeping everything going. There are six rooms, some quite small but we stayed in elf Lila wa Lila room which is very large and has a seating area in addition to the bedroom section of the room. The bathrooms are small and rustic with plenty of hot water. Overall, the rooms are rustic and traditional. There's air conditioning, a must in the 45 degree heat of July, and safe for valuables. There are no locks on the outside of the bedroom doors, that took a bit of getting used to! Once inside the room, you can lock from the inside. Breakfast was simple but nicely done, with green tea or coffee, pancakes and freshly squeezed orange juice with eggs as an optional extra. We went on an excursion to the Atlas mountains one day which was a good trip, make sure you wear good walking shoes as does involve some climbing. We also did the hamman bath and massage which was a fun experience!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Overall I enjoyed our stay here very much except the fact that my mother who is 63 years old and has knee problem can't walk very far but the hotel is located deep in Medina (good for shopping though). Ali is a staff who met us at the meeting point and guided us to the Riad. He was very patient with my mother and took very good care of her. Other staffs are very friendly as well. We also used their city tour service. Basically, the son of the owner is a driver and showed us around.

The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast is served on the roof top with traditional Moroccan breakfast. Roti & pancake are very good.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay. Despite the long walk, my mother was very happy there. If you do not have a problem with walking, then this is a perfect place for you. (Personally it isn't very far for me.)

Room Tip: Wifi signal on the second floor is very weak, you might need to sit down outside the room or to come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Mamoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mamoune

Address: 140 Derb Aarjane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Mamoune 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Riad Al Mamoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Mamoune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.