We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Mamoune

Save Saved
You added Riad Al Mamoune to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Al Mamoune
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   140 Derb Aarjane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A quaint place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from three nights at Riad al Mamoune and would recommend to others who are looking for central, good value for money and welcoming accommodation in Marrakech. The Riad is located just off the main El Fna Square, takes about 5 minutes to walk there from the square. The Riad is not accessible by car, so be prepared to walk the last bit of your journey. The owner, Manu, came to meet us so there was no problem finding the place...... It's quite tucked away! The hotel staff are very attentive and special mention must be given to Ali who works in the Riad doing a great job of welcoming guests, giving local info, arranging trips and excursions, making tea and generally keeping everything going. There are six rooms, some quite small but we stayed in elf Lila wa Lila room which is very large and has a seating area in addition to the bedroom section of the room. The bathrooms are small and rustic with plenty of hot water. Overall, the rooms are rustic and traditional. There's air conditioning, a must in the 45 degree heat of July, and safe for valuables. There are no locks on the outside of the bedroom doors, that took a bit of getting used to! Once inside the room, you can lock from the inside. Breakfast was simple but nicely done, with green tea or coffee, pancakes and freshly squeezed orange juice with eggs as an optional extra. We went on an excursion to the Atlas mountains one day which was a good trip, make sure you wear good walking shoes as does involve some climbing. We also did the hamman bath and massage which was a fun experience!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    23
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
40
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Overall I enjoyed our stay here very much except the fact that my mother who is 63 years old and has knee problem can't walk very far but the hotel is located deep in Medina (good for shopping though). Ali is a staff who met us at the meeting point and guided us to the Riad. He was very patient with my mother and took very good care of her. Other staffs are very friendly as well. We also used their city tour service. Basically, the son of the owner is a driver and showed us around.

The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. Breakfast is served on the roof top with traditional Moroccan breakfast. Roti & pancake are very good.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay. Despite the long walk, my mother was very happy there. If you do not have a problem with walking, then this is a perfect place for you. (Personally it isn't very far for me.)

Room Tip: Wifi signal on the second floor is very weak, you might need to sit down outside the room or to come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. I was met by Ali and shown to the riad through the maze of streets of the medina. He then provided me with drinks and information about Marrakech. My room was clean and comfortable and cleaned daily. There were no locks on the bedroom door but the room had a safe to keep any valuables.
Breakfast was served on the roof terrace and consisted of very nice orange juice and bread/ crepes. Eggs were available for an extra charge.
The riad is a nice pace to be but noise is carried throughout the riad so not as sound proofed as a conventional accommodation.
The riad is conveniently situated about a 5 minute walk from the main square. It is at the end of a dark alley. For people who feel a little vulnerable, this could be quite intimidating, but I found that appearances are quite deceiving in this city, and felt safe.
Wifi is available in the reception area. Alcohol can be purchased at the riad.
Overall, a good value place to stay, with Ali always on hand to give advice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Thanks to the Trip Advisor reviews, we booked to stay over Christmas at Riad Al Mamoune and couldn't have chosen a better place. It is in an excellent location, just behind the spice market. The riad is calm and tranquil, our rooms were superb, breakfast on the roof terrace was delicious and nothing was too much trouble for Ali and his assistants, who smile all the time. Manou, the owner, was very kind too, and took us on a fabulous trip into the Atlas Mountains, arranging mule riding for us, a wonderful lunch at Les Lumieres and, on the way home, mint tea and beer by the lake. An awe-inspiring trip, and Manou was such good company.
There are countless well-reviewed riads in the Medina (we have stayed in two of them) but what makes Al Mamoune really stand out is the quality of relationships. The charm, the genuine friendliness, helpfulness and politeness of the owner and his staff made us feel very special. For example, we saw Ali probably five times a day and every time he greeted us as valued friends. And when you are far away from home, it’s good to know that there is someone you can totally trust and rely upon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed 4 nights. Room was clean, bed comfortable and shower good. We were meet at the airport as they had emailed week before arrival. Being shown down souk street and alley was daunting at first but easy once there. Alli welcomed us with drinks and showed location on map. He was always around and full of advice and directions.
We enjoyed the roof top terrace and found it quiet and relaxing despite the madness nearby.
Small pool downstairs was just for show and jacuzzi in small room.
The rooms faced the central patio and we found noise echoed around it.
This riad is central near spice square and therefore no nasty smells to pass.
Nothing wrong with riad but if we were going again we would stay further out at hotel with large pool.
If you stay here take euros to pay bill. Charge 3.5 percent on cards and does not take pounds. We used atm and paid with dirham.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniondale, penna
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

just returned from a girlfriends trip to marrakech. riad al mamoune was a real gem. manu picked us up/took us back to the airport. ali gaves us many good tips about restaurants and places to visit. they along with the staff were extremely gracious and helpful. i would go back. the trip thru the souks was at first a little overwhelming, we soon learned to ignore the merchants and just keep moving. we didn't feel afraid but a few more lights in the alleys would have been nice.
we had dinner in the riad one evening, it was quite delicious as were the daily breakfasts.
i would chose a different month to visit, july is extremely hot.
if you decide to take a side trip to essouira take the bus, it's clean and cheap.

Room Tip: we stayed in the upstairs suite (nejma) it was very comfortable,toilet and bathroom are separated, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

great staff, very friendly
the place is gorgeous, quiet the only noise you can hear is the nature, even if this riad is right in the heart of the medina
You can even enjoy a relaxing jacuzzi by the end of the day, a nap on the terrasse...
I would definetely recomend this place to anyone I know!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Al Mamoune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mamoune

Address: 140 Derb Aarjane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Mamoune 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Al Mamoune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Mamoune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.