We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and lovely surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Taos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Taos to your Saves list
Casa Taos
Route de Souihla | Km 8, Marrakech 400000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 1,079 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“good food and lovely surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The staff at Casa Taos are faultless. Mohammed and Hind in the restaurant are charming, with a competent light touch and always very helpful. The chef, Tulia I think, produced the best food we had in Morocco which made us happy when we did move in to the Medina, to feel vindicated in eating all our meals at Casa Taos whilst staying there. A great place for families with children as there are gardens to roam in. The pool is still cold in mid March, but will warm up as the weather does. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable.
While the food was excellent a more expansive wine list would be nice, although I think the wine offerings all around Morocco were for the most part limited to Moroccan wine, which is expensive considering the quality.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
125
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We wanted somewhere peaceful and comfortable with good food away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, but close enough that we could still explore the city when we wanted to. Casa Taos ticked all the boxes. Hashim, Karima and their staff made us feel so welcome and looked after us beautifully throughout our stay, making recommendations, booking us taxis and being generally very friendly and hospitable. Our room was huge and incredibly comfortable with a wonderful fire place and TV with DVD player (there's a good dvd collection available alongside games and lots of English books left behind by guests). The food - huge breakfasts by the pool and three to four course dinners in the communal dining area - was the best we had throughout our time in Morocco and incredibly reasonably priced. The family atmosphere is very unpretentious, but there are lots of little touches - a heater in the bathroom, a kettle and tea bags in the room, pillows on the sun beds - that show how much thought has been given to the guest experience. The setting is also beautiful and we would highly recommend Casa Taos to anyone visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: The Botero Suite was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

First the good: the location is beautiful, the staff are courteous and the food is delicious.

The bad: works are being done on the place throughout -- new small villas are being built so there is a constant construction noise. Not what I was expecting in villa away from the din of the city. The garden is untidy -- in bad need of a good weeding and there are a number of things that need to be mended -- a large broken lamp is left lying in the grass, fountains are broken, stucco walls have holes in them and are crumbling -- the outside is not exactly the manicured lawn you see in the photos.

There was a big draft in our room from the window next to our bed. The workers came in to fix the window while I was taking a shower, but you could still feel air on the back of your neck when you were in bed. (My partner was told by the workers that the owners knew about the draft). Then there is the heating (or lack of it). We arrived late the first night and the room was ice cold. The owners knew of our arrival time and they could have prepared the room ahead of time. In the email, the owners had mentioned having some clementines and cake available in the room for our arrival. I thanked them -- thinking that this was a welcome gift. We were charged 10 euros for pork salami, cheese and the clementines and water. We did not order the pork salami (I do not eat pork) nor the cheese.

No doubt to pay for the ongoing works the staff are strongly encouraged to ask us if we will have dinner there. This question was often asked 3 or 4 times during the day. When we did have a full dinner there, the meal was expensive by Moroccan standards -- 60 euros for fish, some salads, no alcohol, no desserts and an extra 5 euros for the after dinner coffee.

When we inquired about staying an extra night, we were told (by a member of the staff) that we could pay the same rate. The owner contradicted the staff member and said that we needed to pay full price -- his price, not the discounted low season price we were currently paying. He then said that he was not bothered if we left. So we left and stayed in a 5 star hotel at half of his asking price.

The owner, Hachim, is asking 5 star hotel prices for rooms and services that are, at best 3 stars. This is the low season and we we one of only two couples staying there. With all of the construction works going on, you would think that he would have been more courteous and accommodating rather than trying to gouge Europeans out of their money. Although the staff are lovely and work very hard, I will not recommend this place.

Room: cold and drafty
Food: good but expensive for a full dinner
Service: good
Overall Value: bad value even when discounted

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Having already stayed here when we visited Marrakech a few years ago, this time we just used Casa Taos as a staging post on our trip back to Casablanca airport. Casa Taos is easy to find from the motorway as it is near a feeder road to one of the motorway exits, though about 16km from the exit.
What a great place for a stopover! Once inside the walls you are surrounded by a citrus fruit orchard. The suites are large and comfortable, the evening meal delicious and copious, the staff very welcoming and the owners charming. What more could you want?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

my son and i spent xmas at casa taos and i am extremely pleased we did-hicham karima and their staff were superb-caring attentive and always charming-after huge breakfasts we stayed by the pool basking in the warm december sun -a la carte lunches were varied and plentiful and after a bracing dip in the large pool and more reading in a hammock it was suppertime !!! as authentic as anything we ate in morocco -locally sourced vegetables fruits and spices wonderful tagines grilled fish and authentic maghreb soups
when we ventured to the medina hicham ordered taxis which we waiting for us on our return-its a painless 25 minute trip as is the airport -hassle free both ways !!
i can recommend casa taos wholeheartedly

Room Tip: all rooms are individually decorated-large comfy and tasteful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed in Casa Taos with my wife back in July 2008 and to this day it is one of the best little gems I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. Everything from the food to the setting to the service to the art was superb and I hope to go back one day xxx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I recently celebrated my 40th birthday at Casa Taos. We had exclusive use of the whole casa for me and my guests. Hicham, Karima and all the staff made us feel so welcome and were so accommodating to our needs. Our stay was so comfortable and memorable. We all had a wonderful time which is a testament to the friendly welcome and great hospitality. The quality of the meals was excellent as we chose to have dinner there for the 3 nights we stayed there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Taos

Address: Route de Souihla | Km 8, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 1,079 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 10 kms from Marrakech, set among olive threes on the souihla road, a remarkably fine residence designed in the pure Arabo-Andalusian tradition, by the architect A.Charaï, winner of the Aga Khan prize. A house with a real heart, decorated with tast. Hicham & Karima have 5 suites and 2 double rooms at your disposal, each one different and boasting every possible comfort.Exceptional breakfast, meals (Bio and excellent) upon request, Hamam, massage, airport transfers, visits and excursions, weddings... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Taos Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Taos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.