We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Taos

Save Saved
You added Casa Taos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Taos
Route de Souihla | Km 8, Marrakech 400000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 1,036 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Small but perfectly formed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

There's no getting away from it, we don't like large impersonal hotels. However, the risk you take with small, often family run enterprises is that they can be a bit quirky and standards are a bit hit and miss. This can be charming but it can also irritate.
What Hicham and Karima have achieved at Casa Taos is therefore quite remarkable. A small family run hotel that works well at every level. Stylish characterful rooms, matched by the other public spaces that are all wonderfully decorated, grounds that invite you to relax, food that was by far the best we experienced on our 10 day trip to Morocco, and service that hit the right balance between attentive and unobtrusive.
All this in what is also a family home, with children and dogs combining naturally and effortlessly with the guests, salads picked from their own vegetable garden and fruit picked from their own trees.
All in all there was a warmth and generosity created by Hicham, and Karima that will bring us back again, despite the fact that 2 hours in the Marrakech medina itself was quiet enough! There is plenty more to see and do in the surrounding area if you feel the need to get out and about. If you only want somewhere to relax for a few days, Casa Taos is your place.
Julian and Joanna

Room Tip: Try an upstairs room in winter, a ground floor one in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
122
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

After travelling for 4 days exploring the Atlas Mountains and the Sahara, we knew that we wanted a place to relax for the last couple of days of our holiday in Morocco and Casa Taos provided the perfect venue for this.

Reviewing this place it's hard to know where to start. The food lives up to its reputation and showed how delicious and varied Moroccan cuisine can be. Our room was clean and spacious and easily able to occupy 3 of us (including our teenage daughter who loved the wide screen TV!). Relaxing by the pool and in the hammocks was a great way to while away the hours, knowing that a 4 course dinner awaited us in the evening...bliss

My lasting memories will be of an intimate, friendly hotel with a 5 star service and facilities. Huge thanks to Hachim, Karim and Muhammed (and the countless other staff) for providing such a perfect conclusion to our holiday in Morocco. And thank you to all the other guests for leaving their feedback, without which we would probably never have discovered this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Have just come back from 4 nights at Casa Taos. It is a perfect place to stay. We were the only people staying there and were so well looked after. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming and helped us to organise our sight seeing and taxis in Marrakech as well so was all so easy. The food at Casa Taos is perfect, and the quantities are vast. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I had long wanted to visit Marrakech but my husband was reluctant having visited 30 years ago and not enjoying the experience. However, I finally managed to persuade him and so together with our two teenage sons we headed there at the beginning of April. As we were staying 5 nights and wanted to relax along with experiencing the hubbub of Marrakech we decided to find somewhere to stay outside of the Medina, with a pool and hopefully good food. Well, we struck gold! I found Casa Taos on the internet and all the reviews said how good the food was. And they were right! We loved Casa Taos. From the moment we arrived at 10am in the morning and were offered breakfast, in the shade overlooking the pool, with freshly cooked bread, homegrown oranges, olives, tomatos and homemade preserves we felt like we were in heaven. And the dinners were equally divine. It was quite simply the best food we ate in Marrakech and quite honestly it spoilt us for the restaurants that we visited! The owner Hitcham and all his staff were wonderful and nothing was ever too much trouble. The rooms (of which there are only 7, so it is nicely intimate) were characterful, comfortable and very clean. The pool and grounds were fabulous - literally an oasis in the desert - and the two dogs, Echo and Toffee, must also have a mention as they definitely added to the whole wonderful experience!

I rarely recommend places as it is such a responsibility - perhaps friends have different taste - but I have done nothing but recommend Casa Taos since we came back. It really was perfect, a real slice of heaven and the perfect way to visit Marrakech. And because we were able to escape from the madness of the Medina, we loved Marrakech and all had a totally fabulous time - even my husband! I just hope we can return one day soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Returned to the UK a couple of weeks ago after spending 7 perfect nights at Casa Taos. I left leaving a review of this property initially in order to be as objective as possible without the glow of satisfaction still fresh in my psyche. I still have it. This intimate property was a delight, large spacious rooms, wicked pool large enough for you to be as energetic as you desire, accommodating and gracious hosts, fantastic staff and sublime food of a rich variety. All this and beautiful grounds in which to while away your days soaking up the ever present sun, which for mid April was a very welcoming 28 - 30 degrees. The rooms have there own beautiful fireplaces which although were rarely needed could not be resisted and added to the already chilled atmosphere that permeates this great destination. At only three to four hours from the U.K I would definitely consider a few long weekends to recharge the batteries when needed. The hammocks strung between massive palm trees will always entice.

Many thanks to Hicham and your wonderful, ever present and considerate team.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicham C, Propriétaire at Casa Taos, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Mrs. and Mr. Bond,
Thank you again for choosing Casa Taos for your week holiday in Marrakech.
We are very happy that you enjoyed staying at "Casa Taos"' and we would like to thank you so much for that wonderful review ! This is very kind from you and it's give us more courage and enthusiasm to continue our adventure. It was a pleasure receiving your charming family at "Casa Taos" and you will be always more that welcome in our little Guesthouse.

Again thank you and me, Karima and all the team are looking forward to receiving such a nice family again at Casa Taos. It was really a pleasure meeting you!

All the best.

Hicham Charaï
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We arrived in Marrakech in a rain storm, although we had checked the forecast so knew we were in the very least due good weather for our weeks holiday at Casa Taos. The Moroccan weather did not disappoint from 72 to a high of 82 degrees on our last day.

Neither did Casa Taos and all the wonderful people that make it all in all a proper, family run hotel all set in a wonderful garden just 20 minutes from the hubbub of Marrakech. From the minute we arrived Hicham, the owner made us feel totally relaxed and at home - even though the rain continued.....! We arrived in time for brunch and they provided us with a mix of local and European food. The front of house team, led by Hicham, who is supported by the truly wonderful Mohammed and the ever present Hint continued to demonstrate the ethos created by the family.

We woke up on day two in glorious uninterrupted sunshine, and the sun stayed with us. Nothing was ever too much trouble, each meal felt as though we had just arrived there was nothing contrived or "fake" about the genuine desire to ensure our visit was memorable and wow was it. The ease at which everything happens provided us time to sit back, relax and enjoy this unique oasis. We had such a fabulous week, even on the day we left there was no sense of rush, even down to our check out, which was done without the mechanical process that is the large and cumbersome hotels which exist for the masses.

The kitchen provided wonderful breakfasts, with fresh croissant, local breads, delicious homemade jams and tapenade. Lunch and dinner comprised of imaginative local and international dishes all washed down with excellent local wines.

Our rooms was cleaned every day by what must have been invisible people because we never saw them, although they clearly existed as the job was executed to an incredibly high standard. It leaves me to say a big thank you to Hicham, Mohammed, Hint and the Casa Taos team. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After three nights in the hubbub of the Medina, we relocated to Casa Taos for four nights just before Easter. We were the only guests for the majority of our stay, but that did not stop Hicham and his doting staff from providing a superlative atmosphere to relax in that was centred on the best elements of Moroccan hospitality.

Casa Taos has the feel of an informal guesthouse, with Hicham and his family living on site. I have to admit that we did nothing apart from eat, sit around the pool and watch films at night – so if you are looking for a destination that can help you relax then this is the place. The surrounding orange and nectarine groves, along with the lazy chatter of songbirds were the perfect accompaniment to our break.

The food was excellent – from lovely, fresh breakfasts to delicious evening meals, all served again by the very friendly staff. Our room was vast – (Botero if I remember correctly) with a lovely fire that was stocked up with firewood each day (and used by us) – and in general we were made to feel very much at home.

No mention of Casa Taos is complete without the dogs Echo and Toffee – the former in particular is the most lovable Boxer you could ever meet.

If you want a striking contrast to the relative madness of the city, then Casa Taos is a perfect example of genuinely superb Moroccan hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Taos

Address: Route de Souihla | Km 8, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 1,036 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 10 kms from Marrakech, set among olive threes on the souihla road, a remarkably fine residence designed in the pure Arabo-Andalusian tradition, by the architect A.Charaï, winner of the Aga Khan prize. A house with a real heart, decorated with tast. Hicham & Karima have 5 suites and 2 double rooms at your disposal, each one different and boasting every possible comfort.Exceptional breakfast, meals (Bio and excellent) upon request, Hamam, massage, airport transfers, visits and excursions, weddings... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Casa Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Taos Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Taos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.