We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Oasis: you'll want to stay longer...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Taos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Taos to your Saves list
Casa Taos
Route de Souihla | Km 8, Marrakech 400000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real Oasis: you'll want to stay longer...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband chose Casa Taos as with two children we wanted space to escape to and relax in after sightseeing in Marrakesh. We had no idea what to expect, but were all enchanted by Casa Taos. As others have noted, it's a c. 20 min taxi ride from The Medina, but we enjoyed the services of the same taxi driver, summoned for us by Mohammed, throughout our stay and were able to call him when in the city to arrange pick-ups and transport back to the hotel. The hotel is essentially a walled estate, consisting of several low buildings in typical Moroccan style. The guest rooms are all in the main building, with a colourful communal lounge and a quiet, shady courtyard. There are lots of discreet corners and places to sit and read or just enjoy the peace and the weather. We had two 1st Floor rooms, adjoined by an outdoor veranda with views of the snow-capped Atlas mountains. The rooms were large, colourful, comfortable and private. The focal point of Casa Taos is the pool area, adjoined by the kitchen and dining room, with additional dining facilities outside on the patio. The pool is spotless, probably one of the cleanest I've ever seen, but unfortunately a bit too cold for me in October! The temperature does drop at night so the water is quite cool, but my children enjoyed it. The area around the pool is charming; an avenue of mature palms with hammocks, lovely comfortable sunbeds and again, ample sitting areas in both shade and sun. No fighting over sunbeds here! The grounds are extensive, the hotel was designed and the land planted by the current owner's father, so it's truly a family concern. The gardens, like everything else, are beautifully and carefully kept and much of the produce used in the kitchens in grown either within the walled gardens or in the huge orchard beyond. The citrus grove includes grapefruit, oranges, satsumas, lemons, limes and a particular lemon that is preverved and its zest used in Moroccan cooking. Additionally we saw date palms, grenadines, pecan nuts, quince, aubergines, chillis, peppers and salad leaves, all growing fresh and used in the kitchen. If you love food and are interested in trying local produce and dishes, you will not be disappointed here. We ate here every night but one, it was without doubt a highlight of our trip to Marrakesh. There is no menu per se, but every night Mohammed laid before us a selection of salads, followed by a stew, tagine, cous cous and desserts all beautifully prepared, fresh, subtly flavoured with herbs, spices and orange flower, most of the produce used grown in the hotel, which supports a staff of 13 to farm the land and care for the guests. The kitchen was also able to cater for our children, with burgers, pizza, chicken etc - although by the end of the stay they were eating Lebanese food with us!
We tried Moroccan, Syrian and Lebanese dishes and were also treated to home made cakes and the best mint tea. Snacks by the pool are served at lunchtime, drinks all day and breakfast can include fresh crepes, plenty of toast (including toasted cumin bread), home made tapenade, cream cheese, honey and fresh pressed juices - different flavours every day. There is plenty to eat and all of it is excellent. Mohammed is always there, attentive and hospitable and mealtimes were a real joy, I would go back just for the food alone! It was our habit to wander round the gardens after breakfast and supper, accompanied by Ako and Dofi, the owners' two extremely soppy dogs, although they only latch onto dog-lovers so don't worry if you are not keen! At night, the paths are often dotted with frogs and apparently hedgehogs wander around too, we enjoyed the wildflife. The owners are usually around, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The whole experience is that of staying in the beautiful country home of a Moroccan family as a special guest, enjoying wonderful hospitality discreetly provided. We all hope to return one day and it was as fine an introduction to the country, people and food as we could have hoped for.

Room Tip: The two 3-star ratings need qualifying: I'm not a good sleeper and wherever you stay in Morocco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
123
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived here after spending three days in the busy heart of Marrakesch. What we found exceeded our expectations by far. This family run Guesthouse not only offers a lovely garden and pool area to relax but also the best food we had until now in Morocco. Everything is freshly made and most of the products are from their own garden. The service is outstanding and our room (honey moon sweet) was amazing. The pool area is surrounded by a huge garden with all kind of flowers, trees and herbs. We felt like being part of the family and enjoyed our stay very much. Eco and Toffy (the 2 sweet and funny dogs) are responsible for your safety - they are doing a very good job :)

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brecon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I won't witter on too much but this is an outstanding example of the modern guest house or small hotel. A place which sets standards that all of us in this industry can aspire to. Outstanding food and an instinctive understanding of what hospitality means. Hicham is well supported by Mohammed and his team.

A few pointers though.

It is a 15 - 20 minute taxi ride into the commercial centre and to the old city. This will cost about £8 each way. This suited us perfectly but be aware that you are out of the main hubbub of the city.

You should be happy to have dogs for company. They are part of Hicham's family and you are guests in their house, so they will rightly come up to you to check you are ok. We definitely were ok.

We were in Botero which is one of the more expensive rooms. We looked at the others at the end of our stay and would still probably have chosen Botero which was beautifully done. If you can't abide showers, ensure that you ask for a room which does not have a sunken bath. They realistically take an hour or so to fill, or would have if we'd tried it.

Make the most of Hicham's knowledge of local restaurants, shops and arts. His taste is pretty immaculate and his desire to look after guests is utterly impressive.

I can't recommend Casa Taos enough and we hope to head back there with children in a year or two.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth Surrey UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Have just spent a week in Marrakech absolutely marvellous. Stayed at a Riad in the Medina then our final days at the Casa Taos. What a heavenly place quiet and peaceful. This has to be one of the most loveliest places I have ever stayed in. Our bedroom was African themed with a spacious shower and a huge bed. The pool was great although a bit cold but warmed up once you got used to it. Loved the food it was beautifully prepared and presented. We would like to thank Hirsham and Mohammed for the impeccable service and also Aiko and Toffee for their licks and waggy tale welcomes!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Me and 2 friends stayed at Casa Taos for a week in September and we weren't disappointed, it surpassed all our expectations.
Our rooms were beautifully decorated and spacious. The swimming pool is gorgeous and incredibly inviting, as are the beautifully landscaped gardens. It's quite literally a mini paradise. If you ever stay at Casa Taos please take the time to order in dinner, the food was absolutely delicious, course after course.
A big big thank you to Hicham, Karima, Mohammed & the rest of the team for making our stay absolutely perfect! Nothing was too much trouble. I cannot recommend Casa Taos highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have stayed at Casa Taos twice , once in March 2011 for 4 days and again March 2012 for a week. Both times it exceeded our expectations. Our first visit was special because we experienced the excellent service from Hisham(the owner), Mohammed and all of the team for the fist time and felt like we were welcome guests of a family. We returned the following year - expecting it to fall short - but it didn't! You will soon realise you have made an excellent decision for your stay in Marakech, the beautiful gardens as shown in many pictures, house, rooms ( wood fires for colder evenings) and pool are a haven from the hustle and bustle of the souk (a mere 10 minute drive away) - so its the best of both worlds. It also appears from our two visits that interesting and friendly guests of all ages and nationalities seem to gravitate to the place. Both times we met lovely people from many countries and shared many wonderful evening meals seated around the communal table - which makes the stay even more special. Which brings us neatly onto the food. if you are a foodie you _must_ a stay here. Hisham is a wonderful cook and supported by a wonderful team every meal (incl breakfast) turns into a feast. One tip: If you are ever looking for him for any reason the first place I would start would be the kitchen. My wife took a cookery course with him, whilst I took notes and drank beer and we both enjoyed every minute.

I really could go on and on but its already been said 100 times in other reviews.This is the first time I have ever reviewed anything on tripadvisor or any other site and reflects how highly I rate the experience.

Tim (+ Tabassum)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Botero Suite and Ousman and both were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicham C, Owner at Casa Taos, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Good morning Tim and Tabassum,
It's really nice to hear from you and we would like to thank you for your wonderful review.
You will be always more than welcome at Casa Taos Marrakech and we are looking forward to receiving you again with your baby!
Kind regards.
Hicham, Karima and all the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed at Casa Taos for 3 wonderful days. Having extensively researched where to stay in Marrakech, it was the overwhelming strength of reviews across all websites that made me pick Casa Taos. However, no review can do it justice and I would wholeheartedly recommend it. I stayed in the Hichamou suite, which was extremely comfortable and spacious.

When I booked, the owner Hicham informed me that he and his wife would be away for the first two days of my stay. In many small hotels, when the owners are away, the level of service dips but this is certainly not the case at Casa Taos. In their absence, the staff led by Mohammed, ensured that I was looked after exceptionally well. Hicham and his wife have certainly created an incredible place.

If the mark of a place is how quickly you feel relaxed and at home, then Casa Taos is one of the best spots in the world. In short, go if you can, especially in April/May when the gardens are exceptionally beautiful. If you can’t make it there, tell your loved ones, so they can enjoy it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Taos

Address: Route de Souihla | Km 8, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 10 kms from Marrakech, set among olive threes on the souihla road, a remarkably fine residence designed in the pure Arabo-Andalusian tradition, by the architect A.Charaï, winner of the Aga Khan prize. A house with a real heart, decorated with tast. Hicham & Karima have 5 suites and 2 double rooms at your disposal, each one different and boasting every possible comfort.Exceptional breakfast, meals (Bio and excellent) upon request, Hamam, massage, airport transfers, visits and excursions, weddings... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Taos Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Taos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.