We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zarka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Zarka to your Saves list
Riad Zarka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143 Derb Aarjane | Rahba Lakdima, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

We had a pleasant stay at the Riad. I would recommend that you book airport pick up. The best of the whole stay was our host Assis, who answeared all of our questions. The location is in the middle of the Souks, I got a little scared at the beginning but then when you learn your way out, there´s no problem, everybody in marrakech was very nice. Two things: 1. It´s a little expensive for what they offer: no tv, no air conditioning and poor light in the room, I was expecting marrakech to be a little less expensive than it is, prices are like in europe. And 2. Since location is in the center of the Medina, we were recommended not to leave the Riad after 10pm for security reasons, so nights were little boring. Overall it was ok.

  • Liked — The interior patio, the patio decor
  • Disliked — hotel facilities: tv, aair conditioning, lighting
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    2
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

our airport transfer did not turn up as confirmed. In fact, we received an email from the owner 2 days after our arrival to confirm our transfer! No apology offered.

Breakfast is shocking for the price - a slice of cheap brioche and OJ. On our last day, they forgot we were leaving and we ended up paying the cleaner instead of the owner. No receipt given and we left a stranded guest there whose airport transfer hadn't turned up - no surprises there!

The room was clean and comfortable - a bit small but we were hardly there. The location is close to the souqs but there was no atmosphere. It was not welcoming and we could not ask the staff for tips or anything. We never met the owner the whole time we were there - never asked if we needed anything etc.

If i were to go back, I would rather stay in a riad owned by local Moroccans probably for half the price and contribute to the locals.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of customer service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

We had a very, very nice experience at Riad Zarka (April 08) .

I would echo the advice of other reviewers that you MUST arrange to have them pick you up, as you will NEVER find it by yourself (even though getting back is easy once you know the way). When we called about this we got a French only speaker, but we then emailed in English and heard back from the proprietress and all was fine.

It is lovely. Pretty general areas. Rooms small but nice, clean, and comfortable. Conveniently located, a few minutes walk from the main square. Staff extraordinarily accommodating (though linguistically limited - not a problem for us, perhaps more for others)

Nevertheless worth noting to the negative side: the included breakfast is very modest indeed. And perhaps more seriously, though we had absolutely no problem, some may feel uneasy walking back to the Riad after the shops along the way have closed (9:30-10) - not a problem for us at all since our habit is a not too late dinner then back to the Riad for a glass of wine and to bed early enough to get up and going pretty early the next day; but perhaps more serious for someone who habitually wants to return late from the club scene or whatever.

But for us a very happy stay - we'd defintiely go there again and recommend it highly.

  • Liked — Outstandingly accommodating in every way
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

While difficult to find upon first arriving, Zarka is a gem that is nearby to the souqs and the centre of the medina. We stayed in the Green room, but every aspect of the riad that we saw maintained the same charm and flavour, and everything was decorated with both taste and comfort in mind. The staff was also very helpful and friendly. We highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

Two women travelling alone for the first time in Marrakech and can't wait to return. Riad Zarka could not have been more conveniently located. Staff extremely helpful, and breakfast brilliant. Great to sit in the courtyard in the evenings. We stayed in the blue room, which was really authentic, and the shower was lovely and the complimentary toiletries were great. We went shopping and returned with our bargains on a regular basis as Riad Zarka really is less than two minutes from the madness that is Marrakech. What a wonderful city and what a fabulous place to stay. Can't wait to bring our families back.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

We stayed at this little hotel in Feb 07 for some couple of days. The hotel, which is an authentic old riad, is very well located in the medina, very calm but close to the souk. A lot of effort has been made in decorating the court yard, roof terrace and the rooms. Our room located on the groundfloor was very small but clean and with nice pieces of furniture. We recommend.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

We enjoyed a 5 days stay in Riad Zarka, which is located right in the hard of Medina's souks near the town square Jeema-I-Fna.

The riad might be difficult to find for travellers who have just arrived in Marrakech. But we were pick-up at the airport by a staff member who guided us trough Medina's mazes. Once found it is not difficult to find it again.

We stayed in the yellow room with 3 adults and a extra single bed was arranged for us. It was very nice, and OK, since we were out most of the time, but some may find it to small for 3, if you are not a couple with child.

The staff is friendly, very helpful and available during most time of the day and evening. The included breakfast was splendid every day, with various kinds of pancakes, bread, orange juice, yoghurt and thee or a very good coffee (actually the best we found in Marrakech).

Riad Zarka's best feature however is its roof terrace with various loungy seats were we enjoyed almost al sunsets during our holiday.

I recommend Riad Zarka to anyone who wants a pleasant and relaxed stay in the hard of the crowded Medina Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zarka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zarka

Address: 143 Derb Aarjane | Rahba Lakdima, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Zarka 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Zarka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zarka Marrakech
Riad Zarka Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zarka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.