We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Close to it All” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zarka

Save Saved
You added Riad Zarka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Zarka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   143 Derb Aarjane | Rahba Lakdima, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #254 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and Close to it All”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

While difficult to find upon first arriving, Zarka is a gem that is nearby to the souqs and the centre of the medina. We stayed in the Green room, but every aspect of the riad that we saw maintained the same charm and flavour, and everything was decorated with both taste and comfort in mind. The staff was also very helpful and friendly. We highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    2
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

Two women travelling alone for the first time in Marrakech and can't wait to return. Riad Zarka could not have been more conveniently located. Staff extremely helpful, and breakfast brilliant. Great to sit in the courtyard in the evenings. We stayed in the blue room, which was really authentic, and the shower was lovely and the complimentary toiletries were great. We went shopping and returned with our bargains on a regular basis as Riad Zarka really is less than two minutes from the madness that is Marrakech. What a wonderful city and what a fabulous place to stay. Can't wait to bring our families back.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

We stayed at this little hotel in Feb 07 for some couple of days. The hotel, which is an authentic old riad, is very well located in the medina, very calm but close to the souk. A lot of effort has been made in decorating the court yard, roof terrace and the rooms. Our room located on the groundfloor was very small but clean and with nice pieces of furniture. We recommend.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

We enjoyed a 5 days stay in Riad Zarka, which is located right in the hard of Medina's souks near the town square Jeema-I-Fna.

The riad might be difficult to find for travellers who have just arrived in Marrakech. But we were pick-up at the airport by a staff member who guided us trough Medina's mazes. Once found it is not difficult to find it again.

We stayed in the yellow room with 3 adults and a extra single bed was arranged for us. It was very nice, and OK, since we were out most of the time, but some may find it to small for 3, if you are not a couple with child.

The staff is friendly, very helpful and available during most time of the day and evening. The included breakfast was splendid every day, with various kinds of pancakes, bread, orange juice, yoghurt and thee or a very good coffee (actually the best we found in Marrakech).

Riad Zarka's best feature however is its roof terrace with various loungy seats were we enjoyed almost al sunsets during our holiday.

I recommend Riad Zarka to anyone who wants a pleasant and relaxed stay in the hard of the crowded Medina Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

An absolute gem of a place to stay, 5 rooms in a delightful Riad which was renovated 2 years ago by a Morrocan born elegant french lady called Christine. It is in the heart of the souks, quiet, peaceful with absolute high octane bedlum just 2 minutes walk away. Christine is a brilliant guide on buying local produce and gives you a canny steer to the price you should pay before you start to barter with the traders.

Prices are great, food very authentic and delicious, rooms are small but extremely tastefully decorated with a high quality bathroom in each.

Beer and wine available all the time and added, reasonably, to your bill. Breakfast good and at whatever time you like.

Only hint, take advantage of the Riad's meet and greet at the airport, it would be near impossible to find on your own and you would hardly save anything attempting independence

  • Liked — Absolutely authentic in the heart of Marrakesh
  • Disliked — The bed was a little on the firm side but I still slept well!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Just came back from a lovely stay and experience in Riad Zarka. A party of two, we reserved online the blue chambre. Staff is awsome and nice, always available to help. Only 5 rooms in the riad. Is in the center of the Souks in Medina. Is a little difficult to find it by yourself, so is always good to call the Riad at your arriving, they will arrange (and pay!) a taxi for you and a nice guy will guide you in front of the door. You will need to insist on that, they can easily forget to pick up you in the airport, so... call and email them before your arrival.
Is a 2 minutes walk to the markets. Like 10 minutes walk trhough the markets to the main square. You should be at the riad before all markets close (around midnight) because then the area is very isolated. Be safe but dont be too scare for the alleys.
The riad itself has a great environment and is very nice decorated. Absolutely Clean. They have AC in all rooms. You will feel that you are out from Medina while you are inside the riad. Is great that breakfast is included. I look around other riads, and definetely the service and warming of riad zarka is in the top list.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

We stayed 3 nights here, then personally booked and paid for another night (after our return from the mountains). Owner then took another booking (maybe longer than 1 night) and disappeared - uncontactable. We arrived back from the mountains at 930 in the evening, exhausted and with no room available at the hotel. All we wanted to do was shower and rest. The alleys around the hotel are dark and it feels a unsafe to wander them late in the evening. We had to drag all our luggage for 20 minutes through these alleys to another hotel. This is just not right. DO NOT BOOK THIS RIAYD if you want to be sure of a room to stay in.

  • Disliked — Owner is dishonest. took our money then gave our booked room to another person.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Zarka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zarka

Address: 143 Derb Aarjane | Rahba Lakdima, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Zarka 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Zarka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zarka Marrakech
Riad Zarka Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zarka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.