We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous retreat of calm seconds from the heart of Marrackech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad de l'Orientale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad de l'Orientale
Save Saved
You added Riad de l'Orientale to your Saves list
8 Derb Ahmar | Quartier Laksour Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 1,064 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Jinja, null, Uganda
1 review
“A fabulous retreat of calm seconds from the heart of Marrackech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We visited Riad De L'Orientale with a large group of friends and had a wonderful weekend. The food was delicious and the staff warm and welcoming. The medina is just around the corner as is the main square where we ate many a delicious morrocan meal. - Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! We hope we'll see you again in Marrakech in the near future... Best wishes, Latifa & Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
56
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved staying here, in the middle of all the action but still quiet at night. The best was breakfast- fig jam on chapati or toast still dream about it and very friendly staff. Would def head there again if I get chance to go back to morocco.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for the comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully see you again in the future! Hugo & Latifa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Malden, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Riad De L'Orientale was recommended to us by friends of friends and we were not disappointed, a true oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech Medina.

Latifa and Zacharia made us very welcome and were very helpful.

The meals we took at the L'Orientale were beautifully presented and delicious!

The accomodation is lovely and as described.

Good value for money and very different from a hotel. I would highly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Julie - thank you for taking time to write these kind words an I am happy you had a good stay. We look forward to seeing you soon. Latifa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We came across this place as it was recommended by one of my friends who had stayed a year ago. We were warmly greeted by the staff and they were all very friendly throughout our stay. The Riad is in a great location, very close to the main square. The rooms are a good size, very clean and safe and the breakfast gave a great start to the day. High recommended and would definitely book again on my next visit.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for the comments and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully see you soon! Hugo & Latifa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

1. reasonable price
2. wifi is accessible in room (at least my room, number 3)
3. hotel staffs are really helpful (booking taxi, restaurants etc. on).
4. close to the medina ( old market), which is really easy to walk around
5. the breakfast is good and they will customize your order for free

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Manager at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - we're pleased you found us good value and hope to see you again one day. All the best, Latifa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a great stay at Riad L'Orientale! Latifa and Zacharia were fantastic, answering all of our many questions and giving good tips for getting around and seeing the city. They even procured a couple bottles of wine (not necessarily an easy feat!). The rooms (we had the top floor suite) were clean, quiet (despite proximity to Jmaa el Fna) and cozy and had airco/heating (we turned on the heating the last night - brr!). We even had our own terrace for a little sunbathing. And the whole place had an authentic Moroccan feel. We were also able to do laundry onsite - very handy when traveling for a longer period of time. We had dinner at the Riad one night and it was the best Moroccan meal of the trip - by far - do it!! There was also bottled water and offers of tea (mint or English) whenever we wanted. And we're still dreaming of those Moroccan pancakes! Don't be put off by the rather long and dark passageway leading from the square to the Riad - it's perfectly safe and adds to the atmosphere! A little oasis just minutes from the crazy chaos of Marrakech - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi Ashleigh - thanks very much for the kind words.

We hope you had a great trip. I know I'm biased, but (worryingly) I can't get enough of the pancakes too!! Hopefully we'll see you again one day.

All the best - Latifa & Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinja, Uganda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We'd been suggested this Riad by friends who had previously stayed and it turned out to be best suggestion ever! This beautiful Riad is charming, peaceful and wonderfully presented. I loved the personal service from Latifa who was attentive, caring and always full of good advice. Rooms are a good size and the roof top garden is fantastic place to absorb the sounds and sights of Morocco whilst avoiding all the chaos below. We are certainly going to re-book when we next want a weekend out of London.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad de l'Orientale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de l'Orientale

Address: 8 Derb Ahmar | Quartier Laksour Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 1,064 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad de l'Orientale is a small, family-owned riad, situated in the heart of the Medina in Marrakech. The riad, a two hundred and fifty year old Moroccan courtyard house, has been traditionally restored and has uniquely attractive rooms, all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad de l'Orientale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.