We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad de l'Orientale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad de l'Orientale
Save
You added Riad de l'Orientale to your Saves list
8 Derb Ahmar | Quartier Laksour Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #299 of 1,126 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We came across this place as it was recommended by one of my friends who had stayed a year ago. We were warmly greeted by the staff and they were all very friendly throughout our stay. The Riad is in a great location, very close to the main square. The rooms are a good size, very clean and safe and the breakfast gave a great start to the day. High recommended and would definitely book again on my next visit.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for the comments and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully see you soon! Hugo & Latifa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
60
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

1. reasonable price
2. wifi is accessible in room (at least my room, number 3)
3. hotel staffs are really helpful (booking taxi, restaurants etc. on).
4. close to the medina ( old market), which is really easy to walk around
5. the breakfast is good and they will customize your order for free

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Manager at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - we're pleased you found us good value and hope to see you again one day. All the best, Latifa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a great stay at Riad L'Orientale! Latifa and Zacharia were fantastic, answering all of our many questions and giving good tips for getting around and seeing the city. They even procured a couple bottles of wine (not necessarily an easy feat!). The rooms (we had the top floor suite) were clean, quiet (despite proximity to Jmaa el Fna) and cozy and had airco/heating (we turned on the heating the last night - brr!). We even had our own terrace for a little sunbathing. And the whole place had an authentic Moroccan feel. We were also able to do laundry onsite - very handy when traveling for a longer period of time. We had dinner at the Riad one night and it was the best Moroccan meal of the trip - by far - do it!! There was also bottled water and offers of tea (mint or English) whenever we wanted. And we're still dreaming of those Moroccan pancakes! Don't be put off by the rather long and dark passageway leading from the square to the Riad - it's perfectly safe and adds to the atmosphere! A little oasis just minutes from the crazy chaos of Marrakech - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsomershamjones, Owner at Riad de l'Orientale, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi Ashleigh - thanks very much for the kind words.

We hope you had a great trip. I know I'm biased, but (worryingly) I can't get enough of the pancakes too!! Hopefully we'll see you again one day.

All the best - Latifa & Hugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinja, Uganda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We'd been suggested this Riad by friends who had previously stayed and it turned out to be best suggestion ever! This beautiful Riad is charming, peaceful and wonderfully presented. I loved the personal service from Latifa who was attentive, caring and always full of good advice. Rooms are a good size and the roof top garden is fantastic place to absorb the sounds and sights of Morocco whilst avoiding all the chaos below. We are certainly going to re-book when we next want a weekend out of London.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

After being picked up from the airport and arriving late to the riad, the staff were extremely helpful and also provided us with our first taste of Morocco. The riad was completely tranquil and I was amazed when I realised that we were only a couple of minutes walk from the main square – which was easy to find.

The food was fantastic with breakfast being a great way to start the day. While after the 40 degree heat, dinner served in the coolness of the courtyard was perfect – with the riad serving the best tangine I had tasted. To top it off, if you just wanted to relax the roof terrace was perfect for a little sunbathing or just relaxing in the evening.

The rooms was spacious and while the temperature was hitting 40 degrees everyday while we were there, we still didn’t need to use the fan, as the room managed to remain cool. The staff were fantastic with nothing being too much hassle.

A lovely riad, topped off by exception staff and food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hairy_Barber
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We share all the previous reviews and can't fault this riad together with Latifa and also the guy who was always on night duty. They were always so caring and concerned. But let me add how close this riad is to the souks and Jaama Square - about a 1.5 minute walk but when relaxing in the courtyard or on the roof terrace you could have been a million miles away. For 18 euros per person, Latifa (and team) will cook you the most amazing Morrocan meal - the best we had during our stay. Amazing quality and the most beautiful surroundings in which to eat it. This is truly a beautiful riad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Riad de l'Orientale was the perfect getaway for our long weekend in Marrakech. We arrived in the morning having been collected from the airport and accompanied through the myriad of streets to the riad. We were then brought breakfast and helped with maps and suggestions of which sites to see by Latifa the lovely housekeeper. Our room was beautifully presented and we took full advantage of the sunny roof terrace for relaxing after a hectic visit to the souks or for having breakfast. Luckily the riad is very close to the main square in the Medina so easy to find - this is a big bonus in Marrakech considering how easy it is to get lost! The location, food, facilities and staff were second to none and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Latifa and Zaccaria were both so helpful including assisting us with bookings and directions, etc. And Mimi the cat was great company on the sun terrace! We definitely plan on visiting Marrakech again and will definitely be staying at the Riad de l'Orientale when we do.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad de l'Orientale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad de l'Orientale

Address: 8 Derb Ahmar | Quartier Laksour Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 1,126 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad de l'Orientale is a small, family-owned riad, situated in the heart of the Medina in Marrakech. The riad, a two hundred and fifty year old Moroccan courtyard house, has been traditionally restored and has uniquely attractive rooms, all with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad de l'Orientale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.