We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful oasis in middle of marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Faras

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Faras to your Saves list
Riad Al Faras
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   35 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #674 of 1,120 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“peaceful oasis in middle of marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

beautiful, quiet riad with lovely terrace. Breakfast was great. staff were so helpful and lovely! a little bit hard to find so print off a map before hand. beds were very comfy and room was perfect, shower was awesome, perfect riad!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the riad for four nights. We arranged the airport transfer offered by the riad which was a good decision as the streets of Marrakech are difficult to navigate and there is no real sign for the riad. Usef who runs al Faras was lovely. He met us on arrival and after letting us settle in, walked us to the main square (just a five min walk but very confusing for first time visitors). He was very keen to teach us the route so we didn't get lost.

The riad itself is stunning. It's a beautiful hidden treasure, with traditional Moroccan styling. The room was lovely too, very spacious and clean and very well turned out. It had working air conditioning and hot running water.

The court yard was a beautiful place to sit and relax away from the hustle and bustle of the main square. And it was always cool and shady, a great relief after the sky high temperatures of Marrakech. But for when we did want some sun, the roof terrace was a beautiful place to relax. And if we got too hot, a dip in the plunge pool was always available.

The breakfast was very simple but lovely and came with the option to have it served to you from the roof or the courtyard.
I would say it maybe could have been a little bigger, but there is a menu to choose from if you do wish to have a little extra. I never did go for anything extra, instead choosing to walk to the main square and try something there.

The price of the menu at the riad is higher than in the square and so I never ordered any of my other meals from the riad, so I cannot comment on their quality or proportion.

Usef and all the other staff were always very smiley and helpful. Usef couldn't have done more for us. His English was a little basic but certainly enough to tell us the best places to visit and how to get there. Obviously he spoke French fluently.

I was sad to leave the riad which even in 4 days had began to feel like home. Everyone was so welcoming and I had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was an amazing find. It's located minutes from the main square. The staff was extremely nice and went out of the way to make our stay extremely memorable. The riad was beautifully furnished and very clean. Rooms were very spacious. This was the ideal choice for us as we were traveling with 2 kids under 3 years and needed the extra space.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

After a long trip from UK, we arrived here quite late in the evening. We were met from our taxi and ushered through some very narrow, extremely busy and decrepit alleyways. I was getting increasingly anxious as we went deeper into the Medina, but I did not need to worry, as when at last we were ushered through a non-descript front door into the most stunning interior courtyard. Wow! Our room was basic, and very clean- just the way we like it! The staff were very helpful, kind and friendly. Breakfast was to die for..Morrocan soup, delicious bread, pancakes, jam and fruit and coffee.
This riad is a haven of peace and calm;even from the roof terrace, you can hear nothing of the hustle and bustle of the alleyways below.
What made it for me was not only the gorgeous decor but also the gentle strains of Moroccan music playing in the background.
I must also mention the lovely taxi-driver who collected us from the airport, and returned us there a couple of days later. He was a mine of information about the sights and Morocco's political situation. His comments put this complex and bewildering city into context for me.
We plan to return to Morocco, and when we do, we will certainly stay at the Riad al Faras.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very nice Riad only 5 minutes walking distance from the Jemaa El Fna. The room and the bathroom ware big and well decorated in Moroccan style. The breakfast could be served in the terrace or in the patio and was fresh and tasty.
The staff was really nice, Youssef very helpful and friendly and I especially liked to have cooking lesson with Aïcha, the cook of the Riad. Spending a day with her was one of the best experiences of my stay in Marrakech. We went to shop in the market and than spend half of the day in the kitchen preparing cous-cous and a complete Moroccan meal, having mint tea and chatting despite of my poor French.
Really recommended!
The place it is difficult to find the first time, i suggest to ask for a pick-up. I was only a little disappointed by the swimming pool which is very little and looks more like a decoration in the patio, and wi-fi connection did not work at all.

Room Tip: I liked more the rooms upstairs which have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Riad Al Faras was a perfect place for us to soak up real morocco for 2 nights and enjoy the peace and quiet after the hectic crazyness of Jaama main square!
Yousef greeted us on the main square from the arranged taxi transfer (highly reccommended), it was a very crazy 5 minute walk from the main square to the Riad and thought we would never be able to naviagte our way through the little streets on our own.

A big wooden door in a little residential road opened up into a beautiful courtyard and plunge pool welcomed by the sound of birds singing and the sun shining. Yousef was a superb host and nothing was too much trouble for him and he was always there with a smile on his face. Breakfast was also served very promptly once we were awake and in the main lounge area. Breakfast consisted of eggs, bread and jams and a bowl of fruit and moroccon tea.

We had a double room on the ground floor (first bedroom on the right as you walk in) Was spacious enough and kept clean, bathroom was quite big though we could often smell the draining system in there which was quite unpleasant but not unbearable.

The roof terrace is a nice place to escape in the evenings and watch the sunset and unwind from the noise of the main square.
The riad is perfect location as only a 5minute walk to the main square and souks - such a great experience haggling with all the locals, diving out of the way of hundreds of scooters / motorbikes and people on donkeys and horses aswell as hearing the prayer call from the mosque throughout the day and evening.

Marrakesh was a great experience, though 2 days and 2 nights was enough time to spend there.
I highly reccommend this riad, you wont be dissapointed! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

After booking 3 nights at Riad al Faras through hostelworld, we were immediately contacted by Anne marie via email, she was really helpful and even helped us book an overnight trip to Zagora, finding us a cheaper option when the private tour was beyond our budget. Definitely get an airport transfer or arrange to meet Youssef by the square as it isn't easy to find first time.

The riad was beautiful, clean and a wonderful escape from the noise and intensity of the city. Yousef was very friendly and helpful, answering questions and marking things on our map. Breakfast was served whenever we appeared in the downstairs lounge area and the roof terrace was a wonderful place to watch the sunset.

We liked Al Faras so much we asked to stay there again for one night when we returned from our trek. There wasn't a double available but the twin on the first floor was great. My only complaint with the hostel was that we did find a dead roach in the room when we arrived and another scuttled across my face (!!) in the night. I think this was mostly just very poor luck as the riad was otherwise very clean and well kept.

Al faras became our home from home in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Al Faras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Faras

Address: 35 Derb Boutouil | Kennaria, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #674 of 1,120 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Faras 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Faras This traditional Moroccan house is located close to famous Jamaâ El Fna Square (five minutes walking), in the heart of the medina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Al Faras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Faras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.