We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at this beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bayti Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Bayti Marrakech to your Saves list
Riad Bayti Marrakech
35 Derb Saka, Bab Mellah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
1 review
“Great stay at this beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I had an amazing time in that hotel, it's well placed in Marrakech, close to numerous buildings and in a really peaceful neighborhood !

The new owners and manager will taking amazing care of you. I recommend this place to anyone who wants to feel at home away in this great environment

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean christophe C, Propriétaire at Riad Bayti Marrakech, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
The team will be happy Riad to see that you had a great stay at the riad with your friend
I hope you enjoy Marrakech and its surroundings with all the tours you have been offered
Greetings and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    42
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
98
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Riad Bayti is without doubt one of the nicest places I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.

The decor is tasteful and the rooms well appointed, the staff could not be more helpful and will happily assist you in any way they can, you do not feel overwhelmed or intruded upon at all. It is peaceful and relaxing.

The location is excellent, just a 10 minute walk from the main square with some great funky bars very near by for younger couples. You cannot fail to have a wonderful time here. The walk through the spice market is literally one minute long, if you go at a snails pace so location could not be better.

The Riad has recently been brought by a very nice French gentleman who has great plans for it, it all sounds very exciting and we cannot wait to come back here to see the changes!

Stay at this wonderful place an you will not be disappointed!!!! Guarenteed!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIEGOLASOU, Propriétaire at Riad Bayti Marrakech, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for visiting and hope to see you soon in our facility to see the improvements and the work we do
Best regards
Jean christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have stayed in this Riad a number of times. I keep going back, it is the most tranquil, peaceful, place I have stayed. It is so tranquil with the splash pool and the standard is so consistent through the 4 years that I have stayed here. I will be back next month. The staff are all fantastic and the French couple that run it are full of knowledge. I'm in love. Please stay in this Riad when you come to Marrakech, there is no other like this.

Room Tip: I have stayed in many rooms, they are all sound proof with A/C so don't ever worry about the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The location of the riad is interesting and convenient - within the old city, near significant sights such as Bahia Palace, but within the Mellah, the old Jewish quarters which we didn't know. It was great to discover a different part of the medina and the spice souks nearby made each journey in or out a delight for the senses.

We stayed in the Junior Suite, a stunning room with a high ceiling that was intricately and beautifully painted. After days of travelling in the South of Morocco, we were looking forward to a bit of luxury and a bath. Unfortunately there wasn't enough hot water available to fill a quarter of the bath or indeed take a shower hot all the way through. Staff promised to have the problem fixed but it was just all words and nothing was done. Also the wi-fi worked only in the library (very weak signal), which was another disappointment. On the day we left, we finally met the owner who was very nice and offered us a discount for the inconvenience which was fair enough as we've stayed in places at a fraction of the price of this one which had those basics sorted out.

All in all worth a stay, just make sure you have hot water!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The riad is decorated beautifully with some lovely touches throughout and candlelit lanterns laid out at night. There are a range of different communal areas with comfortable seating – we spent lots of time relaxing on the roof terrace. Coming back to the riad after a hot day’s shopping and sightseeing was wonderful – it felt like a relaxing and calm haven. Our suite on the top floor was spacious, with a large bathroom and good air conditioning. We had dinner here one evening on the terrace and this was very nice, especially the lemon tart for dessert! The location of is also excellent as although it is in one of the tiny traditional alleyways in the Medina, it is not too difficult to find as it near to a busy square. We walked pretty much everywhere as it is close to the major attractions including the main square and the souks.

The ladies working in the riad only spoke very basic English, but if you speak a bit of French you’ll be fine. The service was ok but we did find that the staff weren’t particularly forthcoming. For example, we often had to seek them out in the kitchen to ask for things like breakfast or afternoon tea which were included in the room rate, and they made us feel a bit awkward for doing this. The many people we met in Marrakech outside of the riad were all extremely friendly and welcoming, and so the contrast with the riad staff was a bit strange. We suspect that the owners were away during our stay, which may have been the reason, or it may have been just down to cultural differences and misplaced expectations on our part of service in a riad. Either way it didn’t detract from our stay, and we would recommend Riad Bayti as an excellent choice for a riad in the Medina.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Good: The riad is lovely - just lovely. It feels very spacious and quite, even though you are very close to the action of Marrakech. Rooms are clean, large, and very tastefully decorated. There are several public spaces that are very welcoming and relaxing- perfect for families with kids or couples. There is a terrace where you can take breakfast or tea. Not a killer view, but a nice space nonetheless.

Great: The little pool! There is a good sized plunge pool in the open courtyard - perfect for hot Marrakech days. Parking is VERY close and access to the Riad is easy. Many Riads in the medina require a long trek through crowded streets, which is fun sometimes, but not convenient. Conversely, many Riads outside the Medina on main roads are expensive and charmless. Riad Bayti manages to offer both charm and convenience.

Amazing: Customer service! We were personally greeted at breakfast by the owner and he helped us make massage reservations for later that day. But most of all, when I accidently booked the wrong weekend (arg!) and just didn't show up, they graciously moved our reservation to the next weekend and didn't charge us a thing - even though they would have been within their rights to do so.

I would go back to Riad Bayti for a romantic weekend with my husband in a heartbeat, but we are also planning on taking his parents there when they come to town. I kind of can't believe this isn't higher rated on tripadvisor.... Great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We arrived at Riad Bayti at short notice after changing our travel plans and were given an exceptionally warm welcome by the owner. This Riad is nothing short of beautiful. It is simple, clean, homely, full of character and charm - the perfect haven in the heart of Marrakesh and an antidote to the hustle and bustle of the city.

Set off of the main road, on a narrow street, you need to ask a local shop owner where the Riad is and for a small token he will take you direct to the door. You will need to be able to carry your luggage as cars cannot get especially close to the entrance but the benefit of this is that the only traffic passing by are scooters and bikes.

Once inside, it is impossible to not feel relaxed. The decor is understated and stylish - it is a welcoming combination that makes you feel immediately at home.

Our room was simple but stunning - there is real thought and care in the details. The colour scheme was sumptuous, the furniture beautifully hand carved, the pillows and bedding were incredibly cosy, there are robes hanging in the bathroom, and the rooms are cleaned and made impeccably each day. The women working in the Riad are very attentive and eager to please - on the first day, after checking in, we showered and went out to explore and returned early evening to fresh towels in our bathroom. A small touch that said an awful lot about how much they wanted to make our stay a real treat.

Breakfast is served on the roof terrace - whilst the weather was not brilliantly hot for our stay, this was a lovely way to start the day, and I can only imagine how wonderful this space must be when the sun really comes out.

Each evening, the Riad is lit with carefully selected lamps, lanterns and candles - it's a very beautiful sight and an absolute pleasure to return to.

Riad Bayti is located in the Jewish quarter, a short walk to the main square and souks, but with a number of good restaurants and cafes very close by.

I would very happily and highly recommend this Riad to friends and family and look forward to making a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bayti Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bayti Marrakech

Address: 35 Derb Saka, Bab Mellah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Bayti Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bayti Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bayti Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.