We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chorfa

Save Saved
You added Riad Chorfa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Chorfa
6, Derb Chorfa El kebir - Mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a great stay at the Riad Chorfa. This place is beautiful. The staff were all really friendly and very helpful. Our room was excellent and spotlessly clean. We booked a traditional chicken tagine one evening which was the perfect way to spend a night away from Djemma El Fna. We also enjoyed the local red wine which was very reasonably priced. All in all, excellent value for money and highly recommended.We really had no complaints!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    21
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a great stay here in mid-June 2012.

The Staff: could not have been more friendly and helpful. My airline lost my luggage & the team at the Riad made numerous calls on my behalf to try and retrieve it. They were also very helpful on day trips out of Marrakech.

The Room: our room on the top floor was clean, spacious, had air con & direct access to the roof. More than anything, the decor was, as expected of any Riad, in traditional Moroccan style & you could not have been anywhere else in the world. Why come to Marrakech & stay in a sterile hotel room where it feels like any other hotel room around the world.

The Food: on half-board, we had breakfast every morning & it was excellent & at a time of our convenience. We ate in one night & the food was really excellent. Highly recommended.

The facilities: a roof terrace with a view over the hubbub of Marrakech old town, this proved perfect for any sun-bathing needs in the privacy of the Riad. The main courtyard on the ground floor is extraordinary: an orange tree, birds galore, three tortoises & a very peaceful atmosphere, all accompanied by the brilliant Moroccan decor.

The location: an 8 minute walk north of the main square. Down a very quiet, peaceful side alley - you would never know it was there. 1 minute walk from the bureau de change & the souks. Brilliant location.

Generally: just do it. It's ace.

Room Tip: Pick the room on the top floor. The one straight in front of you at the top of the stairs, not the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in June 2012. Riad Chorfa is a beautiful, atmospheric riad decorated in high Moroccan style with vibrant colours. The courtyard is a cool, peaceful haven and includes three pet tortoises.

We stayed in room Inshallah which was very cool in the extreme Marrakesh heat. The riad was very clean & the breakfasts were of good quality.

The riad is very centrally located & is close to Djemma El Fna.

There is efficient & free wifi.

I organised our stay via Internet from West Africa (including an airport pick up for one party). Hannane was very efficient with these arrangements & it all went smoothly.

I would recommend this riad.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Not one complaint. It was clean, beautiful, and friendly/helpful staff. Seemed a better value than some other places. Breakfast was not the best but very passable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This lovely Riad, run by Hananne, was our home for a week in feb 2012. The beautiful courtyard is traditionally decorated an a lovely place to start the day with a generous breakfast. The rooms were clean, comfortable and cosy, with local artefacts for added interest. There is free wi-fi and Internet, handy for selecting eateries and weather. A local woman comes to cook in the evening, if you want home style , good quality Moroccan food without the hassle and hustle. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There's a wonderful roof terrace with views of the mountains and minarets, lovely at sunset. Come here for a relaxing and authentic experience.

Room Tip: Room 4 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

would really recommend this riad for a short stay. It gives a lovely authentic truly morrocan experience. It is not pristine but we didnt expect it to be. Having stayed in other north african countries we were impressed with higher standard here. What on earth did the person booking into the club med to get away from noise expect .Yes the calls to prayer were at five thirty am but only lasted a minute or so and it is a muslim country.
We had a suite which was very comfortable with plenty of extra blankets if cold. They also provided a heater to use . The plumbing was good with lots of hot water. Lovely decor throughout although I would say you need to be fairly intimate with your room mate as there are no actual doors on the bathroom just a mosaic barrier .
The courtyard is very pretty with orange trees and tortoises around. It is open to the air however and very chilly when we were there.
Breakfast was a selection of breads and pastries with freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee and we were always served on the roof terrace which was a beautiful start to each day.
Staff are very pleasant and more than helpful .Useful if you can speak some french.
definitely would recommend this riad and its location. 5 mins walk to main square and did not appear at all unsafe despite it being in small unlit alley.

Room Tip: lotts of stairs to some rooms but ground floor rooms availabel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Having booked this Riad before reading Tripadvisor I was slightly apprehensive as some of the earlier reviews seemed quite poor. However, in my view they are very unfair. We arrived tired after our journey and were greeted with traditional Morroccan mint tea and snacks served in the courtyard, which was beautifully lit with traditional lanterns sparkling on to the mosaic pool. We were not rushed, were shown to our rooms when we were ready and they were magnificent, traditionally decorated and with original artwork (this was a feature throughout the building)/ We slept well as the aircon was very quiet and unobtrusive, woken briefly at sunrise by the call to prayer from the mosque - fabulous. The suites were very clean and the towels changed daily, beds were made daily. Breakfast was traditional Moroccan and mainly sweet. We didn't eat dinner in the riad as we went out into the square at night but reports from fellow travellers were excellent. Wine and beer can be purchased in the riad and is very reasonably priced compared with other hotels. It is 5 minutes walk to the souks and the main square and is very atmospheric. The staff are super; quiet and reserved but very pleasant and efficient. The rooftop terrace is lovely and sitting up there with a book and glass of wine with olives in the late afternoon sun, looking over the snow capped Atlas mountains and listening to the calls from the mosques is an experience not to be missed. Apparently some guests had complained that the call to prayer was 'too loud' - these really are the sort of folk who should stay in a Premier Inn. However, if you really want to immerse yourself in the real Marrakech then this is for you.

Room Tip: Any - they are all different but equally as lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Quiet, Romantic...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Riad Hidden
Riad Hidden
#167 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Boutique, Quiet...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#135 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Nomades
Riad Nomades
#225 of 1,040 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Riad Moullaoud
Riad Moullaoud
#417 of 1,040 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Domaine Tarik
Domaine Tarik
#562 of 1,040 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Luxury, Romanti...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Riad Ambre et Epices
Riad Ambre et Epices
#111 of 1,040 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chorfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chorfa

Address: 6, Derb Chorfa El kebir - Mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#155 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Riad Chorfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chorfa Marrakech
Riad Chorfa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chorfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.