We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic and recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chorfa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chorfa to your Saves list
Riad Chorfa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, Derb Chorfa El kebir - Mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
bournemouth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“authentic and recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

would really recommend this riad for a short stay. It gives a lovely authentic truly morrocan experience. It is not pristine but we didnt expect it to be. Having stayed in other north african countries we were impressed with higher standard here. What on earth did the person booking into the club med to get away from noise expect .Yes the calls to prayer were at five thirty am but only lasted a minute or so and it is a muslim country.
We had a suite which was very comfortable with plenty of extra blankets if cold. They also provided a heater to use . The plumbing was good with lots of hot water. Lovely decor throughout although I would say you need to be fairly intimate with your room mate as there are no actual doors on the bathroom just a mosaic barrier .
The courtyard is very pretty with orange trees and tortoises around. It is open to the air however and very chilly when we were there.
Breakfast was a selection of breads and pastries with freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee and we were always served on the roof terrace which was a beautiful start to each day.
Staff are very pleasant and more than helpful .Useful if you can speak some french.
definitely would recommend this riad and its location. 5 mins walk to main square and did not appear at all unsafe despite it being in small unlit alley.

Room Tip: lotts of stairs to some rooms but ground floor rooms availabel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    24
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
33
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Having booked this Riad before reading Tripadvisor I was slightly apprehensive as some of the earlier reviews seemed quite poor. However, in my view they are very unfair. We arrived tired after our journey and were greeted with traditional Morroccan mint tea and snacks served in the courtyard, which was beautifully lit with traditional lanterns sparkling on to the mosaic pool. We were not rushed, were shown to our rooms when we were ready and they were magnificent, traditionally decorated and with original artwork (this was a feature throughout the building)/ We slept well as the aircon was very quiet and unobtrusive, woken briefly at sunrise by the call to prayer from the mosque - fabulous. The suites were very clean and the towels changed daily, beds were made daily. Breakfast was traditional Moroccan and mainly sweet. We didn't eat dinner in the riad as we went out into the square at night but reports from fellow travellers were excellent. Wine and beer can be purchased in the riad and is very reasonably priced compared with other hotels. It is 5 minutes walk to the souks and the main square and is very atmospheric. The staff are super; quiet and reserved but very pleasant and efficient. The rooftop terrace is lovely and sitting up there with a book and glass of wine with olives in the late afternoon sun, looking over the snow capped Atlas mountains and listening to the calls from the mosques is an experience not to be missed. Apparently some guests had complained that the call to prayer was 'too loud' - these really are the sort of folk who should stay in a Premier Inn. However, if you really want to immerse yourself in the real Marrakech then this is for you.

Room Tip: Any - they are all different but equally as lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I've visited Marrakech twice before so knew that a riad that is easy to find after a day out, and also not too far from food and taxis is a useful choice. I booked this through a budget airline so was slightly apprehensive (particularly after seeing the reviews about the dirtiness) but it was a great place to stay, and the negative reviews proved wrong.

Like most riads, it's not the easiest to find on your own, so it's worth paying the riad to arrange a pickup transfer (150 dirham plus 20d for the cart) to take you there on arrival from the airport. After that it's just 5 minutes walk to the main square, or 5 minutes the other way to a taxi point. We were with children and shared their largest room with a double and 2 singles on 2 levels, which was useful for being able to have our lights on after the kids were asleep.

The staff were helpful, though aside from Hanane, spoke mainly French. The room, towels, sheets etc were all clean and the room cleaned daily. The owner is an architect so there is some great art and quirky building innovations in the riad. We paid them for dinner on the first night (of four we stayed there) as we had had an early start and it was delicious homestyle cooking, 150d for 3 courses (1/ price for the kids).

The roof terrace is a great place to relax at sunset and listen to the mosques' call to prayer, and if you haven't got your own drinks, they can sell you wine or softdrinks. Unlike another reviewer, we barely heard the 6am morning call to prayer - I woke one morning of four and the other 3 slept through them all.

Riads are old, traditional homes and require ongoing maintenance so occasionally things don't work like in your own country - if you want a "perfect" hotel room with no glitches, then stay at a chain hotel outside of the Medina. If you want something local and atmospheric in a handy location (if you get lost walking back through the souks, ask for the well known Mosque Mouassine which is nearby), this is a good, well priced option.

Room Tip: Downstairs will be quieter from the mosque if you are a light sleeper, but colder in winter/cooler i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Been here for the weekend from 13 till 15 of January. The Riad Chorfa is owned by French and was renewed in 2002. The manager Hanane is very friendly and speaks good English. Has 12 rooms and terrace. In winther it is very cold in medina, so please take the slippers, socks and sweater with you. The most amazing thing is the terrace with the panoramic view on the Marrakech, recommend you to spend as much time there as possible. In the evening in winter please ask to make the fireplace in your room work. It will make your stay even more romantic. We had a home made Marrocan dinner snd breakfast, which was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Staff great but overall this is a very tired looking Riad in need of a complete refurb. Roof terrace - rusty chairs, filfthy cushions - lots of things broken - rooms had lightbulbs not working and never replaced. Evening meal was expensive and not worth it.

Marrakech - we ended up booking in for the day into the Club Med for the day just to get away from the heat and noise - £28 with towels, all you could eat - absolutely fab food - and all you could drink - including fresh, very good bottle of wine at lunch.

Souks - the prices were way over the top in a lot of the souks - managed to find some items at a really good price with no haggling - only to ask further down the alley and they were five times the price! Got fed up with the haggling when going after a light - the final price was £22 and we found one almost identical in TK Maxx over here for £13.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Paid a fortune for a suite but was a disgrace!! Looks as though it hadn't been cleaned for months! Dirty bed linen and generally a filthy room! Never again! Wouldn't appreciate this in any country and especially with the prices they charge!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here while travelling around Morrocco on our first and last night and our room hadnt been cleaned in between. Very basic and not what had been described to us when booking.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Chorfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chorfa

Address: 6, Derb Chorfa El kebir - Mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#194 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chorfa 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Chorfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chorfa Marrakech
Riad Chorfa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chorfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.