We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but looked very tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chorfa

Save Saved
You added Riad Chorfa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Chorfa
6, Derb Chorfa El kebir - Mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Ok but looked very tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Staff great but overall this is a very tired looking Riad in need of a complete refurb. Roof terrace - rusty chairs, filfthy cushions - lots of things broken - rooms had lightbulbs not working and never replaced. Evening meal was expensive and not worth it.

Marrakech - we ended up booking in for the day into the Club Med for the day just to get away from the heat and noise - £28 with towels, all you could eat - absolutely fab food - and all you could drink - including fresh, very good bottle of wine at lunch.

Souks - the prices were way over the top in a lot of the souks - managed to find some items at a really good price with no haggling - only to ask further down the alley and they were five times the price! Got fed up with the haggling when going after a light - the final price was £22 and we found one almost identical in TK Maxx over here for £13.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    21
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011 via mobile

Paid a fortune for a suite but was a disgrace!! Looks as though it hadn't been cleaned for months! Dirty bed linen and generally a filthy room! Never again! Wouldn't appreciate this in any country and especially with the prices they charge!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here while travelling around Morrocco on our first and last night and our room hadnt been cleaned in between. Very basic and not what had been described to us when booking.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This ryad was part of our travel package so we didn't know what to expect. We took a petit taxi from the train station to Mouassine mosque (30 dirhams for 2p plus luggage). We were dropped off near the mosque where we paid 20 dirhams to a man with a cart to bring us to the ryad, because we didn't want to get lost in the medina. There are no signs along the way to indicate the location of the ryad, so our decision turned out to be a good one. The souks is located around the corner and it's a 10min walk to the Djemaa square.
The ryad was nicely decorated with a big courtyard that had birds and turtoises. Our room was spacious and clean with airco and an ensuite bathroom with plenty of towels. We chose to have dinner at the ryad (3-course meal for 150 dirhams) because it was our last night before flying home and we had seen plenty of Marrakech already. We rated our dinner to be excellent, with our culinary knowledge of being in Morocco for the past 3 weeks where we were spoilt for choice.
We were due to leave at 7am the next day, so the ryad prepared a breakfast to go (oj, bread, pancake, cake, butter and plastic knife). The ryad also arranged for a petit taxi to pick us up in the morning, so we didn't have to hail one on the street. Excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed 2 nights on arriving in Marrakech. Arrived in the middle of the night, but were nevertheless welcomed very friendly and offered a drink. Breakfast was good. The location, decoration and interior perfect. After having travelled to the south we returned once more to the same Riad and really looked forward to it. We got other rooms, but they were beautiful too. It makes a difference which type of room you have, I guess, one is bigger than the other. The rooftop view (snow on the Atlas) was great. The muezzin surely woke us up, but seeing the huge amount of mosques you can't miss that and certainly not blame the riad for it. I would surely go back there, it's a little gem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I stayed at the Riad with my wife and 3 kids, we were made to feel very welcome the minute we arrived. The staff are lovely and very helpful and always offered us tea when we arrived back at the Riad after a long day in the Souks. My kids particularly enjoyed the 3 tortoise in the Riad and of course the internet access! Breakfast was pleasant with a nice variety each day. The Riad is in a brilliant location only a 4 min walk to the main square Jemaa Al Fenaa. Would defo go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

This was our first trip to Marrakech and we couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay. The staff greeted us warmly and we were shown to our rooms immediately. The riad was beautifully decorated and restored to its original grandeur and our rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. We were travelling with our daughter and family which included a 17 month old child. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and let us use their fridge for extra milk and food for the little one. The manager was very friendly and gave us lots of information on what to see in the medina. The location was perfect and so close to everything we wanted to see. It was very easy to find our way back each day and night.....not at all complicated. We enjoyed our breakfast every morning in the sitting area in the courtyard watching the resident turtle make his way around much to the delight of our grandson. The view from the rooftop terrace was breathtaking and a welcome respite after a day in the markets. As for the call to prayer..it wasn't intrusive and it is Morocco! It only added to our experience. When it was time to leave, Hanane arranged for our bags to be picked up on time and a taxi to take us to our next location. We had no complaints whatsoever and would highly recommend Riad Chorfa to singles, couples or families. We would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chorfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chorfa

Address: 6, Derb Chorfa El kebir - Mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Chorfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chorfa Marrakech
Riad Chorfa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chorfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.