We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chorfa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chorfa to your Saves list
Riad Chorfa
6, Derb Chorfa El kebir - Mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This ryad was part of our travel package so we didn't know what to expect. We took a petit taxi from the train station to Mouassine mosque (30 dirhams for 2p plus luggage). We were dropped off near the mosque where we paid 20 dirhams to a man with a cart to bring us to the ryad, because we didn't want to get lost in the medina. There are no signs along the way to indicate the location of the ryad, so our decision turned out to be a good one. The souks is located around the corner and it's a 10min walk to the Djemaa square.
The ryad was nicely decorated with a big courtyard that had birds and turtoises. Our room was spacious and clean with airco and an ensuite bathroom with plenty of towels. We chose to have dinner at the ryad (3-course meal for 150 dirhams) because it was our last night before flying home and we had seen plenty of Marrakech already. We rated our dinner to be excellent, with our culinary knowledge of being in Morocco for the past 3 weeks where we were spoilt for choice.
We were due to leave at 7am the next day, so the ryad prepared a breakfast to go (oj, bread, pancake, cake, butter and plastic knife). The ryad also arranged for a petit taxi to pick us up in the morning, so we didn't have to hail one on the street. Excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    22
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed 2 nights on arriving in Marrakech. Arrived in the middle of the night, but were nevertheless welcomed very friendly and offered a drink. Breakfast was good. The location, decoration and interior perfect. After having travelled to the south we returned once more to the same Riad and really looked forward to it. We got other rooms, but they were beautiful too. It makes a difference which type of room you have, I guess, one is bigger than the other. The rooftop view (snow on the Atlas) was great. The muezzin surely woke us up, but seeing the huge amount of mosques you can't miss that and certainly not blame the riad for it. I would surely go back there, it's a little gem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I stayed at the Riad with my wife and 3 kids, we were made to feel very welcome the minute we arrived. The staff are lovely and very helpful and always offered us tea when we arrived back at the Riad after a long day in the Souks. My kids particularly enjoyed the 3 tortoise in the Riad and of course the internet access! Breakfast was pleasant with a nice variety each day. The Riad is in a brilliant location only a 4 min walk to the main square Jemaa Al Fenaa. Would defo go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

This was our first trip to Marrakech and we couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay. The staff greeted us warmly and we were shown to our rooms immediately. The riad was beautifully decorated and restored to its original grandeur and our rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. We were travelling with our daughter and family which included a 17 month old child. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and let us use their fridge for extra milk and food for the little one. The manager was very friendly and gave us lots of information on what to see in the medina. The location was perfect and so close to everything we wanted to see. It was very easy to find our way back each day and night.....not at all complicated. We enjoyed our breakfast every morning in the sitting area in the courtyard watching the resident turtle make his way around much to the delight of our grandson. The view from the rooftop terrace was breathtaking and a welcome respite after a day in the markets. As for the call to prayer..it wasn't intrusive and it is Morocco! It only added to our experience. When it was time to leave, Hanane arranged for our bags to be picked up on time and a taxi to take us to our next location. We had no complaints whatsoever and would highly recommend Riad Chorfa to singles, couples or families. We would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

This Riad was beautiful. Granted this was our first trip to Marrakech and our first stay in a Riad so we had nothing to compare it to. Our adventure began at the airport and continued via taxi to the city walls, then a hurried race through the streets to the Riad. We were thinking OMG what are we getting ourselves into? Then the doors to the Riad opened and we were so relieved to see such a beautiful and quite space.
The staff was very helpful, the rooms were very large and grand. We always had food available, got great advise from the staff and in general were sorry to leave 4 days later for a train ride to Fez. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Of the 3 riads I visited in Morocco, this was by far the worst. First off, I enjoy the refurbishing and attention to decorating of the good riads, and Riad Chorfa seemed to be refurbished quick and cheap - a definite cut below in terms of the decorative details. Others have done this MUCH better, but Chorfa just seemed tacky and chinzty in its decoration. No biggy, but.... the rest was perhaps just my bad luck: first room, the air conditioning didn't work. Second room, the floor was literally covered and crawling with ants. Third room, the air condition began raining water down right above the bed around midnight, such that I was afraid to use it the rest of the night. Hot and miserable, and there was not even a simple fan available as replacement. Next morning, their pre-arranged, pre-paid and overpriced (15 Euros) ride to the airport never showed up. So I paid extra for another taxi, available anyway right out on the main drag. I mentioned this problem in a followup email to the host. She had been very responsive pre-visit, but now that I am gone forever, not a peep from her. I hope she donates that 15 Euros to someone needy!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brugge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Hello,
I travel several times a year to Marrakech, I tried alot of Riads and hotels, and I always come to the conclusion that it is the best place to stay for your money
The rooms are very big and very nice and I don't know about other travelers but when you want your towels to be changed, the rules in hotels is, put them on the ground so the staff knows you need a new one !
You may ask everything at the staff, nothing is to much ! II always stay for a long period so I know what I'm talking about. I read in comments that people are not happy to hear the prayers at 5am, if you cannot stand that,dont go to Morocco !
Big hugs for the whole staff and the owner ! Erika from Brugge, Belgium !

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chorfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chorfa

Address: 6, Derb Chorfa El kebir - Mouassine - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#145 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#184 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Chorfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chorfa Marrakech
Riad Chorfa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chorfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.