We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful rooms, lacking personal touch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Maia

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Maia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar Maia
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   31 Derb Zouina | riad zitoune Jdid- medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #311 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful rooms, lacking personal touch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I arrived in Marrakech after some very tranquil time spent in Imlil. Suffice it to say, Marrakech is the polar opposite of Imlil. We arrived later in the evening. We were dropped off by our driver from a tour company we had hired to take us through the mountains. There was an issue with the parking people wanting to carry our bags and get paid and sadly when we arrived at Dar Maia (a little bit difficult to find) our driver didn't know exactly where it was because no one answered the phone at the dar. We needed change for the porters and no one had, and our hostess at the dar only spoke French and Arabic (the two languages I don't speak). She quickly got Lolita on her cell phone for me to ask some questions (the owners, Alex and Lolita were not at the dar on a regular basis while we were there). Lolita explained that someone else would be at the dar shortly, luckily he spoke Spanish and we were able to find out a restaurant to go to and he helped us find our way to Djemaa el Fna. He was very helpful.

The next morning we had breakfast on the rooftop terrace which was lovely. Alex and Lolita arrived a little bit late and thus we got started our day later than we had hoped (given that we were sampling the entire country of Morocco we had limited time in each place we visited). They assisted us with getting our bus tickets to go to Agadir and told us about the spa they use for traditional hammams. We decided to go with their recommendation. Alex had told me that he would arrange a time, but never left word for me whether or not it was booked. The hostess' cell phone battery was charging and so she couldn't call Lolita to verify until it was charged, and was making our breakfast 10 minutes before we were supposed to be at our hammam. Once she verified with Alex she walked us to the hammam for our reservation and it was closed. We had to walk back to the dar and get in touch with Alex to find out who to contact about our appointment so we could find somewhere else to go if need be before we left for Agadir. 20 minutes later the spa opened and we had our hammam.

We went with Alex's recommendation for this hammam after he explained to us that because he works with them so closely his guests for certain will get exactly what they pay for. I think you should do your research and find a different hammam - there are literally thousands to choose from in Marrakech. The girls at ours were talking on their cell phones and texting - it was unprofessional to a degree and there was a monstrous cockroach climbing up the wall in the hammam room while my husband and I were in there.

Our room however - the turquoise room (Salma I believe) was beautiful. The turquoise room has such beautiful color.

The contact that we had with Lolita before we arrived in Marrakech was great. Her and Alex gave my husband and I their cell phone numbers and advised us to get a phone card and we could call them ourselves if we needed anything.

The location of the dar was fabulous - very close to Djemaa el Fna and the rest of the medina but far enough away that you don't hear the noise of the plaza.

To be fair and honest, I don't believe that our experience was the "norm" for Riad Dar Maia, it was just unfortunately our experience . . . timing can be everything . . . and French, next time we should brush up on our French. Just look at the other reviews . . . they are very contrasting to ours . . but it can happen.

Room Tip: Rooms above the ground level are best for reduced noise. We loved the turquoise room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    35
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
103
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed for four nights at Dar Maia in January and would definitely recommend it. The hosts Alex and Lolita were welcoming, friendly and helpful, as were all the staff. I felt like part of the family and it was extremely relaxing, very clean and well kept with simple but lovely furnishings.
I enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace, and you can relax there at night and listen to the bustle of the city and the sounds of the call to prayer from nearby minarets.
There was opportunity to book some excursions and I went to one at Cascades de ouzoud, which was a wonderful day out.
I brought a few extra pyjama layers as it can be cold in January!

Room Tip: It might be nice to stay in the very top room (I was on the ground floor near the entrance) which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Dar Maia has a great location close to the Djemma al Finna but just far enough away to be out of the craziness and noise. It is small and cozy with a beautiful terrace that is nice for enjoying breakfast or just looking out over the city. The owners and employees are all very sweet and helpful and were always happy to help us with whatever we needed. The rooms are simple but nice and the whole place is very clean and well kept. My friends and I stayed four days here and would definitely stay again.

Thanks Alex!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I arrived on very short notice and in peak season, but Alex was extremely helpful, even finding me accommodation nearby, when their Riad was full. He helped plan a perfect adventure in Morocco, suggesting Trips and great accom' in Essaouira. He and his wife took a very personal interest in my well being and comfort, even though very busy opening a new restaurant, the first and only Spanish one in Marrekesh (a welcome change from the delightful tagines everywhere else).
I can not commend the place, location or themselves enough. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Senor Alex kindly meet us on our arrival at the airport and transferred us to Riad Dar Maia which is just a few minutes walk from the Jamaa al Fna.

The Riad was clean and peaceful with a delcious breakfast each day! We were made to feel very welcome. Our room itself was lovely and bright (Yasmine) with beautiful bedding and even rose petals were laid out on our arrival. The only minor thing was that our room had a curtain instead of a door in the bathroom, but that was ok and the other rooms seemed to be the same in this regard.

A very enjoyable stay in a fantastic central location, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

A great find! Though just a few minutes walk from the Jamaa al Fna, Riad Dar Maia was peaceful and charming and provided a comfortable respite from the noise and bustle of the souks. This was our first trip to Morocco/Marrakech, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful in providing guidance for our explorations of the Medina and surrounding areas. We loved our romantic room, and having breakfast in the courtyard. Don't miss the rooftop terrace (open to all guests), which has a great view of the city. We spent 3 days/nights there, and are very much looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at this comfortable and peaceful Riad. Location is perfect as it is in the center of the Media. The value is good, the hosts and staff were attentive and provided great information. I only wish i could of stayed there longer.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Maia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Maia

Address: 31 Derb Zouina | riad zitoune Jdid- medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Dar Maia 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps from the spice's market, from Djemaa El Fna Square and nearby the El Bahia Royal Palace in the ancient Medina of Marrakech, Riad dar Maia offers a haven of peace and tranquillity from the bustling of the city centre of this Imperial town.This traditional Guest House in the centre of Marrakesh invites you in its cosy guest rooms equipped in local style and with different colours, in the wonderful inner courtyard with a mosaic fountain.Guest House Riad dar Maia is the ideal accommodation choice for your stay in Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Tingo and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Dar Maia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Maia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Maia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.