We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis in the middle of marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Maia

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Maia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Dar Maia
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   31 Derb Zouina | riad zitoune Jdid- medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #249 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“an oasis in the middle of marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

How to survive in the hectic and loud marrakech? find a place where you can escape whenever you seek respite. Dar Maia trully offers the opportunity to enjoy the madness of the medina while experiencing the quietness of a maroccan dar (home). the place is full of character and the service is excellent. my only advice for new visitors is: make sure you know where you are going. once you have the address, finding the place is very easy...otherwise it might take a while to get there as there are no visible signs! Have fun and pass my greetings to Maia (the turtle in the garden!!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    32
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
101
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I love Lolita. She is the Dar Maia Owner/manager, and is just charming, always smiling and at our service. She's also a great team manager. Her team, Yassine and Mohammed, speak Spanish, French and just enough English for us to communicate. Amina communicates with sign language and warm smiles. An intimate, 5-room Riad perfectly located at a 5 min walk from the main Plaza and the souks. Marrakech is just so great, we love it - staying at Rias Dar Maia makes it like a home away from home. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We arrived as a party of six to celebrate a landmark birthday of mine & were welcomed with charm & simple efficiency. A wonderful place to stay, quiet & peaceful but central to all the fantastic Marrakech bustling sights & sounds. Breakfasts & rests on the always sunny rooftop terrace were especially poignant.
Lolita & her staff are simply fantastic & deserve all the praise I can give - I would certainly go back to Marrakech & would certainly stay at Dar Maia again. Love to you all.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having spend time in Marrakesh before, I had certain expectations in mind.
We only had five days away from work and being the first time away from our babe, we were determined to have a great time, what ever happens.
Without a shadow of a doubt, arriving at this Riad was a beautiful surprise, and set standard for the rest of our time away.

Having being recommended by family, we chose to take the transfer from the airport, straight to the riad, expecting to rush straight out for dinner in the square.
Instead we found ourselves wandering around the riad, drinking tea, being shown the few empty rooms, all as beautifully decorated as ours all in vibrant colours, and chatting with the lovely staff and guests.

Madam Lolita runs a tight ship, with the most helpful and friendly staff, keeping fresh flowers, bread, fruit, yogurts and of course Moroccan tea at any hour, all immaculate rooms and roof terrace.
Lolita went above and beyond for us, resulting in the most perfect holiday.

Thanks to all at Riad Dar Maia

Room Tip: All beautiful and clean with lovely linen. We stayed in two different rooms the second room was on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our stay was only a short one, but the owner and staff, could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Very conveniently situated. Near to all the main sites and tourist attractions. But in a very quiet position. Breakfasts on the roof terrace were a great bonus.

Room Tip: Look at all the rooms on internet, our room was a bit dark and cold, the en suites are on the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a really great time in Marrakech, Riad Dar Maia made it even better. Situated in the centre of the city. It is very comfortable and is 5-10 mins from most of the main sights.Friendly staff, great breakfast and sunny rooftop terrace. Will go back to marrakech and would stay here again.

Thanks Lolita

Room Tip: There's a room on the roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riaddarmaia, Propietario at Riad Dar Maia, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
El placer ha sido nuestro. Siempre sereis bienvenidos. Sois una pareja encantadora. Un abrazo.
The pleasure was all ours. You will always be welcome. You are a lovely couple. Best Regards.
Loli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent 10 days in Morocco and used Marrakech as base, staying at Dar Maia on 3 separate nights.

Rooms are clean and so quiet - hard to believe its only 5 minutes to the main square. Beds were comfortable and offered a decent breakfast.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Would stay at Dar Maia if we were to return to Marrakech.

Room Tip: Imane offers a taxi to pick up from the airport - it's worth it to be shown into the riad as wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Maia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Maia

Also Known As:
Riad Dar Maia Hotel
Riad Dar Maia Hotel Marrakech
Address: 31 Derb Zouina | riad zitoune Jdid- medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Dar Maia 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps from the spice's market, from Djemaa El Fna Square and nearby the El Bahia Royal Palace in the ancient Medina of Marrakech, Riad dar Maia offers a haven of peace and tranquillity from the bustling of the city centre of this Imperial town.This traditional Guest House in the centre of Marrakesh invites you in its cosy guest rooms equipped in local style and with different colours, in the wonderful inner courtyard with a mosaic fountain.Guest House Riad dar Maia is the ideal accommodation choice for your stay in Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Budget Places so you can book your Riad Dar Maia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Maia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.