We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice simple Riad.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Maia

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Maia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Dar Maia
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   31 Derb Zouina | riad zitoune Jdid- medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #498 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really nice simple Riad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A lovely way to land in Morocco again after a few years absence. Booked one night on the web so I had somewhere to stay first night while I found my feet, and booked another night. Friendly, calm, pretty little place with nice simple rooms and functional plumbing! Good roof terrace. Tricky to find, you will need a cabbie or a guide!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    35
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
103
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed in the Riad dar Mar from 21-24 February 2012. The Riad dar Maia was everything the web-site had led us to expect - and more. From the initial welcome - complete with glasses of mint tea and the detailed information about what we were recommended to see in Marrakech - nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and we were made to feel as if we were in our own home. After the maelstrom that is Marrakech - the medina and the souk - the riad was an immaculate haven of peace and tranquility. The traditional Moroccan decoration and features were inspiring. We were lucky to be able to enjoy the roof-top terrace - both to sit and relax and watch the sun-set and for the more than generous breakfast that set us both up for the day.

We would have no hesitation in recommending the Riad dar Maia to any friend visiting Marrakech and - should we return - we would return here without a moment's hesitation. If it was possible to give 11 out of 10 we would.

If required to rate the Riad dar Maia it would be as follows:

Cleanliness of the rooms 10
Quietness of the rooms 10
Spaciousness of the rooms 10
Quality of service 10
Hotel surroundings 10

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We visited in May 2011 (so a bit of a delay in our review). The Riad was beautiful (I'll add a few pictures). We stayed in the white room on the terrace, it was clean and cosy and we really enjoyed waking up to breakfast on the terrace every morning. All of the staff were helpful and friendly, and made our stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible. On our arrival we were helped to our room, given mint tea and given a map and a general guide to the area - tips of where to go, prices to pay etc. perfect! During our stay the weather was very hot, but with air con in the room we could relax in the room to cool down after wandering the bustling souks. The price for the stay was fantastic, a real gem of a riad - comfortable, inexpensive, great staff. If we ever make it back to Marrakech we will definitely seek out Riad Dar Maia for our stay again. Thanks for the great visit Riad Dar Maia, don't think we would've enjoyed it as much if it wasn't for our lovely stay with you!

Just another note to readers...as much as the fresh orange juice in the square can be a refreshing treat be careful where you buy it - some of them put ice in or water them down, we were unlucky and had some watered down juice - we had food poisoning, it was awful, we were very poorly. The staff at the Riad looked after us very well though and we can't thank them enough for their kindness.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this riad in January 2012. Saeed (i think his name was) was so helpful and pleasant! And although he knew only a little bit of english I was glad i had some basic understandings of french to converse with him. Our room was comfortable if not slightly cold, but the space heater made up for it. In the alleyway we used the Earth cafe as a marker, expect to pay a kid around 10-20 dirhams to take you from the taxi park to the riad the first time you arrive. Marrakech was very relaxing, food was ok (take a bottle of hot sauce if you prefer food with slightly more bite - i wish we did), and the shopping was FANTASTIC!

Our faucet wasn't working (just had cold water, and stayed on the whole time), but we didnt care! (PS bring your own toiletries)

I will definitely stay here again if we come back to marrakech!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This was the first place we stayed in Morroco and we were welcomed into the riad, offered tea, and spent 30 minutes chatting with the staff who were eager to help us decide what to do and find where to go.

The central courtyard as well as the rooftop where breakfast is served are beautiful, clean, and well-maintained. The riad is centrally located and relatively easy to find once you have your bearings. It is definitely worthwhile to arrange a taxi to pick you up from the train or hotel to bring you there to start.

The rooms were clean, beautifully decorated, though the bathroom was a bit small-- a little sub-room within the bedroom with a shower and toilet practically on top of each other with not a door but a curtain. Not the Hyatt, but it was comfortable and pleasant. The bed was comfortable and we slept well.

Overall a lovely place with comfortable accommodations, great staff, and a good value.

Room Tip: The pink room was simple, but a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have just returned from a 5 day break at the Riad Dar Maia with my three daughters, i cannot recommend it highly enough. Excellent location, spotlessly clean, simple tasteful decoration, pretty and comfortable rooms. The staff are wonderful and the breakfast handsome. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I've stayed twice at the Dar Maia, both times for a week and have found the excellent staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. The Riad is simple and quite austere (no plunge-pools or restaurants), yet quiet, relaxed, nicely decorated and the rooms are comfortable and immaculately clean (review mentions of a whiff of damp or drain is nitpicking, you'll get that in the Medina and I noticed nothing last visit, don't be put off). There's a nice courtyard and multi-level roof terrace for book reading or lounging about between trips into the souks. Breakfast is generous and they arrange car collection to and from the airport. Staff are multi lingual (Arabic, French, English, Spanish, Italian heard). At this price and offering excellent quality, I really don't think you could do better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Maia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Maia

Address: 31 Derb Zouina | riad zitoune Jdid- medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #498 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Dar Maia 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps from the spice's market, from Djemaa El Fna Square and nearby the El Bahia Royal Palace in the ancient Medina of Marrakech, Riad dar Maia offers a haven of peace and tranquillity from the bustling of the city centre of this Imperial town.This traditional Guest House in the centre of Marrakesh invites you in its cosy guest rooms equipped in local style and with different colours, in the wonderful inner courtyard with a mosaic fountain.Guest House Riad dar Maia is the ideal accommodation choice for your stay in Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Tingo, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Budget Places so you can book your Riad Dar Maia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Maia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Maia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.