We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Maia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Maia to your Saves list
Riad Dar Maia
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   31 Derb Zouina | riad zitoune Jdid- medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #333 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have just returned from a 5 day break at the Riad Dar Maia with my three daughters, i cannot recommend it highly enough. Excellent location, spotlessly clean, simple tasteful decoration, pretty and comfortable rooms. The staff are wonderful and the breakfast handsome. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    35
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
106
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I've stayed twice at the Dar Maia, both times for a week and have found the excellent staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. The Riad is simple and quite austere (no plunge-pools or restaurants), yet quiet, relaxed, nicely decorated and the rooms are comfortable and immaculately clean (review mentions of a whiff of damp or drain is nitpicking, you'll get that in the Medina and I noticed nothing last visit, don't be put off). There's a nice courtyard and multi-level roof terrace for book reading or lounging about between trips into the souks. Breakfast is generous and they arrange car collection to and from the airport. Staff are multi lingual (Arabic, French, English, Spanish, Italian heard). At this price and offering excellent quality, I really don't think you could do better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 via mobile

Just got back from a week at the riad and had a great stay. The riad is centrally located~ 2 mins walk to left to badi/bahia palaces/2 mins walk to right and jemaa el fna and souks. Use cafe de france as your anchor to find your way back. The rooms are small and basic but do the job. The bathroom is a wet room so make sure your really now the person you are sharing with, as you well definately know them at the end of your stay! Breakfast was fresh and local and taken on terrace every morning (where there are plenty of palces to sit and relax plus and outside shower to cool down under). The staff are most friendly and can offer tips and advice.take the offer of a return taxi transfer as cheap and for excursions use the taxi driver as well. Great value for money and perfect location. Thankyou riad dar maia for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

My sister and I took my mother to Marrakech for her birthday and this riad was the perfect place to stay. It acted as a little oasis from the wonderful chaos of the souks. Breakfast on the top terrace with the whole city spread out around us was magical. Forget the Mamounia, Maia is the only place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Our visit was with our two grown-up daughters so we had the 3 rooms on the middle floor. There are 2 other rooms, one on the ground floor facing on to the court year and the other on the 2nd floor. We had the best room, the turquoise large room on the lst floor, quiet and comfortable. The rooms are brightly decorated, with elegant bed linen on a very comfortable bed and the shower room with loo, is small but adequate.
Maria gave us a wonderful welcome and was very helpful about what to see and do and her staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfasts were very spoiling and could be taken on one of the various terraces or in the courtyard. We loved our stay and would definitely stay at the Riad dar Maia again.

Room Tip: The turquoise room is quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

If you want to stay close to the Medina then this is the perfect location. A two minute walk into the ordered chaos of the market square and yet a perfect and peaceful escape. The rooftop makes for a wonderful setting for breakfast and an early evening chill out. The staff could not have been more helpful, guiding us through our many questions and helping arrange our onward travel.
If you happen to be a vegetarian then the riad is located close to the two Earth Cafes...providing the best and imaginative vegetarian food in the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at this Riad. The staff were amazingly genuine, friendly and helpful - particularly as this was our first time in Morocco. The riad is intimate, beautifully laid-out and surprisingly quiet, given its superb location close to the Square in the Medina.

We stayed in the White room, and agree with other reviewers that this room had (in our opinion) the best location and the most privacy, even though it may have been a bit smaller. Yes, the bathroom is petite and only shielded by a shower curtain - something to be aware of if your travel buddy and you aren't super close - but is otherwise fine.

The terrace is amazing! Views over the medina, mosques and out to the mountains. We spent a lot of time up there relaxing with a book or some mint tea. Breakfast was very filling and delicious - Aziz and the other staff pick up local items to include that morning, such as fresh yogurt, pancakes/crumpets, and freshly squeezed OJ. Yum yum!

Thanks to all staff for making our trip to Marrakech so special - we highly recommend a stay at Riad Dar Maia.

TIP = Take advantage of the 12 euro pick-up airport service if this is your first visit - once you are oriented, this place is easy to find but you will struggle if you haven't been before! The driver meets you at the arrivals gate and delivers you to the front door of the Riad. Well worth it in our opinion.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Maia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Maia

Address: 31 Derb Zouina | riad zitoune Jdid- medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Dar Maia 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps from the spice's market, from Djemaa El Fna Square and nearby the El Bahia Royal Palace in the ancient Medina of Marrakech, Riad dar Maia offers a haven of peace and tranquillity from the bustling of the city centre of this Imperial town.This traditional Guest House in the centre of Marrakesh invites you in its cosy guest rooms equipped in local style and with different colours, in the wonderful inner courtyard with a mosaic fountain.Guest House Riad dar Maia is the ideal accommodation choice for your stay in Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Maia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Maia Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Maia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.