We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Save Saved
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
early booker summer 2014
Ranked #99 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The definition of hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I just came back from an amazingly romantic valentines week with my partner at Riad Karmela. My first surprise was when I walked into my room and found rose petals everywhere and a bottle of champagne. Joel, Said, Carmel and Assis were the best host sI have ever had, with a genuine intention to be hospitable not to follow a protocol like in most luxury hotels. They put us in the smaller Riad which made us feel like we were staying at our own private palace. The food there is also amazing, and the hammam fabulous... I consider Riad Karmela my home in Marrakech, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Renato Zamagna & Nathan Thomas

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    627
    215
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
154
374
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oslo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We had an absolutely fantastic week at Riad Karmela - first time in Marrakech was a perfect combination of the buzzling Medina, Arab culture, friendly and inclusive Morrocans and the relaxing atmosphere at the riad. The riad was perfectly situated at the back of the souks and the restoration they have done seems impeccable. The room Kaiss was a little dream in itself (although it took a bit of getting used to the sounds echoing upstairs). The Atlas excursion was very good (although we would like to climb a bit higher next time). Dinners were very good - compliments to the cook for the Beuf Tangier, - which was superb (as was the Monkfish)! We have already decided to come back next year in March sometime.

Minor minuses would be a price and no eggs or ham/salami for breakfast. But all in all - full pot from us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I went with a group of girlfriends for a birthday celebration. We relaxed by the fountain under the orange trees while we were served complimentary mint tea and biscuits. Very friendly staff showed us the easiest way to get around on a map, pointing out highlights and tips for not getting lost! My room was beautiful with a little balcony overlooking one of the courtyards. I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

As we stepped over the threshold of The Riad Karmela after tramping through the alleyways following our luggage on a trek cart, any fears we may have had about the quality of our accommodation were completely allayed. The beautifully laid out building with with its internal courtyards, fountain & many discreet nooks & crannies conveyed an atmosphere of calm & restfulness. Bouchra & Joel are helpfulness personified, the rooms are charming - clean & idiosyncratic. The breakfast menu suited all palates and our one dinner experience was delicious. We would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful Riad. Such a quiet and relaxing place to get back to. We did find it a bit difficult to get to, through very dark streets but once you know the way it's worth while.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrR
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

My family (myself, husband & 22-year-old daughter) stayed at the Ria Karmela in December 2010 between Christmas and New Year's. We had the best time and look forward to returning in the near future. We booked our stay over the internet - which had us somewhat concerned. We should not have been! Everything was wonderful! The hotel arranged for trips to and from the airport and for a guide for the day. The taxi drivers were great. They were very friendly and relayed information about Marrakech. The guide was the best decision we made. He was EXCELLENT! He took us into the neighborhoods, behind the scenes of the market, and gave us an excellent look into the people of Marrakech. The Riad was beautiful! We had a suite that had a balcony overlooking the main sitting area. The entire Riad was decorated beautifully. The rooftop was one of the highlights of our stay. They have several different seating areas with marvelous views. They have a cook that comes in and prepares Morrocan fair for dinner. The meals were superb. Joel, one of the owners, was very helpful. I cannot say enough positive things about this Riad. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

I have recently returned from a fabulous few days in Marrakech with a group of friends. We chose to stay in a Riad as we wanted the experience of a more traditional stay. It did not disappoint. As we walked in from the busy street we were amazed at what we found inside - orange trees growing in the courtyard, lovely sitting areas and the bedrooms were all quite individual. The very friendly staff organised taxis for us and recommended places to visit. We ate in the Riad one night and had a lovely meal. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice. The Hammam was quite an experinece too.
I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.