We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, clean, tranquil accommodation with friendly staff that will help with anything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Save Saved
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
early booker summer 2014
Ranked #98 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, clean, tranquil accommodation with friendly staff that will help with anything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

This place is really great. I am 25 and stayed here with 3 friends aged between 30 and 36. It is very clean with bottled water in every room. Really relaxing roof terrace with plunge pool, perfect after a hot day in all the main town madness. Service is excellent and you are very well looked after. We arrived at about 7pm and we were sat striaght down and given green tea and Moroccon sweets and the manager talked to us about how to get about and places to see and marked them all on the map. The transer they organised for us was waiting at the airport when we arrived and was a quick 20mins to the accommodation. Its very safe here and only 10 mins walk from the main square with all the markets.

Breakfast was self service and consisted of coffee/tea, bread, cheers, yoghurt, dried fruits, carious jams and honeys so it's sets you up for the day. They also have a very nice spa where we all had amazing massages.

Top place with really lovely, smiley staff. 10/10 :-)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    632
    217
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
154
376
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

For those of you who have been to Marrakech, you know that it is a wonderful, chaotic, overwhelming adventure....The tone of our trip was set when we were greeted at the airport by Kamal, the very friendly driver of Riad Karmela. He took us on an eventful drive to the hotel which is in a prime location in the heart of Old Town/Souks. Upon arrival at the Riad, Joel sat down with us and a glass of wine and took great care to explain the do's and don't, and how to navigate from place to place. He also offered a full range of activities for us. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, coordinating dinner reservations, daytime activities, etc. The hotel itself is WONDERFUL...beautifully appointed, with traditional Moroccan architecture and elements, that have been updated and modernized. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apt which also had our own roof top lounge area, that directly connected to the hotel roof top which is where complimentary breakfast was served daily.... I could really go on forever, but I honestly can say our trip to Marrakech was magical and 90% of it was due to our awesome stay at Riad Karmela...Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

This was my first visit to Marrakech but I will definitely be back and will likely stay at the Riad Karmela again. Once we were able to get our bearing, the location proved to be ideal for seeing Marrakech. Joel and his staff were exremely helpful and made us feel welcome immediately. This place is truly a hidden gem. Make sure to buy the transportation package. I do not think there is any way you will be able to find this place on your own.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

So so glad we booked this riad for our stay in Marrakech - we thought it was exquisite. Once we had got our bearings - despite being located off a passageway off a tiny side road this didn't take long - we thought it just perfect: in the medina (not sure why you would want to stay elsewhere if you want the authentic heart of Marrakech) and thus so very close to the hustle and bustle of street life, but at the same time so calm, relaxing and peaceful once the front door had closed behind you.

Joel and his cheerful, unflappable staff couldn't have been more welcoming, none more so than when we found to our shock on leaving for our early morning flight back home that it had been cancelled (yes this was Day 1 of the infamous "Icelandic Ash Cloud"). They immediately gave us our old room back, a second breakfast at no cost and a free lift to the airport (twice) as we sought to try and get back home as best we could...but that's another story...

The room we had was both elegant and spacious, the hotel peaceful, light and airy, the roof terrace I could have spent many days relaxing on and...even given the fact we ate in a number of top quality restaurants during our 10 day stay in Morocco, we rated the welcoming meal we had on the night of our arrival the best we'd had in the country. How many hotels could you give that accolade too?

A final tip - do have the hammam and massage. It's not that cheap but I don't think I've ever felt so relaxed afterwards - probably just as well as it subsequenly took us a week to get home. But you don't want to hear about that!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Very clean, cozy and beautiful hotel. Joel was always helpful and making sure we didnt get lost in the Medina! :) The food is outstanding and the service is very personable. Great place to stay!!! I recommend it to anyone who wants an authentic experience

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We just got back from Marrakesh and I have to say that Riad Karmela was truly a great way to start our trip to Morocco. I would definately recommend this place to everyone. The owner, Joel and his team/staff offered the very best service. Everything is wonderful about this place, it does not get any better. We were well taken care off and nothing was too much for Joel and his team. We booked 1 suite and an apartment, the suite was very large and quite comfortable and the apartment was huge, more than enough space for 3 people. The service was 5 star for sure. Our only regret was not staying there longer, they trulywork at making you feel at home. We all five of us would definately stay at Riad Karmela on our next trip to Marrakesh.

Riad Karmela, is right in the Medina and is perfectly located. Joel took the time to meet with us to explain how to get around and the hotel even arranged for us to get a guide when we requested one. I honestly can't say enough about how wonderful a time we had and it is all because of the people we met at Riad Karmela.

Please dont hesitate to book your stay here, you will truly have a great time and enjoy this beautiful riad.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Stepping into the oasis of calm that is the Riad Karmela from the hustle and bustle of the souks of Marrakech is a bit like stepping into another world.

The staff are terrific, nothing is too much trouble and the Riad would take you a day to explore on it’s own with all it’s nooks and crannies.

Joel keeps you right on local customs, directions and bookings for taxis and restaurants.

Fantastic place to stay – we had a wonderful time there.

It was so good we stayed twice!!

Hope to go back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.