We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
One free airport transfer
Ranked #105 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tranquil oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

As a group of females who have just returned from a 3 night break, we cannot recommend this beautiful Riad enough. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we walked through the door, with mint tea offered alongside local tips and knowledge. We stayed in an apartment which was nicely decorated in the traditional style, inc a hair dryer and basic toiletries. We spent much time on the wonderful room terrace, and in the jacuzzi, which was a welcome relief to sit in the cooling bubbly water after a long day in the Souks. Dinner was also a treat, with a set menu which included a lovely tagine and both the local white and rose wine were enjoyable in the sunshine. As a group of young women, we were also offered a guide to walk us to local restaurants of an evening, which they had phoned ahead to book us a table at.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    222
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
158
384
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Riad Karmela is an oasis in the centre of Marrakech, a welcome retreat in a bustling city. They will arrange for you to be met at the airport and driven into Marrakech, be aware that as you get within the walled elements the roads are cobbled and narrow so you won’t get a door to door service and will need to walk a couple of hundred yards, accompanied by the driver/guide (a few minutes) through the alleys to reach the Riad, don’t be put off the approach its well worth it!

The staff at the Riad cannot do enough for you, from booking trips, talking you through options around the city, highlighting points on the map they provide, to booking restaurants, giving you a guide/escort to restaurants or booking taxis as and when required. Our experience was that on the day you exit provided you are departing by lunchtime/early afternoon they are happy to let you keep your room making packing, showering and changing before travelling home as pleasant as possible. That said you may experience delays accessing your room on arrival, but this shouldn’t be seen as a negative. Keep your swim gear or cooler cloths at the top of your case or your hand luggage and enjoy a walk around the city, or as we did, retire to the beautiful sun terrace and enjoy a snooze, read or dip in the plunge pool while you wait!

I’ve travelled in Africa before but never North Africa so wasn’t sure what to expect, this was clean, loved and welcoming.

Room Tip: Talk to the Riad when you're booking and be sepcific about what you want, no two rooms are the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A very beautiful riad in a great location in the medina. Interiors are sumptuous and very tasteful. Staff were excellent. Breakfast was very good, especially the coffee! Menu for snacks and evening meals was limited (most resturants here have a fairly limited menu) buhe labarint the food was very good.

If you haven't been to Marrakech before, listen to the advice from the owners. We found it to be a safe place, but took sometime to get used to the labarynthine alleyways, the "helpful" people giving directions and the hasslers in the souks.


My top tips:

Don't bother with the Tanneries!
Don't buy anything on your first day
Take a notepad and pen; get cab drivers to write down the price before you set off, note down prices of stuff and check them out on eBay when you get back to the riad before going back to buy
Smile and joke with the hasslers but don't stop and get involved in a conversation/ have tea with them etc.
Do check out the little shops and stalls outside the souks, they are less hassly and often better quality
Have a laugh with the guys in the Jemaa el Fna food stalls, their patter is amazing
Ask and agree a price before taking anyones photo

Room Tip: We had room Rachid on the ground floor on the second courtyard, very quiet but the doors aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Beautiful riad renovated to a great standard. Inside its huge with 3 big lovely courtyards. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Me and my mate got an upgrade to a better room as we'd booked to stay in the petit karmela which didn't look so good. Rooftop is a world away from the busy street just outside which can't be heard once inside. Definately stay here again. Bouchra the hostess with the mostess was very helpful. Don't be put off by its location as the streets are dark on a nighttime.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Decided on Riad Karmela mainly because of the reviews--also price was great,as was the location--after we booked we received a really informative e-mail from them and took them up on most of their suggestions such as airport transfer--as it turns out I would consider that essential unless you have been to Marrakech many times--well the ride was about an hour late--so we arrived at the Riad around 9:00am and had arranged to purchase breakfast because we were arriving that early and knew the room probably wouldn't be ready for us--well breakfast every morning on the roof top was a perfect way to start any day !! I loved the sfeng with my fresh fruit and my coffee--we received a quick orientation with a pretty good map and went to our room--It was a great room--Meriyum--large shower,good lighting,fantastic water pressure,good hair dryer and a great air conditioner !! We ordered dinner there our first night and it was really,really good--5 bowls of different cooked vegetables and tangine chicken--very nice--great service too !
Marrakech is really chaos but inside the walls of Karmela there is total peace and quiet all the courtyard areas are perfect just ask for tea and relax with a book anytime--they have 2 turtles in the main courtyard to watch and watch out for ! All the outside areas are perfectly decorated and so was our room ! Very nice!! We also had a hammam there and had them hire us a guide for one day which helped us get our bearings so we could then wonder on our own--the staff was very nice especially the ladies at breakfast-- and yes they don't always cover the food--I'm just not sure why ? We had an issue with our toilet which they tried to fix everyday but somehow couldn't quite do--we were there 4 days our last day we went to the Sofitel Hotel for a long lunch by the pool before our flight back to Spain--

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Just returned from three nights in the Riad Karmela. What a lovely place. We arrived round 8pm and sat in the courtyard this was a lovely area beautifully decorated and had dinner which was a very nice three course meal, very tasty and lots of it. We we're upgraded to a suite which was again a very beautifully decorated room and bathroom. Breakfast was buffet style, it was adequate but I would like to have seen the food covered up. The riad is very clean throughout. The staff are friendly and helpful. The Riad is in a busy area but once inside you just relax. We loved it!
It's a short walk from the main square and once you get your bearings it's quite easy to get back to.
It very easy to get lost in the Medina when the locals can see that your lost they offer help but it's always for a fee and usually bypass a relatives shop, just don't listen to people when they say that the road you want to go down is closed because it won't be!!!! They just try to send you back in the direction of their businesses.
We had a taxi organised by the Riad to and from the airport. The pick up from the airport went very smoothly but returning not quite so. I emailed Joel, the owner of the Riad and told him what happened which I won't go into but he has since spoken to the firm in question and reassured me that it won't happen again to future guests.
Overall the stay and experience of Marrakech is something everyone should try.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This was my surprise 40th birthday present and I couldn't be happier. First of all the riad was beautiful , considering the location it was very quiet and a lovely escape from the chaotic streets outside. The riad staff collected us from the airport they looked after us for our entire trip and the return to the airport.
We arrived late at night and had the traditional meal on the roof tops , it was a great way to start the holiday and we highly recommend Moroccan rose wine - very highly rated in the guidebooks and we have to agree.
The riad is wonderfully decorated and the doors to the rooms were ornate and wonderful to look at !
On the first night we were in a room on the ground floor which backed onto the alleyway, this was very noisy and at 1am we still couldn't get to sleep. We mentioned this to the staff and the following day we had been upgraded free of charge to a superior room, you cannot complain about service like that.
On the third day we did the Atlas Mountains trip with other guests and we both highly recommend it to anyone - it ticked all our boxes and was worth every penny.
As I didn't know where I was going I had into packed flip flops, these were no good for the trek so the staff went out and bought a pair of walking shoes and socks for me, again that quality of service stays with you.
The breakfast on the roof terrace was perfect.
Overall I cannot recommend this place enough and if you are thinking of going to Marrakech then book here you won't be disappointed. You do pay more for transfers, food etc then if you arranged it locally but considering the service you receive you can't fault it.
The staff are brilliant and attentive and the riad is clean and beautiful , the service all round was spot on, we will be returning.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.