We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Save Saved
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
One free airport transfer
Ranked #103 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
cheshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Just returned from three nights in the Riad Karmela. What a lovely place. We arrived round 8pm and sat in the courtyard this was a lovely area beautifully decorated and had dinner which was a very nice three course meal, very tasty and lots of it. We we're upgraded to a suite which was again a very beautifully decorated room and bathroom. Breakfast was buffet style, it was adequate but I would like to have seen the food covered up. The riad is very clean throughout. The staff are friendly and helpful. The Riad is in a busy area but once inside you just relax. We loved it!
It's a short walk from the main square and once you get your bearings it's quite easy to get back to.
It very easy to get lost in the Medina when the locals can see that your lost they offer help but it's always for a fee and usually bypass a relatives shop, just don't listen to people when they say that the road you want to go down is closed because it won't be!!!! They just try to send you back in the direction of their businesses.
We had a taxi organised by the Riad to and from the airport. The pick up from the airport went very smoothly but returning not quite so. I emailed Joel, the owner of the Riad and told him what happened which I won't go into but he has since spoken to the firm in question and reassured me that it won't happen again to future guests.
Overall the stay and experience of Marrakech is something everyone should try.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    219
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
157
380
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This was my surprise 40th birthday present and I couldn't be happier. First of all the riad was beautiful , considering the location it was very quiet and a lovely escape from the chaotic streets outside. The riad staff collected us from the airport they looked after us for our entire trip and the return to the airport.
We arrived late at night and had the traditional meal on the roof tops , it was a great way to start the holiday and we highly recommend Moroccan rose wine - very highly rated in the guidebooks and we have to agree.
The riad is wonderfully decorated and the doors to the rooms were ornate and wonderful to look at !
On the first night we were in a room on the ground floor which backed onto the alleyway, this was very noisy and at 1am we still couldn't get to sleep. We mentioned this to the staff and the following day we had been upgraded free of charge to a superior room, you cannot complain about service like that.
On the third day we did the Atlas Mountains trip with other guests and we both highly recommend it to anyone - it ticked all our boxes and was worth every penny.
As I didn't know where I was going I had into packed flip flops, these were no good for the trek so the staff went out and bought a pair of walking shoes and socks for me, again that quality of service stays with you.
The breakfast on the roof terrace was perfect.
Overall I cannot recommend this place enough and if you are thinking of going to Marrakech then book here you won't be disappointed. You do pay more for transfers, food etc then if you arranged it locally but considering the service you receive you can't fault it.
The staff are brilliant and attentive and the riad is clean and beautiful , the service all round was spot on, we will be returning.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Upon first arrival was a little skeptical about the area, but once you enter the Riad....wow! The decor is beautiful for starters. The rooms are so well decorated and the courtyards too. The breakfast is nice and simple with quite a bit of choice rather enjoyable. Dinner at the Riad is lovely! All the food is delicious best I had while in Marrakech. The staff are so friendly and make you feel very comfortable, you can ask them for anything (within reason) and they are happy to provide for you. They really did make my first stay in Marrakech so enjoyable, can't wait to go back! I would 100% recommend it to anyone I'm sure you'd love it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Thank you Riad Karmela for making our trip to Marrakech absolutely amazing! We were three girls from London visiting Marrakech for the 1st time and Riad Karmela made our visit one to remember.We organised a few trips with the riad including camel riding, quad biking and a breath-taking visit to the Atlas mountains. Everything organised by the riad went smoothly and we have amazing memories. The riad itself was gorgeous with beautiful morroccan interior which was colourful and clean- even though it is situiated right in the medina, the nights are so peaceful and quiet. Breakfast was yummy with a selection of bread, eggs, fruits, juices and many more delicious foods. Really cannot fault this beautiful riad, everything about it was perfect. Just want to say a massive thank you to the Riad for making our trip so memorable and thank you to Sayeed for helping us out with payment issues and organising such incredible trips for us, thank you Jamal for our late night chats about faith and all the shisha and finally thank you Mustafa for all the fun memories (pacha was the best! thank you for taking us there!!!). If you want your time in Marrakech to be one filled with lovely memories, I 100% recommend Riad Karmela.

Room Tip: We stayed in Al Manzoor which was perfect. Very quiet with a lovely view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Most wonderful hotel. Great service. Excellent staff. Clean hotel and rooms. Wonderful terrace. Great dinners. Nice lunches, Simple breakfast. Beautiful common areas. Friendly elder guests. Unusual lack of noise a big plus.
Entertaining tortoises.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

First thing I will say is...WOOW!!
This place is absolutely beautiful! From the moment we stepped in everything was perfect, from the decor to the food to the service. This is a perfect place to stay if you want to be local to the beauty of Marrakech but want somewhere peaceful too. Thank you to all the staff that greeted us and welcomed us like it was our own home, especially Bushra, said, Jamal, Mustafa and saad for providing a wonderful experience for me and my friends. I would definitely recommend this Riad to absolutely anyone and this will be my choice every time I go to Marrakech. Thank you all so much!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My first trip to Marrakesh. I was not prepared for the sights, sounds and smells but very quickly got used to it. The Riad was fantastically beautiful. All terraces were decorated with typical Moroccan furniture and fabrics. Rooftop terraces were planted with sweet smelling shrubs and everywhere was well maintained. You would never know the Riad was in the location it is as there are so many narrow alleyways. A real jewel but make sure you arrange a taxi with the Riad because you would never find the it without a guide. The alleyways to the Souks took some getting used to. There were crowded, smelly and very noisy. Every sense is awakened in Marrakesh but definitely a humbling experience, one which I plan to repeat with other members of my family as soon as I can. We went on a day trip to the Atlas Mountains and had a meal with a Berber family in their own home. A small tip, take sturdy walking boots or comfortable trainers because the climb up the mountain to see the waterfalls is quite hard but well worth the effort. The spice markets are worth going to behind the main souks. Always haggle, the Moroccans expect it. Fantastic 5 day holiday, quite different from your "usual" break in the sun.

Room Tip: Every single room is beautifully decorated, the communal courtyards and roof top terraces are clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;