We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE AIRPORT TRANSFERT
Ranked #108 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed there last summer for three nights, it is completely magical. After walking down side roads in the Medina and then arriving in the Riad it is wonderful. Joel helped us find our bearings so a big thank you to him! Can't wait to get back there one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    242
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
172
416
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. Beautiful, great location and excellent, friendly staff. Rooms were gorgeous and seating areas fantastic. It is down a side street so difficult to initially find but safe area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I travelled to Marrakech with my mum and 3 sisters. We all agreed that Riad Karmela is one of our favourite places in the World to stay and we are all reasonably well travelled! It really is an oasis and a real gem hidden within the madness of the Medina. Thank you Joel for your recommendations for lunch and dinner and your patience talking us through the winding roads of the Medina. Our room was a real treat too and breakfast, dinner and complimentary mint tea were faultless. I cannot wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We took advantage of the airport transfer, which is probably a must as the Riad would be hard to find first time. Our arrival had us a little daunted as we thought we would never be able to navigate the narrow alleys of the Medina as the driver walked us the final 250 metres or so from where the car is parked to the Riad itself. once inside we were greeted by Joel and a cup of mint tea with confections. He provided us with a map and tips on taxis, bartering in the souk, best routes through the Medina to the Jamma el Fna and info on excursions and guided tours through the Souks. The welcome could not have been more attentive or friendly. In truth we are the kind of folk who like to go out there and be explorers so we used the offline Trip Advisor app as our guide through the Souks and Medina on day one.

The rooms are all named rather than numbered and we were taken to 'Hasna' one of the smaller rooms [still very spacious with a good sized bathroom] in the Riad and without any direct access to the roof but that wasn't really of any issue to us. It sits in the courtyard adjacent to the dining courtyard so perhaps not as quiet as the rear courtyard in the late evening but we liked it.

Take the time to explore the Riad as I didn't until I had an hour or so kill before the taxi came to take us to the airport. I wasn't aware of the size of the Riad beyond the breakfast serving room and because people had checked out and the rooms were being cleaned I got the chance to look in some of the bigger suites. Every room is different and has it's individual advantages.

We had dinner on the first night which was excellent and highly recommended, while breakfast was standard fare, orange juice was so fresh, tea, cereal, fresh and dried fruit yoghurt etc.

Do take a Hammam and massage while you're there. My wife, who has MS has often had various physio and sports massages, which have all been rubbish. She has never has as good a massage as the one provided by Hannah. 90 minutes of total relaxation.

As a person who enjoys a beer or three when on holiday, it was nice to get a couple of cans of Flag and a glass of wine for the other half from reception on the tab whenever we returned from a day exploring. While the Souk and Medina are fantastic, it really is great to get into the calm and relaxation of the Riad.

All in all I can't fault it. Sitting in one of the courtyards in the late afternoon with a drink, under the orange trees and open sky is a really relaxing experience. [we didn't go to the roof terrace as Marrakech is at it's coldest in February, even though the weather when we were there was still great, sunny and high teens Celsius]

Just finally a special mention for two members of staff who probably go relatively unmentioned in reviews. We didn't know their names but my wife christened them George and Mildred...The Riad's two Tortoises who are a constant amusement to the guests as they meander around the front courtyard. Oh, and the chamber maid who happily sings away when she is servicing the rooms while the guests are out.

Room Tip: really depends what you want. My advice would be email and ask whether you want quiet, a balcony etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was my second visit to Marrakesh and would definitely choose the Raid Karmela over the previous hotel I stayed at which was the 5 star La Mamonia. The hotel staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them to organise from restaurant bookings, massages to tour guide. Both the breakfast and dinner were excellent and I would recommend the Hammam and massage treatment. The surrounding busy streets may be daunting to some and we would highly recommend the hotel guide who gave us an amazing tour of Marrakesh.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espelette, Propriétaire at Riad Karmela, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic comment. I was not aware that you stayed previoulsy at the Mamounia....It is true that a Riad has a more "convivial" atmosphere and I will be very pleased to see you again in the future . Thank you again. Bets regards Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I travelled to Marrakech with three friends last week (end of January 2014). Booked the Riad Karmela and flights through lastminute.com following research on TA and as always, TA reviews proved to be very accurate!

The Riad Karmela is situated in the middle of the old town - ten minutes walk from the souks and the main square; an oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Never would you think that such a big residence resides through a hole in the wall!

We were upgraded to the Oum Khaltoum suite which was more than sufficient for 4 of us; it boasts its own private terrace (which we didn't get to use due to weather issues!) but it really is beautiful.

Bouchra and Joel are excellent hosts, very polite, informative and helpful. Kamal is also a fantastic driver, always there when expected.

I gave this hotel 4 stars because I feel as though the breakfast could have been better (very basic - eggs take too long to come out, hard bread, not a fan of the pastries - but amazing fresh orange juice!) and despite having booked our transfer upon landing in Marrakech (20euros - but worth it as the riad is in such an obscure place on first sight) AND confirming twice with Riad staff from London, our driver was not there we had to phone Bouchra several times to locate him.

I would highly recommend the Riad Karmela for a peaceful break amongst everything - whether it be with family, friends, partner or as an independent traveller. It is excellent value for money and the tortoises, George and Carla, are ADORABLE!

Room Tip: If there is more than four of you or more, get the Oum Khaltoum suite, not 2 separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espelette, Propriétaire at Riad Karmela, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hello Thank you for taking time to give your feed back. Kaltoum is, as mentionned, very nice appartment for a family or closed friends specialy with the private terace when the weather is nice .... As one bathroom to share, you are correct to advise to take two seperate rooms when 5 people as cost is usualy the same with more confort. I have noticed your comment on our breakfast and I have talked to the team to be more efficient. I may remind that is a Continental Morrocan with more than 40 items even though I understand that British people expectation is rather high in terms of breakfast.... I will look at it at it and see what can do do to improve again
Best regards Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon, London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Unless you know the city, I would strongly recommend the riad's taxi service from the airport as a first time visitor is unlikely to find it easily.
We had one of the cheaper rooms overlooking the main courtyard. We were not troubled at all by late night noise by other guests but it could be something to be alert to when booking.
Dinner was very good, breakfast absolutely fine, the room clean and the manager very helpful ... what more could you want

Room Tip: See comment re overlooking the main courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espelette, Owner at Riad Karmela, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hello Thank's a lot for taking the time to write your review. The lady chef is very proud of your feed back on the food and breakfast . Thank's again Best regards Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.