We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful riad in the heart of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful riad in the heart of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Waiting to leave this great riad for flight home after 3 night stay and wishing we could stay longer. From the collection at the airport, arranged in advance by email which went so smoothly to the checkout, the whole stay has been excellent. All the staff are friendly, welcoming, professional and nothing is too much trouble.
We ate in the first night which was very pleasant with decent food and wine. The tranquility of the riad has been the perfect respite from the chaos of the medina.
Would not hesitate to stay again or recommend this wonderful spot.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    231
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
163
396
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our first visit to Morocco and we wanted to stay in a traditional road in the centre of the city. The riad arranged the pick up from the airport (necessary due to the otherwise very difficult task of locating the road when you first arrive). The drive itself was an experience of its own through alleys and streets barely wide enough for the car, let alone the people walking and trading in them. Our welcome was comprehensive and friendly and our room comfortable. If you choose to eat there then the meals are excellent. We also enjoyed a traditional Hammam, scrub and massage there, again with very friendly staff. Overall a very enjoyable stay and a place we would happily recommend to others. Great location for exploring the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Having read others' reviews, I emailed the hotel - just the day before travelling - to ask for their taxi to meet us at the airport. They replied instantly: good service, we thought. The pick-up did not work perfectly, as the taxi-driver was not there to meet us: fortunately I was able to email them from my phone. Again the hotel responded instantly and all was well. I very much doubt if we would ever have found the hotel without their driver's services, as it is very well concealed. But when he arrived, and for the rest of our stay, the driver was immensely helpful, as was everyone at the Riad. On entering it we were settled down, offered excellent mint tea and given a full and efficient briefing on Marrakech, what to see and where to find it by Joel, our host. We relied heavily on his advice during our stay and all his restaurant recommendations turned out well; though even with the benefit of his useful maps, in 3 days we never learnt to navigate infallibly through the souks.

Like the Tardis, the Riad Karmela is much bigger inside than looks possible from the outside. It is, as everyone says, really beautiful and peaceful, with 3 interior courtyards, a wonderful roof terrace with many, many places to sit and relax, and delightful decor. Our spacious room was charming and everything worked, once we realised that certain lights had to be turned on for power points to function. We loved the main courtyard with its central pool and tables for breakfast and dinner and tortoises roaming around (need to watch where you're putting your feet!) The breakfasts and the one dinner we ate in the hotel were nice without being exceptional. At breakfast there is always a very good egg dish, but you have to watch out for its appearance if you want to eat it while it's hot.

A delightful hotel that I would recommend and go back to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited Marrakech for the first time in October 2013 and absolutely loved it with all it's extremes. We stayed 4 nights in Riad Karmela and have been recommending this lovely riad to everyone since our return back home.

We found our room beautifully decorated, clean, safe (with lock on door and a safe) and more importantly it truly is a calm oasis from all the hustle and bustle from the city with beautiful courtyards with comfortable sofa, tortoises, fountains and trees. The roof terrace is also huge and peaceful place to relax with a glass of wine and due to its size you never feel you're on top of any of the other guests.

The staff we were wonderful; we felt very well taken care of and help was always available in matters big or small. Before arriving we had e-mailed to arrange airport transfer, meal at the riad due to our late arrival and twin beds. I got quick response and confirmation for all requests and all matters were taken care of on our arrival.

During our stay the staff also provided us with great induction to the city. We got great induction our first morning with instructions and a map how to find our way back to the riad, as well as great tips on how to manage the hassle on the streets of the Medina and how much to expect to pay for things like local taxis. All very useful things for two females travelling together.

When you stay make sure you arrange to eat at the riad in the evening as one of the best meals we had in Marrakech was actually made by the Riad Karmela chef. We can also highly recommend the trips they arrange. We went on the day trip to Imlil on the mountains and had an amazing time - this was a genuinely authentic experience with a local guide, enjoying the amazing scenery of the Atlas mountains and all this was crowned by lunch at the Berber village - it was incredible.

We can't wait to visit Marrakech again and will most certainly be staying at this Riad!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the 5 person apartment for 4 nights with my family and fiancé. We really enjoyed our time here. We arranged the airport transfer through the Riad after reading the reviews here which was a very good idea. The taxi cannot go straight to the entrance as the Riad is off a small alleyway so it drops you as close as possible and a man greets you with a cart for your bags and takes you to the front door. If you have not been to Marrakech before, it can be a bit daunting as there are lots of small shops and locals lining the streets, it's hot, dusty and noisy.

Once you step into the Riad it is like a whole different world! There is a beautiful central courtyard where you are invited to sit down, given mint tea and biscuits whilst you are checked in. Joel the owner was very nice and talked us through a map of the city. He was very helpful with recommending local restaurants and making reservations if we needed.

The room itself was lovely and clean. It had plenty of character with lots of Moroccan trinkets on the shelves, rugs on the floor and a pretty private terrace outside. You could also access the terrace where breakfast is served from here which is convenient.

Breakfast is continental - a variety of local pastries, jams, cheese, cereal, fresh orange juice, yoghurt and fruit. There is also an omelette that is flavoured differently each day e.g. Cheese, tomato, onion. I thought there was enough not to get bored for the few days we stayed although there have been varying opinions of this. Unfortunately the ladies serving the breakfast are not the most charismatic of people and sometimes I felt like I was bothering them if something had run out and I was asking if there was more. This is not how it should be.

The terrace upstairs is lovely - lots of hidden areas for you to relax and unwind. It is so quiet despite being in the middle of so many buildings. One evening we were too tired to go out so we sat on the sofas, shared a few cheese sandwiches from the bar menu (only other food choice is a tuna sandwich!), had some drinks and it was wonderful. The Riad also offers dinner (3 courses for 25 euros) but you have to tell them in advance. We did not eat there as we wanted to try other places.

Fantastic location - 10 minute walk to the main square Jemma El Fna. Took a day to get our bearings but then felt we knew where we were going!

Highly recommended to all travellers!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Riad Karmela for two nights at the end of September and i must say it beat our expectations in every way. The Riad itself is beautiful and the staff extremely helpful expecially Jamal. I would recommend this Riad to anybody and would most definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I can't exaggerate what an amazing little gem the Riad Karmela is. From the peaceful lobby where tortoises trot pass you paying you no attention at all to the rooftop top terrace where you can relax with a beer, this is the perfect remedy to a day in the Medina. The staff are attentive, the rooms stylishly decorated and beds extremely comfortable. However it's greatest quality? How quiet it is! It manages to make you feel that you could be anywhere and in Marrakech at the same time. This is a definite must for first-timers and regulars to Morocco. Finally, just to say- let the Riad organise your taxis- not only from the airport but also for trips to the Atlas mountains- the drivers are safe, friendly and good value. I can't rate this hotel enough!

Room Tip: Ask for "Layla"- the air conditioning was replaced on our final day- super powerful and mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.