We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully peaceful oasis amidst the chaos of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE AIRPORT TRANSFERT
Ranked #111 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully peaceful oasis amidst the chaos of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited Marrakech for the first time in October 2013 and absolutely loved it with all it's extremes. We stayed 4 nights in Riad Karmela and have been recommending this lovely riad to everyone since our return back home.

We found our room beautifully decorated, clean, safe (with lock on door and a safe) and more importantly it truly is a calm oasis from all the hustle and bustle from the city with beautiful courtyards with comfortable sofa, tortoises, fountains and trees. The roof terrace is also huge and peaceful place to relax with a glass of wine and due to its size you never feel you're on top of any of the other guests.

The staff we were wonderful; we felt very well taken care of and help was always available in matters big or small. Before arriving we had e-mailed to arrange airport transfer, meal at the riad due to our late arrival and twin beds. I got quick response and confirmation for all requests and all matters were taken care of on our arrival.

During our stay the staff also provided us with great induction to the city. We got great induction our first morning with instructions and a map how to find our way back to the riad, as well as great tips on how to manage the hassle on the streets of the Medina and how much to expect to pay for things like local taxis. All very useful things for two females travelling together.

When you stay make sure you arrange to eat at the riad in the evening as one of the best meals we had in Marrakech was actually made by the Riad Karmela chef. We can also highly recommend the trips they arrange. We went on the day trip to Imlil on the mountains and had an amazing time - this was a genuinely authentic experience with a local guide, enjoying the amazing scenery of the Atlas mountains and all this was crowned by lunch at the Berber village - it was incredible.

We can't wait to visit Marrakech again and will most certainly be staying at this Riad!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    247
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
177
426
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed in the 5 person apartment for 4 nights with my family and fiancé. We really enjoyed our time here. We arranged the airport transfer through the Riad after reading the reviews here which was a very good idea. The taxi cannot go straight to the entrance as the Riad is off a small alleyway so it drops you as close as possible and a man greets you with a cart for your bags and takes you to the front door. If you have not been to Marrakech before, it can be a bit daunting as there are lots of small shops and locals lining the streets, it's hot, dusty and noisy.

Once you step into the Riad it is like a whole different world! There is a beautiful central courtyard where you are invited to sit down, given mint tea and biscuits whilst you are checked in. Joel the owner was very nice and talked us through a map of the city. He was very helpful with recommending local restaurants and making reservations if we needed.

The room itself was lovely and clean. It had plenty of character with lots of Moroccan trinkets on the shelves, rugs on the floor and a pretty private terrace outside. You could also access the terrace where breakfast is served from here which is convenient.

Breakfast is continental - a variety of local pastries, jams, cheese, cereal, fresh orange juice, yoghurt and fruit. There is also an omelette that is flavoured differently each day e.g. Cheese, tomato, onion. I thought there was enough not to get bored for the few days we stayed although there have been varying opinions of this. Unfortunately the ladies serving the breakfast are not the most charismatic of people and sometimes I felt like I was bothering them if something had run out and I was asking if there was more. This is not how it should be.

The terrace upstairs is lovely - lots of hidden areas for you to relax and unwind. It is so quiet despite being in the middle of so many buildings. One evening we were too tired to go out so we sat on the sofas, shared a few cheese sandwiches from the bar menu (only other food choice is a tuna sandwich!), had some drinks and it was wonderful. The Riad also offers dinner (3 courses for 25 euros) but you have to tell them in advance. We did not eat there as we wanted to try other places.

Fantastic location - 10 minute walk to the main square Jemma El Fna. Took a day to get our bearings but then felt we knew where we were going!

Highly recommended to all travellers!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Riad Karmela for two nights at the end of September and i must say it beat our expectations in every way. The Riad itself is beautiful and the staff extremely helpful expecially Jamal. I would recommend this Riad to anybody and would most definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I can't exaggerate what an amazing little gem the Riad Karmela is. From the peaceful lobby where tortoises trot pass you paying you no attention at all to the rooftop top terrace where you can relax with a beer, this is the perfect remedy to a day in the Medina. The staff are attentive, the rooms stylishly decorated and beds extremely comfortable. However it's greatest quality? How quiet it is! It manages to make you feel that you could be anywhere and in Marrakech at the same time. This is a definite must for first-timers and regulars to Morocco. Finally, just to say- let the Riad organise your taxis- not only from the airport but also for trips to the Atlas mountains- the drivers are safe, friendly and good value. I can't rate this hotel enough!

Room Tip: Ask for "Layla"- the air conditioning was replaced on our final day- super powerful and mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A big thank you to Riad Karmela
Firstly tho, I WOULD SUGGEST GETTING THEM TO ORGANISE A PICK UP FROM THE AIRPORT as its really not that easy to find first off. Once you know where it is its fine tho. Positioned right at the top of the souks so great location to the attractions up there like maison photographic etc.
The Riad was beautiful and huge! it had a lovely roof terrace with lots of different areas to sit at so not always under peoples feet. There is even a hot tub hidden up there, see if you can find it as we took a while :)
we were upgraded to the lovely suite Al Monsour which was a very generous size and had a bathroom i would like to replicate back in the UK.
Breakfast was varied every day which was nice, didnt have dinner tho so cant let you know thoughts on that.
Would certainly recommend, its wonderfully peaceful yet still a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harelbeke
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Fantastic place, hidden in a narrow street just next to the souks, a real surprise and wow feeling when you arrive. Beautiful interior, we had a very quiet room and a delicious dinner on the rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It really is, as others have described, an oasis of calm. We loved it and will def stay again when we return. Lovely welcome. Beautifully decorated Riad, really stylish and simple. rooms are spacious. We kept discovering little courtyards and places to relax. Hats left for people to sit outside was thoughtful. The female staff were quite chilly to us during breakfast but everyone else was so helpful and friendly. We booked a good tour through the Riad. Great location too as its a short walk to the main square and the souks are on the doorstep along with the veg market, coops, hamman and a lovely little place to eat. Def recommend others to stay. brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid directly being over the courtyard if possible. The rooms are fine but it can get a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#114 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.