We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Save Saved
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
One free airport transfer
Ranked #102 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked here for 5 nights on our arrival in Morocco, we had an airport transfer (recommended as it would have been virtually impossible to find on our own) we were taken down lots of small streets that didnt look like anything special and then entered a tiny doorway into the riad - WOW! the whole place just looked incredible, running water, candles, trees was just beautful. Our room was great as well and the rood terrace - WOW again. beautiful place to sit and have a drink while listening to the call to prayer and watching the sunset :) It was a lovely peaceful sanctuary where we were able to get away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. We loved it so much we ended up booking in for another two times while on our 2 week trip. I would highly recommend. GREAT value for money, the staff are so accommodating and kind. Just a wonderful place :)

Room Tip: Miriam (or something along those lines) is wonderful, but all the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    218
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
156
379
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Let me start by saying I am not what you would call an experienced traveller, so maybe a Riad in the heart of Morocco old town was not a good start. What I can say is thank god that the reviews I had read did not lie.

Joel & Bouchra are brilliant hosts. Nothing is too much hassle. The food was fantastic, the rooms were lovely.

there are so many little nooks and crannies to this riad, I think half a day should be set aside jsut to explore this! The roof terrace is a beautiful place to while away the afternoons too.

If you are looking for the full Morocco experience then this Riad is perfect, right in the heart of the Medina. The medina itself is, as expected, mental! Very busy, a real travelers experience. You do need to keep you wits about you when out and about.

as you can probably guess I cannot recommend Riad Karmela enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here a few weeks ago and from start to finish had a wonderful experience. We were picked up from the airport as arranged, even though we were quite delayed and our arrival time had changed a number of times. We were very glad of the guide to take us to the Riad as we would never have found it ourselves!! Stepping into the Riad was almost surreal as it was so peaceful, beautiful and tranquil! We stayed in the Hassam room which was spacious, comfy and clean. Initial I was a bit unsure as it opened up onto one of the ground floor patios, but it was quiet and felt very private. The riad was beautiful and well maintained; the patios cool and relaxing, so lovely with trees, comfy seating and tortoises! The terraces split into different areas for relaxing, sunbathing and eating. The service was amazing and the staff were all very helpful, treating us wonderfully and ensuring we had a comfortable stay. I would certainly go back again and recommend Riad Karmela to anyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was returning to Morocco and what a return it was... Riad Karmela is not just a riad is my Moroccan home!
We had some delays at the airport and traffic so we were quite delayed, we booked a meal and at our arrival (10pm) the table was still waiting for us.
Anyway originally we booked the riad for one night, as wee were going to do a week of visiting friends and seeing Morocco, due to work commitments we had to change the booking to which it didn't seem a problem at all! nothing you will ever ask to any member of staff is ever too much trouble. On our return from the road trip we had our suitcases where we left them and they very kindly kept our laptop in reception.
We stayed 13nights here and met/revisited amazing friends Kamal, Mustafa, Said, Joel, the ladies everyone is kind and EXTREMELY helpful. If I go back to Marrakech I will not stay anywhere else! this place is paradise, a 10 min walk from the main square a 5 min walk from "la place des Epices" and you can almost touch the souques.
I feel privileged to have stayed here 2 years running.
Thank you ALL so much for making my time there unforgettable!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, however if you stay in the rooms by reception you may here the voices of peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go to morocco for something different. My wife and I are experienced travelers and have been all over. This Riad was an exciting treat. It was in very good condition, within walking distance to everything in he Medena, and the staff made it that much more amazing. We stayed on the El Nour side of the Riad. It felt like our own private Riad. There is only a few rooms in that Riad, keeping it quiet and seemingly to our selves. There is a pool on the terrace, with plenty of seating and sunning areas. There are many lounge areas in the center court yard, as well. They do serve alcohol at this Riad, including a must have, BEER. They also have wine, and other spirits. All these can be charged to your room and paid at time of checkout (credit card or dirhams). They do serve a full course supper at the Riad, but we took the quick want to the market every evening. There is only maid service on the El Nour side, so all the amenities of Riad Karmela are at your disposal and you must go across a narrow alley to access the reception and drinks/food. There is a continental breakfast served from 8-10 on the Karmela side. You are welcome to hang-out on the Karmela side if you want to interact with people, or just a change in scenery. We very much enjoyed having access to both a quiet more private side, and having a few beers in the evening on the Karmela side.
The staff at Riad El Nour/Karmela were second to none. Very friendly and helpful with info about the city. They give you an into to the city when you arrive, along with a map, directions to important landmarks, and mint tea. If you have been looking at staying at another location, reconsider, this is the place to stay in the Medena of Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago and I have nothing but praises for the riad but also the the staff working here. They were all lovely and helpful. The riad (and the room that we stayed in) was clean and pleasant to stay in. It is almost like entering a different world from the fast hustle of the medina. The rooftop terrace wasre nice to relax and have breakfast/dinner in.

I loved the two resident tortoises staying there too! I would highly recommend and would happily stay here again if I had the chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week and were looked after exceptionally well.

The food was excellent.
Rooms clean and spacious with much needed aircon.
Location was an education in life in the Medina and was close enough to the square.

A week is maybe too long for Marrakesh unless you book a number of trips out of the area, but enjoyed the trip and it was very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.