We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, location, beer. Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE AIRPORT TRANSFERT
Ranked #111 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Regina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great people, location, beer. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go to morocco for something different. My wife and I are experienced travelers and have been all over. This Riad was an exciting treat. It was in very good condition, within walking distance to everything in he Medena, and the staff made it that much more amazing. We stayed on the El Nour side of the Riad. It felt like our own private Riad. There is only a few rooms in that Riad, keeping it quiet and seemingly to our selves. There is a pool on the terrace, with plenty of seating and sunning areas. There are many lounge areas in the center court yard, as well. They do serve alcohol at this Riad, including a must have, BEER. They also have wine, and other spirits. All these can be charged to your room and paid at time of checkout (credit card or dirhams). They do serve a full course supper at the Riad, but we took the quick want to the market every evening. There is only maid service on the El Nour side, so all the amenities of Riad Karmela are at your disposal and you must go across a narrow alley to access the reception and drinks/food. There is a continental breakfast served from 8-10 on the Karmela side. You are welcome to hang-out on the Karmela side if you want to interact with people, or just a change in scenery. We very much enjoyed having access to both a quiet more private side, and having a few beers in the evening on the Karmela side.
The staff at Riad El Nour/Karmela were second to none. Very friendly and helpful with info about the city. They give you an into to the city when you arrive, along with a map, directions to important landmarks, and mint tea. If you have been looking at staying at another location, reconsider, this is the place to stay in the Medena of Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    247
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
177
426
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago and I have nothing but praises for the riad but also the the staff working here. They were all lovely and helpful. The riad (and the room that we stayed in) was clean and pleasant to stay in. It is almost like entering a different world from the fast hustle of the medina. The rooftop terrace wasre nice to relax and have breakfast/dinner in.

I loved the two resident tortoises staying there too! I would highly recommend and would happily stay here again if I had the chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week and were looked after exceptionally well.

The food was excellent.
Rooms clean and spacious with much needed aircon.
Location was an education in life in the Medina and was close enough to the square.

A week is maybe too long for Marrakesh unless you book a number of trips out of the area, but enjoyed the trip and it was very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The summer weather had abandoned England. Morocco revelled in dry sun. British Airways had a SALE. A few days later and we were on our way! A taxi organised by the riad met us. We were welcomed by refreshing mint tea and a choice of rooms. We choose to stay in Karmela, a room on the first floor, which had a 6' wide firm double bed. Breakfast and dinner were served on the roof surrounded by high walls draped with bougainville in different hues. Oleanders (or you may prefer to call these fragrant flowers Nerines) in their large pots were watered early every morning by the nice gardener. In the space we choose for sun worship and reading, there was a small pomegrant tree just by my head. We discovered that it was best to get to breakfast early; and that we could have boiled eggs to order instead of the omelette on offer. The fresh orange juice was outstanding. There were fresh fruits, yoghurts, lots of homemade jam (including fig) and honey, pastries and the interesting Moroccan bread. The tea was Twinings Breakfast. What more could you want? In the extensive brochure in each bedroom, there was mention of the Moroccan dinner served to order every evening, priced at €20. In my opinion, this is very undersold by the riad. At the suggestion of the owner whom I had contacted before arrival, we had booked dinner on the first night. Unfortunately, he forgot to tell the lady cook. It would not be unfair to say the first evening's dinner was not her best. The two that followed were outstanding. The cook remembers what you had the previous time and makes sure your next dinner is completely different. It is like having your own celebrity cook without the hassle! The Moroccan wines are reasonable priced at €12-14 a bottle. Bottled water is replenished in the room every day. Mint tea served with sweet (alas!) pastries is complimentary. The riad is spotlessly clean. The staff are outstanding in their willingness to help. We would stay again any time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is the best hotel in Marakesh. We arrived late at night and had no reservation. We tried to called many hotels, some were full or did not have AC. We talk to the concierge and he pick us up because we were kind of lost in the Medina. The room we had was Rachid and we really enjoyed our stay over there. It is super clean, well decorated and well managed. It is also a few minutes from jama el fna. Thank you riad karmela!

Room Tip: Chambre Rachid is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Riad Karmela for 3 nights in the Junior Suite Hassan. We had organised a transfer from the airport to the riad and th driver was friendly and helpful.

Driving the the streets of Marrakech and into the Medina was beautiful. As it was Ramadan, there were a lot of people out on the streets eating and spending time with family.

As this was our first time in Marrakech, arriving to the Medina was a little daunting as it was very busy. Stepping into the riad, you are instantly calm and relaxed. As it was quite late in the evening, we were offered a cold drink or mint tea and shown to our room.

Our room, the Junior Suite Hassan, was quite spacious and very cool (refreshing given it reached over 40 degrees Celsius during the day!). The decor was very traditional and beautiful. The bathroom was spacious and had a double sink. My only complaint would be is that there was no shower screen/curtain so water went everywhere when having a shower.

There was a fair selection of food for breakfast each morning with mainly Western food. We didn't have lunch there, although did have dinner on the roof top terrace which was beautiful - a traditional Moroccan feast!

The riad is very close to the main square of Marrakech but can be a little tricky to find, we did get lost a few times, mainly out of frustration from the heat! The riad provide you with a great map but can be difficult to follow when it's 42 degrees!

Overall, we had a great experience at the riad and all the staff were very polite and helpful and the service was always good.

Keep an eye out for the 2 pet tortoises in the central courtyard, they are a treat! The courtyard became a great place to chill out by the pond and escape the heat and craziness of Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjoerring, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a fantastic Riad placed in the middle of the Medina in Marrakesh, and its a short but exiting walk away from Djema (La Place ). The hotel will pick you up from the airport and guide you to the hotel. You will feel so welcomed in this beautiful calm place and they will help you with everything.
Our luggage didn't arrive and the help we got from said and Joel was exceptional. They took us to the souk and helped us buy som clothes etc. called the airport for two days and finally took us to pick it up when it arrived.
The settings of the Riad is fantastic, rooms and suites are beautifully decorated and there are so many cosy places to enjoy and relax in. On rooftop you can enjoy the sun, eat breakfast and there's a little jacuzzi. ( my kids enjoyed that!)
I can not recommend this place enough. You will absolutely love it!
If you go to Marrakesh then promise to stay in Riad Karmela.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#114 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.