We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAULTLESS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmela

Save Saved
You added Riad Karmela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Karmela
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
early booker summer 2014
Ranked #99 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Kent, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“FAULTLESS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The summer weather had abandoned England. Morocco revelled in dry sun. British Airways had a SALE. A few days later and we were on our way! A taxi organised by the riad met us. We were welcomed by refreshing mint tea and a choice of rooms. We choose to stay in Karmela, a room on the first floor, which had a 6' wide firm double bed. Breakfast and dinner were served on the roof surrounded by high walls draped with bougainville in different hues. Oleanders (or you may prefer to call these fragrant flowers Nerines) in their large pots were watered early every morning by the nice gardener. In the space we choose for sun worship and reading, there was a small pomegrant tree just by my head. We discovered that it was best to get to breakfast early; and that we could have boiled eggs to order instead of the omelette on offer. The fresh orange juice was outstanding. There were fresh fruits, yoghurts, lots of homemade jam (including fig) and honey, pastries and the interesting Moroccan bread. The tea was Twinings Breakfast. What more could you want? In the extensive brochure in each bedroom, there was mention of the Moroccan dinner served to order every evening, priced at €20. In my opinion, this is very undersold by the riad. At the suggestion of the owner whom I had contacted before arrival, we had booked dinner on the first night. Unfortunately, he forgot to tell the lady cook. It would not be unfair to say the first evening's dinner was not her best. The two that followed were outstanding. The cook remembers what you had the previous time and makes sure your next dinner is completely different. It is like having your own celebrity cook without the hassle! The Moroccan wines are reasonable priced at €12-14 a bottle. Bottled water is replenished in the room every day. Mint tea served with sweet (alas!) pastries is complimentary. The riad is spotlessly clean. The staff are outstanding in their willingness to help. We would stay again any time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    627
    215
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
154
374
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is the best hotel in Marakesh. We arrived late at night and had no reservation. We tried to called many hotels, some were full or did not have AC. We talk to the concierge and he pick us up because we were kind of lost in the Medina. The room we had was Rachid and we really enjoyed our stay over there. It is super clean, well decorated and well managed. It is also a few minutes from jama el fna. Thank you riad karmela!

Room Tip: Chambre Rachid is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Riad Karmela for 3 nights in the Junior Suite Hassan. We had organised a transfer from the airport to the riad and th driver was friendly and helpful.

Driving the the streets of Marrakech and into the Medina was beautiful. As it was Ramadan, there were a lot of people out on the streets eating and spending time with family.

As this was our first time in Marrakech, arriving to the Medina was a little daunting as it was very busy. Stepping into the riad, you are instantly calm and relaxed. As it was quite late in the evening, we were offered a cold drink or mint tea and shown to our room.

Our room, the Junior Suite Hassan, was quite spacious and very cool (refreshing given it reached over 40 degrees Celsius during the day!). The decor was very traditional and beautiful. The bathroom was spacious and had a double sink. My only complaint would be is that there was no shower screen/curtain so water went everywhere when having a shower.

There was a fair selection of food for breakfast each morning with mainly Western food. We didn't have lunch there, although did have dinner on the roof top terrace which was beautiful - a traditional Moroccan feast!

The riad is very close to the main square of Marrakech but can be a little tricky to find, we did get lost a few times, mainly out of frustration from the heat! The riad provide you with a great map but can be difficult to follow when it's 42 degrees!

Overall, we had a great experience at the riad and all the staff were very polite and helpful and the service was always good.

Keep an eye out for the 2 pet tortoises in the central courtyard, they are a treat! The courtyard became a great place to chill out by the pond and escape the heat and craziness of Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjoerring, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a fantastic Riad placed in the middle of the Medina in Marrakesh, and its a short but exiting walk away from Djema (La Place ). The hotel will pick you up from the airport and guide you to the hotel. You will feel so welcomed in this beautiful calm place and they will help you with everything.
Our luggage didn't arrive and the help we got from said and Joel was exceptional. They took us to the souk and helped us buy som clothes etc. called the airport for two days and finally took us to pick it up when it arrived.
The settings of the Riad is fantastic, rooms and suites are beautifully decorated and there are so many cosy places to enjoy and relax in. On rooftop you can enjoy the sun, eat breakfast and there's a little jacuzzi. ( my kids enjoyed that!)
I can not recommend this place enough. You will absolutely love it!
If you go to Marrakesh then promise to stay in Riad Karmela.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Marrakech. Used A2B for transfer to & from the air port . if i was going again would contact hotel direct & ask them to arrange a taxi, if there two of you travelling the cost is the same, it will save you time not having to do number of drop off on route.
The walk from the drop of point to the Raid was an amazing start to the trip ; you need to be guided to the hotel (they will also come get you for the return leg back to the airport).
The hotel was a quiet oasis in the middle of much madness. friendly staff room where clean & even had a complementary Hammam included in the price.
Had one evening meal, was OK, but expensive compared to the Moroccan cafes etc, plenty of choices within a 10 minute walk , go toward Place Jammaa EL Fna via the spice market .
they could try and fix the spa , but wasn't a major issue, far to much to do.
Went on one of the excursions to the Atals mountains , was good value & when it came to lunch we had the best Tajine on the entire holiday .. note this includes 2 hour + walking , starting at 1650 m , so air was getting a bit thin, we both in our 50's and did struggle on one or two of the more challenging selection , but was well worth the effort
Hotel was a great base for a short visit to Marrakech

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have been to Marrakech a couple of times before and stayed in riads that were considerably more expensive than Riad Karmela.
We were delighted with our experience at Riad Karmela.
It is right in the centre of all madness that makes Marrakech so unique. so really easy to get everywhere and yet It really is a calm oasis to retreat to when you need a break.
The rooms and courtyards are well decorated and there is a lovely roof terrace to soak up some sun.
Joel and his team are so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble, they even provided my niece with a pair of trainers when she discovered she had forgotten to pack hers!
We used the riad to organise day trips for us to Essouira and to the Atlas mountains. Both trips were fantastic and represented good value for money. Mohammed, our driver on both trips was charming and a really good safe pair of hands on the wheel which was most appreciated! Our trip to the Atlas mountains was particularly special as we had a guide to lead our hike which included lunch in his home, in a small berber village with delicious food and a view of the mountains to die for !
The dinners we had at the riad were also delicious and so relaxing sitting on the roof terrace away from all the frenetic activity outside!
All in all I would definately recommend Riad Karmela and would like to thank Joel and his team for helping to make our trip so memorable.

Room Tip: We were 3 girls so we took a suite to accomodate all of us which worked well and kept costs down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Marrakech. We were led by our taxi driver through the alley ways of the medina towards Riad Karmela which is tucked away behind a small ornate wooden door. It is worth mentioning at this point that I am not sure we would have found the Riad on our own - highly recommend getting a transfer from the airport! The first thing to strike us as we entered the Riad was the sense of calm and tranquilty, it really is a cool oasis set in the heart of the medina. We were welcomed by Bouchra who brought us mint tea and a plate of traditional Moroccon sweet treats before talking us through a map of the medina to help us to get our bearings. Riad Karmela is perfectly located, a short walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa (the main square) and the souks. Our room was cool, comfortable and nicely furnished. There are lots of places throughout the Riad to sit and chill out but if you want to lay out in the sunshine the best place to go is the roof terrace which has sun loungers and little areas tucked away to provide privacy. There is also a plunge pool up there which was needed after sitting in the 110 degree heat for an hour! We would highly recommend this lovely place and I am sure we will be back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Karmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmela

Address: 10 Derb El Feranne Azbetz | Place Ben Salah, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Karmela 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Karmela has 19 bedrooms and family appartments located within 3 houses and courtyards connecting together. You can also enjoy a hammam, massages, summer jacuzzi, large terasse. We are located 8 mn walk from the Pace Djemma El Fnaa and 1 mn from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Riad Karmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmela Marrakech
Riad Karmela Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.